Search for in
Sun, 20 Oct 2019, 13:37 PM

Pro Stock Motorcycle Round 1 Eliminations
By Dave Rowe

ENNIS, Texas - Results of round 1 eliminations in Pro Stock Motorcycle at the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, 34th annual AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals:

    2 Eddie Krawiec                        3284 Ryan Oehler                  
E1   ****WINNER****  0.017  6.912 195.34                     0.039  6.901 196.33
 Qualified:             #8  6.857 194.44                        #9  6.866 195.34
12:18 p.m. Weather conditions: air temperature 82 degrees, relative humidity 52 percent, barometer 29.20 inches, adjusted altitude 3,065 feet, track temperature 110 degrees.

Krawiec is 1 - 0 against Oehler in prior events.

Krawiec gets the holeshot and extends his lead to the 33 foot mark. Oehler was drifting to the left early but was able to start making up ground at half track. he continued to gain ground but Krawiec held on for the win.

Eddie Krawiec's incremental margins: 60ft(0.025), 330 ft(0.029), 660ft(0.021), 1,000ft(0.017). MOV: 0.0117 seconds (approximately 3 feet).

    8 Angie Smith                           777 Karen Stoffer                
E1                   0.055  6.910 195.65     ****WINNER****  0.081  6.863 196.67
 Qualified:            #10  6.871 196.13                        #7  6.853 195.17
Karen Stoffer's 4 rounds in Charlotte gave her 402 for her career and she is only the 8th Pro Stock Motorcycle rider to compete in 400 or more rounds.

Stoffer is 9 - 2 against Smith in prior events.

Stoffer is second in points behind the leader Hines.

Smith gets out of the gate first but Stoffer reels her in at half track and pulls away for the win.

Karen Stoffer's incremental margins (negative if behind): 60ft(-0.013), 330 ft(-0.011), 660ft(0.004), 1,000ft(0.015). MOV: 0.0212 seconds (approximately 6 feet).

    6 Andrew Hines                            3 Hector Arana Jr              
E1   ****WINNER****  0.038  6.885 194.46                     0.043  6.933 193.52
 Qualified:             #6  6.851 196.96                       #11  6.875 195.56
Hines gets a small holeshot and extends his lead all the way through the run to take the win.

Andrew Hines' incremental margins: 60ft(0.014), 330 ft(0.040), 660ft(0.044), 1,000ft(0.048). MOV: 0.0538 seconds (approximately 15 feet).

    7 Angelle Sampey                        235 Hector Arana                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.037  6.903 190.89                    -0.011  6.899 195.14
 Qualified:             #5  6.847 194.74                       #12  6.884 195.34
Arana is a little too quick off the line and goes red giving the win to Sampey.

   10 Scotty Pollacheck                    1981 Kelly Clontz                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.099  6.898 194.21                     0.057  6.955 192.08
 Qualified:             #4  6.847 197.65                       #13  6.936 194.18
Clontz gets out of the gate first, holds the lead all the way to the 1000 foot mark, then Pollacheck is able to go around and take the stripe for the win.

Scotty Pollacheck's incremental margins (negative if behind): 60ft(-0.017), 330 ft(-0.027), 660ft(-0.013), 1,000ft(0.003). MOV: 0.0157 seconds (approximately 4 feet).

Pollacheck will have lane choice over Sampey in the next round.

  751 Steve Johnson                         413 Michael Ray                  
E1   ****WINNER****  0.032  6.849 194.21                     0.036  7.209 155.76
 Qualified:             #3  6.830 194.44                       #14  6.974 190.38
Johnson is 2 - 1 against Ray in prior events.

A coin flip off the line, Johnson gets out in front quickly. Ray gets about 1100 feet out and the engine goes silent, not sure why. Johnson goes on through with the quickest pass of the day so far to take the win.

Steve Johnson's incremental times: 60ft-1.059 sec., 330ft-2.849, 660ft-4.370/160.96 mph, 1,000ft-5.704.

Johnson will have lane choice over Hines in the next round.

 7253 Jianna Salinas                          5 Jerry Savoie                 
E1                   0.070  8.231 104.03     ****WINNER****  0.140  6.827 196.10
 Qualified:            #15  7.006 188.36                        #2  6.790 196.13
Salinas gets the holeshot and stays in front past the sixty foot mark. She starts drifting to the left, gets very close to the wall and has to back off the throttle. Savoie goes right down the groove with a clean pass, the quickest of the round, and he takes the win.

Savoie will have lane choice over Stoffer in the next round.

Jerry Savoie's incremental margins (negative if behind): 60ft(-0.027), 330 ft(0.028), 660ft(0.114), 1,000ft(0.516). MOV: 1.3340 seconds (more than 100 feet).

    1 Matt Smith                                 Bye
E1   ****WINNER****  0.061  6.837 197.33     
 Qualified:             #1  6.776 200.26                     Bye
In 257 races this is just the 2nd time that Matt Smith has had a bye run.

Smith gets the bye and will have lane choice over Krawiec in the next round.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Jun 03- NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Returns Beginning with Two Indianapolis Events in July
Jun 03- A Message From Summit Motorsports Park President Bill Bader Jr.
May 21- Second JEGS SPORTSnationals Added, to be held in mid-August in New England
May 20- DENSO Sponsors NHRA Champs' Shelter-in-Place Dachshund Race
May 14- To Our Racing Community-From Racers for Christ
May 13- The Name Game Part I
May 12- Morgan Lucas, Son of Forrest and Charlotte Lucas, Appointed President of Lucas Oil Products, Inc.
May 05- Cancellation of the 14th Annual Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals
May 04- NHRA Announces Revised Plan to Restart 2020 Mello Yello Drag Racing Series
Apr 29- DSR Drivers Join Global Superstars in Fight for COVID-19 Relief

Copyright ©2020 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035