Search for in
Wed, 13 Dec 2000, 08:22 AM

Moser Engineering Reups with 2001 "Axle Mania" Shootout
Courtesy of IHRA Communications

NORWALK, Ohio -- Moser Engineering has announced the return of their popular "Axle Mania" Shootout to IHRA in 2001. All IHRA Sportsman racers meeting eligibility requirements will have the opportunity to qualify for the $46,000 purse, including a top prize of $20,000.

"Once again, Greg Moser has stepped up to provide IHRA racers with an opportunity to take his money," quipped IHRA Vice President Sales/Marketing Aaron Polburn. "Greg told me the program will go on forever, or until he tells us to stop.

"Seriously, sportsman racers grew Moser Engineering and Greg created this program to show his appreciation,” added Polburn.

"On behalf of Moser Engineering, I'm extremely pleased that our program has been so well received by IHRA racers,” said Moser. “We’re happy to continue this program indefinitely."

To be eligible, racers must run a set of Moser axles and the proper Moser Engineering decals. The Moser "Axle Mania" decals will be available in mid-February at all IHRA National and Holley Sportsman Championship races.

The top four eligible racers in each of IHRA’s eight sportsman classes will comprise the 32 car field and points will be accumulated throughout the 2001 season in the same manner as IHRA Summit Drag Racing Championship points.

The Moser "Axle Mania" will be run with a full tree on a 1/8 mile track. 1st round pairings will be drawn from within each individual category. The first two rounds will generate a winner in each of the eight sportsman classes. For the 3rd round, the final eight competitors will be placed on a sportsman ladder for the remainder of the competition. If a racer changes classes before the 2002 event, he or she may enter the new car in the Moser "Axle Mania" as long as it competes in an IHRA sportsman class.

The "Axle Mania" champ will receive $20,000, the runner-up $5,000. Racers getting to the semis receive $1500, quarters, $1000, eighths, $750 and sixteenths, $500.

The inaugural Moser "Axle Mania" for 2000 will be contested at the season-opening Holley Spring Nationals at Rockingham and feature the following drivers.

Top Sportsman Points
Marco Abruzzi           886
Bill Newell             867
Elijah Morton           759
Jeff Solyan             722

Top Dragster  Points
Slate Cummings          977
Scotty Batyik           954
Tom Callahan            798
Tim Butler              780

Michael Lyons           911
Tony Stephenson         822
Doc Bilbrey             809
Tony Ward               786

Quick Rod
Rusty Cook              854
David Hill              844
Bennie Ulmer Jr.        804
Chuck Harris            729

Super Rod
Rodney Benson           767
Mark Horton             692
Steve Furr              674
Todd Corner             662

Hot Rod
Billy Smith             797
Billy Italio            744
Danny Waters Jr.        717
John Furr               706

Super Stock
Bob Harris              786
Jeremy Mudd             737
TC Morris               601
Donna Morris            595

Myron Piatek            774
Paul Crowe              757
Paul Marcum             738
Mark Beaver             707

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

May 20- IHRA Member Track Update
Mar 16- IHRA Sportsman Spectacular Events at Farmington and Holly Springs Postponed
Dec 03- Historic Mo-Kan Dragway Reaches Multi-Year Agreement with IHRA
Oct 24- Summit SuperSeries Champions Crowned at IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals
Oct 24- Summit Racing Equipment Renews Commitment to IHRA Summit SuperSeries in 2020
Oct 08- Beacon Dragway Chosen as IHRA Division 2 Track of the Year
Oct 08- London Dragway Emerges With Win at IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals
Oct 08- Xtreme Raceway Park Named IHRA Division 4 Track of the Year
Oct 07- Pine Valley Raceway Captures IHRA Division 4 Summit Team Finals Win
Oct 03- Beaver Springs Dragway Named IHRA Division 3 (North Stars) Track of the Year

Copyright ©2020 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035