Search for in
Tue, 08 Oct 2019, 11:37 AM

London Dragway Emerges With Win at IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals
Courtesy of IHRA Communications

MILLINGTON, Tenn. - London Dragway emerged from the pack to take the win at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 2 (Heatwave) Summit Team Finals at Memphis International Raceway.

The Kentucky-based team finished with 44 points to edge Holly Springs Motorsports with 39 points and the home MIR team with 38 points.

Other tracks who participated were: Beacon Dragway, Brainerd Optimist, State Capitol Raceway, Prescott Raceway and Knoxville Dragway. Leading up to the main event, racers participated in Gambler's races and "best of" awards.

Main Event:
Top - Jeremy Bargo (London) combined a 6.523-second pass at 90.32 mph with a .045 reaction time to defeat Justin Bowers (Prescott) with a 10.667-second run at 41.60 mph and a .021 reaction time.

Mod - Lucas Walker (Beacon) won on a holeshot with a .008 reaction time along with a 6.028-second run at 110.51 to defeat Benny Combs (London) who finished in 6.113 seconds at 110.81 mph after a .048 reaction time.

Sportsman - Aquinas Grandberry (Memphis) also had a great start with a .008 reaction time and ran 7.724 seconds at 88.19 mph. Runner-up Marty Goldsmith (Brainerd 2) had a .027 reaction time and went 7.857 seconds at 83.89 mph.

Junior - Grace Varner (Brainerd 2) captured the win when Hunter Ray (Memphis) red-lighted. Varner had a package of 8.360 seconds and 76.19 mph along with a .028 reaction time. Ray went down the track in 8.007 seconds at 81.01 mph.

Other Results
Thursday's Gambler's Race
Top - Steven Farrow (Brainerd) 4.72 dial-in split with Ian Woods (London) 6.23 dial-in.

Mod - Charlie Lockhart (Beacon) 5.806 on a 5.80 dial-in, .012 reaction time defeated David Elam (Memphis) 5.988 on a 5.99 dial-in, .014 reaction time.

Sportsman - David Bigham (Brainerd) 7.753 on a 7.75 dial-in, .072 reaction time defeated Marty Goldsmith (Brainerd) 7.898 on a 7.90 dial-in, .066 reaction time.

Junior - Kaden Harrill (Knoxville) 8.191 on an 8.17 dial-in, .070 reaction time defeated Rylan Hamby (Brainerd 2) 7.925 on a 7.92 dial-in, .133 reaction time.

Friday's Gambler's Race
Top - Keith Thomas (Knoxville) 4.875 on a 4.85 dial-in, .009 reaction time defeated Allen Owens (London) 4.799 on a 4.80 dial-in, .017 reaction time.

Mod - Shane Kay (Brainerd) 6.040 on a 6.02 dial-in, .059 reaction time defeated Kyle Rumley (Memphis) 6.660 on a 6.67 dial-in, -.004 reaction time.

Sportsman - Tim Samuel (Beacon 2) 9.473 on a 9.44 dial-in, .011 reaction time defeated David Bigham (Brainerd) 7.724 on a 7.74 dial-in, .068 reaction time.

Junior - Rylan Hamby (Brainerd 2) 7.903 on a 7.90 dial-in, .082 reaction time defeated Maddie Calhoun (Brainerd) 7.985 on an 7.90 dial-in, .043 reaction time.

Friday's 700 Index Race - Jake Clayton 7.025 at 97.02 mph, .017 reaction time defeated Ray Zumstein 6.979 at 97.10 mph, .098 reaction time.

 Special Awards 
Best Appearing Open Bodied Car - Lee Mashburn, Brainerd Optimist
Best Engineered Open Bodied Car - Rusty Edwards, Beacon Dragway
Best Appearing Full Bodied Car - Michael Benton, Beacon Dragway
Best Engineered Full Bodied Car - McCoy Mashburn, Brainerd Optimist 
Best Appearing Junior Dragster - Paige Smith, London Dragway
Best Engineered Junior Dragster - Jodie Jent, London Dragway
Best Team Spirit - Knoxville Dragway
Best Appearing Team - Brainerd Optimist
Best Appearing Grandstands - Holly Springs Motorsports
Track Operators Race - Jackie Lewis, Prescott Raceway
Golf Cart Race - Jake Clayton (win), Nick Lucas (runner-up)
SSS Track of the Year - Beacon Dragway

 Team Standings 
1. London Dragway			44
2. Holly Springs Motorsports		39
3. Memphis International Raceway	38
4. Beacon Dragway			32
5. Brainerd Optimist			28
6. State Capitol Raceway		22
7. Brainerd Optimist Team 2		22
8. Prescott Raceway			19
9. London Dragway Team 2		17
10. Knoxville Dragway			15
11. Beacon Dragway Team 2		4

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

May 20- IHRA Member Track Update
Mar 16- IHRA Sportsman Spectacular Events at Farmington and Holly Springs Postponed
Dec 03- Historic Mo-Kan Dragway Reaches Multi-Year Agreement with IHRA
Oct 24- Summit SuperSeries Champions Crowned at IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals
Oct 24- Summit Racing Equipment Renews Commitment to IHRA Summit SuperSeries in 2020
Oct 08- Beacon Dragway Chosen as IHRA Division 2 Track of the Year
Oct 08- London Dragway Emerges With Win at IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals
Oct 08- Xtreme Raceway Park Named IHRA Division 4 Track of the Year
Oct 07- Pine Valley Raceway Captures IHRA Division 4 Summit Team Finals Win
Oct 03- Beaver Springs Dragway Named IHRA Division 3 (North Stars) Track of the Year

Copyright ©2020 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035