Search for in
Tue, 17 Dec 2002, 05:33 AM

Division Six Honors 2002 Champions

SEATTLE -- Family was the name of the game at the 2002 Northwest Division Awards Banquet. Over 350 attendees helped close the season on a high note and celebrate the efforts of many. Many father and son teams were honored and emotional speeches made by Steve Federlin, Jim Van Cleve, Jr., and Elvon Kauffman. In addition to the event and series champions crowned, the evening also awards many with special recognition for the contributions to the 2002 season. The ceremonies were hosted by Johnny Moto and Mike Rice.

The evening also saw the induction of the three newest members to the Northwest Division Hall of Fame. Ron Farmer was inducted in a presentation by Wally Duperon and Rick Farmer. The late Jim Van Cleve, Sr. was inducted in an emotional presentation with the award being accepted by wife Joan and son Jim, Jr. In a surprise to everyone, Jim Jr. was then notified that he too was being inducted. A special video was provided by the Van Cleve family that brought back many memories.

Special thanks also go out to Larry Pfister for his great work on the videos that always draw rave reviews.

Special Award Recipients

Jr. Dragster Driver of the Year – Charlie Tiller Castrol JDRL Western Conference Champion (10-year old class) – Benjamin Hilton National Dragster Be A Winner, Be A Member Track – Woodburn Dragstrip National Dragster Contributor of the Year – Scott New (Firebird Raceway) National Dragster Team Spirit Award – Madras Dragway Most Improved Track – Pacific Raceways Team Finals Hard Luck Award – Lost Creek Raceway Summit Racing Series Track of the Year – Bremerton Raceway Mel Bresaw Memorial ET Racer of the Year – John Korfiatis Track Managers Challenge Cup – Mission Raceway Park Summit Team Championship – Woodburn Dragstrip Sponsor of the Year – Lucas Oil Products LODRS Track of the Year – Woodburn Dragstrip Ernie Hall Memorial Person of the Year – Don Rhyne Top Alcohol Driver of the Year – Steve Federlin Sportsman Driver of the Year – Mike Ferderer Gracious Lady Award – Barb Ferderer Sportsman Crew Chief of the Year – Alan Bowdish Rod Hoerner Memorial Rookie of the Year – Brandon Johnson Jerry Verheul Memorial Crew Chief Award – Mike Johnson

Division Six Champions Top Alcohol Dragster - Brandon Johnson Top Alcohol Funny Car - Bucky Austin Competition Eliminator - Adam Bowdish Super Stock - Terry Anderson Stock - Jody Lang Super Comp - Mike Ferderer Super Gas - George Scott III Super Street - Jason Heard

Drag News: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 24- NHRA Heritage Series Heads To Wild Horse Pass
Apr 22- K&N Spring Fling Million Final Day Results
Apr 21- K&N Spring Fling Million Friday Results
Apr 20- K&N Spring Fling Million– Thursday Results
Apr 19- K&N Spring Fling Million- Wednesday Results
Apr 18- Buckeye S/SS @ National Trail April 28th
Apr 18- Don "the Snake" Prudhomme Returns To Baja Competition After 50 Years
Apr 18- K&N Spring Fling Million Tuesday Results
Apr 17- K&N Spring Fling Million Pre-Race
Apr 12- Summit Racing Equipment is Newest Sponsor of Midwest Junior Super Series

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035