Drag Race Central - NHRA
Sat, 06 Apr 2013, 14:44 PM

2013 K&N Horsepower Challenge Fast Facts
Courtesy of K&N Racing Communications


The NHRA Pro Stock specialty race, the K&N Horsepower Challenge, will be held this weekend as part of the Summit Racing.com Nationals in Las Vegas, Nevada. The following is a series of facts and figures concerning the event and the eight qualified drivers who will be participating in Saturday's competition at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway:

• This is the 29th edition of the K&N Horsepower Challenge, dating back to 1985, when Bruce Allen defeated Butch Leal in the final.

• The field was set based on the Pro Stock qualifying performances of the past year, encompassing 15 races, with the top seven competitors who accumulated the most points making the field, as well as an eighth driver who was the winner of a fan vote conducted on the NHRA web site.

• Allen Johnson is the No. 1 qualifier based on his No. 1 qualifying performances.

• Jeg Coughlin Jr. was the winner of the fan vote for the second year in a row.

• The winner of Saturday's three-round, single-elimination race will take home $50,000, with the runner-up earning $10,000. The semifinal and first round finishers will earn $3,000 and $2,500 respectively.

• Should the winner of the K&N Horsepower Challenge go on to win the Summit Racing.com Nationals on Sunday, he or she will earn a "Sweep Bonus" of $25,000, as Greg Anderson did in 2010 and Vincent Nobile did last year.

• There will be eight very interested spectators during this year's challenge, as eight lucky fans who were selected in an online drawing on the K&N web site and brought to the race will be paired with each of the drivers, with the fan teamed with this year's K&N Horsepower Challenge champion winning a 2013 Toyota Tacoma.

• The first-round pairings for the 2013 K&N Horsepower Challenge are:

1. Allen Johnson                -vs-      8. Jeg Coughlin
2. Jason Line                      -vs-      7. V. Gaines
3. Erica Enders-Stevens    -vs-      6. Vincent Nobile
4. Mike Edwards                 -vs-      5. Greg Anderson

• Coming into this weekend, 12 different drivers have won the K&N Horsepower Challenge.

• Only four drivers in this year's Challenge have won the event previously (Greg Anderson, Allen Johnson, Jeg Coughlin & Vincent Nobile), accounting for nine wins in the event's 28-year history.

• Vincent Nobile is the defending K&N Horsepower Challenge winner, having defeated Jason Line in the final last year, his first win in his first showing at the Pro Stock's all-star race.

• Allen Johnson, the 2008 K&N Horsepower Challenge champion, holds the distinction of being the only driver in the event's history to win the final on a hole shot, using a perfect .000 reaction time to hold off Greg Anderson.

• Greg Anderson and Kurt Johnson are tied for the most wins in K&N Horsepower Challenge history with four.

• Vincent Nobile became the fifth driver to win the challenge in their first appearance, joining Bruce Allen (1985), Larry Morgan (1989), Kurt Johnson (1994) and Jeg Coughlin (1999).

• Vincent Nobile is the most recent competitor to "sweep" the K&N Challenge weekend, winning both the specialty race and the national event in 2012.

• Greg Anderson has completed the sweep twice (2010 & in 2004), tying Bob Glidden for the most "double up" performances in the event's history.

• This year's field includes the past five NHRA Full Throttle Pro Stock Champions (Line, Anderson, Edwards, Coughlin, A. Johnson) covering every title won dating back to 2002.

• Warren Johnson qualified for 24 of the 28 Challenges, which is the most of any driver.

• Greg Anderson and Warren Johnson are tied for the most Challenge final round appearances with seven.

• Among the four drivers in this year's field (Jason Line, Mike Edwards, Erica Enders-Stevens & V. Gaines) looking for their first Challenge win, Edwards and Line have come closest with multiple runner-up finishes.

• 13 different automotive body styles have won the K&N Horsepower Challenge, representing Chevrolet, Dodge, Ford, Oldsmobile and Pontiac.

• Last year's field offered the 13th different car winner, as Vincent Nobile campaigned a Dodge Avenger (Johnson was driving a Stratus when he won in 2008, while Coughlin was behind the wheel of an Oldsmobile Cutlass and a Chevy Cobalt during his three wins).

• The venerable Olds Cutlass has the most Challenge wins at eight, most recently with Jeg Coughlin in 2000.

• Kurt Johnson drove a different body style in each of his four Challenge wins to date (Olds Cutlass, Chevrolet Camaro, Cavalier and Cobalt).

• In the 28 previous runnings of the Challenge, Chevrolet Camaros have won three times, most recently with Kurt Johnson in 1998.

• Vincent Nobile's win last year was only the third by a Dodge in the event's history (Allen Johnson's win in 2008 was in a Stratus, joining Darrell Alderman's 1991 victory in a Dodge Daytona).

• Over the years, the K&N Horsepower Challenge has been held at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis, IN, Old Bridge Township Raceway Park in Englishtown, NJ, Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, IL and Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio since 2008 before coming to The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035