Search for in
Mon, 26 Aug 2019, 15:09 PM

Mid-Atlantic Racers Win Big at IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular Season Finale
Courtesy of IHRA Communications

MECHANICSVILLE, Md. - Drivers from the Mid-Atlantic region came away with big prizes in the season finale for the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman Spectacular at Maryland International Raceway.

The event presented by ATI Performance Products featured $5,000-to-win races each day for the Top division and $2,500-to-win races for the Mod division.

Willy Hess Sr. Saturday Top ET Champion
During Moser Engineering Saturday, Willie Hess Sr. from Hughesville, Md., captured the $5,000-to-win prize for the Top division when final-round opponent Jaycee Largent, a hometown driver from Mechanicsville, Md., red-lighted. Hess powered down the track in 4.635 seconds and 148.25 mph after a .031 reaction time. Largent was -.013 too quick at the start before a run of 5.041 seconds and 133.65 mph.

Seth Phillips Saturday Mod ET Champion
Seth Phillips from Montpelier, Va., took the Mod division race when Dicky Bodmer from Fredrick, Md., fouled at the start. Phillips used a .044 reaction time along with a 7.162 elapsed time at 76.38 mph. Bodmer went 7.506 seconds at 67.52 after leaving -.014 early.

Nyck Shirkey Saturday Junior Champion
The Junior Dragster race saw Nick Shirkey from Ridgely, Md., put forth a winning combination of 7.952 seconds and 77.92 mph with a .090 reaction time. Runner-up Ashley Pumphrey from Waldorf, Md., went 7.910 seconds at 81.67 mph after a .163 start.

Michael Shoop Sunday Top ET Champion
Michael Shoop from Hagerstown, Md., highlighted the Sunday winners with a winning pass of 4.659 seconds and 142.28 mph along with a .007 reaction time in the Top division. Besides the $5,000 prize, he also received a $500 Battle Born Battery certificate. Robbie Parlett from Prince George, Md., went 4.677 and 144.10 mph with a .020 start on his final-round run.

Johnny Mattera Sunday Mod ET Champion
John Mattera from Waldorf, Md., got a free pass in the Mod division when championship round opponent Keith Burch red-lighted by a miniscule -.002 second. Mattera was .028 at the line and made a 6.166 second run at 108.83 mph. Burch hurried down the track in 6.386 seconds at 105.08 mph.

Jordan Denny Sunday Junior Champion
Jordan Denny rounded out the Sunday winners. The Manassas, Va., driver took the Junior Dragster title with a 10.019 elapsed time at 49.02 mph and a .116 reaction time. Austin Keys from Nanjemoy, Md., was -.009 too quick at the start before a run of 8.346 seconds at 66.64 mph.

The weekend concluded a great season with the IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular with increased racer participation and great support from the IHRA's partners.

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

May 20- IHRA Member Track Update
Mar 16- IHRA Sportsman Spectacular Events at Farmington and Holly Springs Postponed
Dec 03- Historic Mo-Kan Dragway Reaches Multi-Year Agreement with IHRA
Oct 24- Summit SuperSeries Champions Crowned at IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals
Oct 24- Summit Racing Equipment Renews Commitment to IHRA Summit SuperSeries in 2020
Oct 08- Beacon Dragway Chosen as IHRA Division 2 Track of the Year
Oct 08- London Dragway Emerges With Win at IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals
Oct 08- Xtreme Raceway Park Named IHRA Division 4 Track of the Year
Oct 07- Pine Valley Raceway Captures IHRA Division 4 Summit Team Finals Win
Oct 03- Beaver Springs Dragway Named IHRA Division 3 (North Stars) Track of the Year

Copyright ©2020 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035