Drag Race Central - ADRL
Sun, 5 Dec 2010, 10:04 AM

ADRL Announces New Date for 2010 Racer Appreciation and Awards Gala
Courtesy of ADRL Communications

O'FALLON, Mo. --

Allen, Morrell, Auxier, Taylor, Millen and Montecalvo
The American Drag Racing League (ADRL) is pleased to announce that the new date for its 2010 Racer Appreciation and Awards Gala is Thursday, March 24 at the spacious Tower Club at Royal Purple Raceway (formerly Houston Raceway Park).

The casual dress event will take place from 7-10 p.m. in the Tower Club the night before the ADRL kicks off its 2011 racing season with the Universal Technical Institute (UTI) Dragpalooza VIII presented by Safety-Kleen, which takes place March 25-26 in Baytown, Texas. The awards gala will serve as a fitting end to what was a memorable and record-breaking 2010 ADRL season just as the 2011 campaign prepares to begin.

The new location and date also allows for more cost-effective and convenient location for the ADRL's talented competitors, teams and sponsors. Tickets are $30 and everyone must purchase a ticket to attend. Tables of 10 are also available for those who are interested.

ADRL World Championship rings and belts will be presented to Frankie Taylor (Pro Extreme), Burton Auxier (Pro Nitrous), Dan Millen (Extreme 10.5), Kim Morrell (Pro Extreme Motorcycle), John Montecalvo (Extreme Pro Stock) and Tyler Allen (Pro Junior Dragster), and the world's top eighth-mile drag racing series will also announce a host of other awards, including its 2010 Competitor of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Employee of the Year and Track of the Year.

Additionally, the ADRL will present the Jim Oddy Award, which is given annually to the ADRL racer who best demonstrates sportsmanship in conjunction with competitive drive throughout the 2010 season.

Finally, the 9th annual Walter W. Henry Memorial Award, the most prestigious award in doorslammer drag racing, will be presented to a person or group of individuals who has made an important and significant impact on the sport over an extended period of time.

Last year's winner was ADRL co-founder Tommy Lipar. Noted drag racing historian and ADRL television reporter Bret Kepner will serve as Master of Ceremonies for this year's Gala.

Other 2009 winners were Brian Gahm (Competitor of the Year), Jason Hamstra (Rookie of the Year), Dave Koch and Dave Koch Jr. (co-Employees of the Year), Royal Purple Raceway, formerly Houston Raceway Park, (Track of the Year) and Kenny Doak (Jim Oddy Award).

The casual attire event begins at 7 p.m. with an upscale buffet dinner, and it will also feature drinks, door prizes and the awards ceremony. To purchase tickets, contact Connie Hull at the ADRL offices at (636) 255-4748. Tickets can be purchased by check, credit card or money order, but must be purchased in advance and no later than 5 p.m. CST on March 7. Tickets will not be available at the door. Seating is limited and each gala has welcomed nearly 400 attendees, so early ticket orders are encouraged.

ADRL Racer Appreciation and Awards Gala Fact Sheet
WHAT: The 2010 ADRL Racer Appreciation and Awards Gala
WHEN: Thursday, March 24, 2011, 7-10 P.M.
WHERE: The Tower Club at Royal Purple Raceway (formerly Houston Raceway Park), 2525 South FM 565, Baytown, TX 77523

SCHEDULE (Subject to change)
7:00 p.m.: Buffett Dinner
8:00 p.m.: Racer Appreciation and Awards Ceremony

ATTIRE: Casual dress

TICKETS: Cost is $30 for everyone interested. Tables of 10 can be purchased for $300. Tickets must be purchased in advance, payable by American Express, Discover, MasterCard or Visa by calling (636) 255-4748 or by mailing a money order to: ADRL, P.O. Box 430, O'Fallon, MO, 63366. Tickets must be purchased no later than 5 p.m. CST on March 7.

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035