Search for in
Tue, 08 Oct 2019, 11:43 AM

Beacon Dragway Chosen as IHRA Division 2 Track of the Year
Courtesy of IHRA Communications


Beacon Dragway has been selected as the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 2 (Heat Wave) Track of the Year.

The 1/8-mile track in Paduach, Kentucky provides some of the most competitive heads-up and bracket racing in Western Kentucky. It's also the host to autocross and rallycross events with a 2019 schedule that extends into December.

It first opened as a quarter-mile facility in 1968 before being shut down and converted to an airport nearly a decade later. In 2012, racer Keith Murt bought the property. He renovated the drag strip and reopened it the following year.

The former airplane hangers were used to house race cars, while other conveniences included parts sold on site.

Beacon Dragway took a narrow win over Memphis International Raceway in 2018 to win in their first year competing the IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals.

Now under the leadership of manager Kevin Wesmolan, the strong IHRA Summit SuperSeries program continues, going from 24 members the first year to 88 this year. Despite a flood at the race track and a late start to the season, Beacon still managed to bring almost two full teams to this year's Division 2 Team Finals.

The 2019 IHRA Summit SuperSeries track champions are: Jared Fulcher (Top), Charlie Lockhart (Mod), Adalynn Atkinson (Junior) and Chris Mohler (Sportsman).

Click here for more information about Beacon Dragway.

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

May 20- IHRA Member Track Update
Mar 16- IHRA Sportsman Spectacular Events at Farmington and Holly Springs Postponed
Dec 03- Historic Mo-Kan Dragway Reaches Multi-Year Agreement with IHRA
Oct 24- Summit SuperSeries Champions Crowned at IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals
Oct 24- Summit Racing Equipment Renews Commitment to IHRA Summit SuperSeries in 2020
Oct 08- Beacon Dragway Chosen as IHRA Division 2 Track of the Year
Oct 08- London Dragway Emerges With Win at IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals
Oct 08- Xtreme Raceway Park Named IHRA Division 4 Track of the Year
Oct 07- Pine Valley Raceway Captures IHRA Division 4 Summit Team Finals Win
Oct 03- Beaver Springs Dragway Named IHRA Division 3 (North Stars) Track of the Year

Copyright ©2020 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035