Search for in
Sun, 30 Jun 2019, 20:06 PM

Soucek's Big Day Highlights IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular at Dragway 42
Courtesy of IHRA Communications

WEST SALEM, Ohio - Joe Soucek Jr. doubled up on final-round appearances in the Top and Mod divisions at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman Spectacular at Dragway 42.

During Moser Engineering Saturday, Soucek captured the $5,000-to-win prize for winning the Mod division and finished runner-up to Bob Lykins in the $5,000-to-win Top division. Rain forced the stoppage of Battle Born Batteries Sunday with the prize money split in the Top and Mod divisions.

Joe Souck
Soucek, a Rittman, Ohio racer, had a winning package Saturday with a 6.609-second pass at 102.23 mph against a 6.60 dial-in and a .008 reaction time. Runner-up A.J. Buchanan from Vickery, Ohio finished with a 6.327 elapsed time at 107.99 against a 6.33 dial-in and a .0274 reaction time.

Lykins, from Fairborn, Ohio, scored the Top win when Soucek red-lighted by just -.003 of a second. Lykins' final run included a 6.482 elapsed time at 102.69 against a 6.49 dial-in. Soucek's foul cost him as he matched his 6.60 dial-in at 102.48 mph.

Derek Simon won Saturday's Street final on a holeshot. Simon, from Continental, Ohio, had a .012 reaction time to go with his 12.288-second run at 103.47 against a 12.24 dial-in. Donnie Hay from Navarre, Ohio went down the track in 12.186 seconds at 107.99 mph against a 12.16 dial-in after a ..042 start.

With the IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular catered to the individual tracks, Joey Brandgard from Northfield, Ohio was the winner in the Motorcycle division. He had a 9.086-second ride at 141.78 mph with a .055 reaction time. Runner-up Michael Maday from Cleveland posted a time of 9.486 seconds at 135.30 mph combined with a .058 reaction time.

There were three classes of Junior Dragsters.

Antonio Iocoangeli from Monroe, Mich., won Saturday's Masters race, going down the track in 7.926 seconds at 76.57 mph with a .037 reaction time. Callie Martel from Carleton, Mich., had a final-round run of 7.875 seconds at 84.10 mph and a .022 reaction time.

Antonio Iocoangeli Saturday Jr Master
Ohio racers Brandon Buchanan and Brianasia Pollard met in the Advanced final. Buchanan won with a ..022 reaction time and a 9.368-second run at 64.71 mph. Pollard left the line later at .091 and then finished with a 9.004-second pass at 71.51 mph.

Brandon Buchanan Jr Advanced
The Beginner class featured Tyler Norton of Kentland, Ind., taking the win at 12.469 seconds and 48.91 mph, along with his .234 reaction time. Runner-up Nicolas Abruzzi from Warren, Ohio had a ..317 reaction time and posted a time of 12.258 seconds at 44.75 mph.

Four classes finished before the wet weather set in Sunday.

Reza Ghouzadeh from Fairlawn, Ohio took first-place in Street. He went 12.267 seconds at 104.21 mph against a 12.17 dial-in with a .196 reaction time. Scott Haas from Clyde, Ohio finished in 12.508 seconds at 102.58 mph against a 12.51 dial-in. He had a .089 reaction time.

Reza Ghouzadeh
In the Bike class, Matt Short from Brunswick, Ohio and Maday made it to the final round before the race was completed.

Seth Jimenez from Waterford, Mich., was the winner in the Junior Masters on a holeshot. He had a ..049 reaction time to go along with a 7.963 elapsed time at 78.91 mph. Lyndsey Bordl from New Carlisle, Ohio was .105 at the start and then made an 8.074 run at 79.27 mph.

It was another win for the Iocoangeli family from Monroe, Mich., in Sunday's Junior Advanced race. Roman Iocoangeli had a winning effort of 9.000 seconds at 70.61 mph with a .339 reaction time. Sam Harvanek of Cheswick, Pa., add to his own family's drag racing tradition making to the final round and posting a 9.101-second run at 70.87 mph with a .210 reaction time.

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

May 20- IHRA Member Track Update
Mar 16- IHRA Sportsman Spectacular Events at Farmington and Holly Springs Postponed
Dec 03- Historic Mo-Kan Dragway Reaches Multi-Year Agreement with IHRA
Oct 24- Summit SuperSeries Champions Crowned at IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals
Oct 24- Summit Racing Equipment Renews Commitment to IHRA Summit SuperSeries in 2020
Oct 08- Beacon Dragway Chosen as IHRA Division 2 Track of the Year
Oct 08- London Dragway Emerges With Win at IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals
Oct 08- Xtreme Raceway Park Named IHRA Division 4 Track of the Year
Oct 07- Pine Valley Raceway Captures IHRA Division 4 Summit Team Finals Win
Oct 03- Beaver Springs Dragway Named IHRA Division 3 (North Stars) Track of the Year

Copyright ©2020 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035