Drag Race Central - NHRA
Sun, 17 Feb 2013, 15:56 PM

Pro Stock Round 1 Eliminations
By Rick Green

POMONA, Calif. - Results of round 1 eliminations in Pro Stock at the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, 53rd annual O'Reilly NHRA Winternationals presented by Super Start Batteries:

    5 Greg Anderson                         445 Greg Stanfield               
E1                   0.058  6.686 208.88     ****WINNER****  0.051  6.599 209.56
 Qualified:             #8  6.580 210.64                        #9  6.582 210.11
Weather conditions: air temperature 69 degrees, relative humidity 32 percent, barometer 28.83 inches, adjusted altitude 2,343 feet, track temperature 99 degrees.

Greg Anderson has won this race five times and that is second only to Bob Glidden (7) in Pro Stock. Anderson is 25 - 15 against Stanfield in prior events. Stanfield with a slight starting line advantage and never trailed for the win.

   41 Rodger Brogdon                          1 Allen Johnson                
E1                   0.043 13.918  62.30     ****WINNER****  0.007  6.602 211.10
 Qualified:             #7  6.577 210.31                       #10  6.594 210.93
All seven Dodge drives qualified for the field. This is Allen Johnson's lowest starting spot since Maple Grove in 2011, a span of twenty seven races. He did not start from the bottom half of the field in the entire 2012 season. Brogdon and Johnson have each won 2 times against the other in prior events. Johnson with a great light and never trailed as Brogdon shook right at the hit and clicked it off.

  452 Steve Kent                             25 Jeg Coughlin                 
E1                   0.085  6.600 209.33     ****WINNER****  0.010  6.572 211.10
 Qualified:            #11  6.594 208.97                        #6  6.572 210.97
Jeg Coughlin has won this race twice, in 1999 and 2000. Coughlin with a big starting line advantage and never trailed as he matched his qualifying time for the win. This was his fastest pass of the weekend.

    4 Erica Enders-Stevens                   21 Kurt Johnson                 
E1                   0.061  8.682  92.42     ****WINNER****  0.042  6.596 210.14
 Qualified:             #3  6.539 212.23                       #14  6.602 210.08
Kurt Johnson won here in 2001. Enders-Stevens is 9 - 7 against Johnson in prior events. Johnson with the starting line advantage and never trailed as it appeared Enders-Stevens used up an engine as there was a lot of engine smoke from just before half track. She clicked it off and pulled it out of the groove over by the wall. Johnson with his quickest and fastest pass of the weekend in the win, but will give up lane choice to Coughlin in the next round. Kurt Johnson's incremental times: 60ft-0.997 sec., 330ft-2.772, 660ft-4.251/166.68 mph, 1,000ft-5.524.

 4264 Chris McGaha                            6 Mike Edwards                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.055  6.599 210.31                     0.058 12.362  61.44
 Qualified:            #16  6.612 209.04                        #1  6.528 212.39
This Mike Edwards' 42nd #1 spot and that is the fourth most in Pro Stock. Mike's first Pro Stock race was here in 1982..The last time a Camaro qualified number one in Pro Stock at the Winternationals was when Joe Lepone did it in 1986. Edwards is 1 - 0 against McGaha in prior events. McGaha with a slight starting line advantage and never trailed as Edwards shook right at the hit and pushed in the clutch. McGaha with his first round win and he will have lane choice over Stanfield as he matched his E.T. and had the faster speed.

   52 Deric Kramer                            7 V. Gaines                    
E1                   0.027  6.614 209.04     ****WINNER****  0.040  6.557 211.93
 Qualified:            #15  6.611 209.01                        #2  6.538 211.49
V. Gaines equaled his best starting position with his #2 spot. This is the first time Kramer and Gaines have faced each other in eliminations. Kramer is out of the gate first, but Gaines has the difference made up before half track and runs the quickest pass of the round for the win. He will have lane choice over A. Johnson in the next round. V. Gaines' incremental times: 60ft-0.996 sec., 330ft-2.765, 660ft-4.231/168.37 mph, 1,000ft-5.494.

    2 Jason Line                             11 Shane Gray                   
E1                   0.053  6.570 212.19     ****WINNER****  0.016  6.604 209.88
 Qualified:             #4  6.541 212.43                       #13  6.600 209.95
Jason Line is a two time champ, winning here in 2009 and 2011. Line is 11 - 3 against Gray in prior events. Gray with a big starting line advantage and the power to hold on for the hole shot win by 0.0037 seconds (approximately 14 inches).

  666 Matt Hartford                           3 Vincent Nobile               
E1                   0.047 10.367  88.35     ****WINNER****  0.023  6.580 210.60
 Qualified:            #12  6.599 210.60                        #5  6.551 211.46
This is the first time Hartford and Nobile have faced each other in eliminations. Nobile is out of the gate first and never trailed as Hartford started to shake and pushed in the clutch early. Nobile will have lane choice over Gray in the next round.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035