Search for in
Fri, 21 Dec 2018, 09:13 AM

Byron Dragway to Celebrate 55th Anniversary Season in 2019
Courtesy of Byron Dragway

BYRON, Ill. - Byron Dragway will celebrate it's 55th Anniversary Season in 2019 with milestone special events, an inaugural hall of fame induction ceremony, and a season long throwback theme.

"We could not be more excited to celebrate fifty-five years of drag racing in 2019," said Byron Dragway general manager Randy Simpson. "We have exciting plans to celebrate the year ahead but we most look forward to sharing and creating more memories with our racers and race fans."

Byron Dragway solidified it's place in history over 40 years ago as the birthplace of big money bracket racing. The track's highest paying bracket race will celebrate a milestone of it's own as the 20th Annual Firecracker Bracket Nationals returns July 5-7, 2019. Registration opens at 12:01 AM on Tuesday, January 15, 2019. An official event flyer with detailed information is forthcoming.

Another milestone will be the 25th Anniversary of the World Power Wheel Standing Championships, October 5-6, 2019. The special event features a gravity defying wheel stand contest that has garnered worldwide acclaim. The overall event champion earns a $10,000 prize with additional awards including the longest, highest, and most photogenic wheel stand.

New to the schedule in 2019 is the previously announced Inaugural Glory Days vintage drag race, car show, and swap meet, July 19-21, 2019. Registration opens at 12:01 AM on Tuesday, January 2, 2019 with event information available at A new special feature during Glory Days will be the induction ceremony for the inaugural class into the Chicagoland Drag Racing Hall of Fame. Inductees will include individuals who have had a lasting impact on drag racing in the Chicagoland area and beyond. Details regarding the Chicagoland Drag Racing Hall of Fame and the inaugural class will be announced at a later date.

Lastly, to commemorate Byron Dragway's six-decades of drag racing, the track will unveil not just one 55th Anniversary logo but rather six variations that will be used chronologically throughout the season. The six logos will feature subtle cues to each decade from the 1960s through the 2010s.

The full 55th Anniversary schedule will be released in 2019. Stay tuned to for announcements, subscribe to our e-mail newsletter, and follow @ByronDragway on Facebook and Instagram.

LODRS: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Jan 02- Oakley Motorsports Extends Sponsorship of Division 3 Top Dragster and Top Sportsman
Dec 22- Jeff Teuton to be Inducted in South Central Division 4 Hall of Fame
Dec 21- Byron Dragway to Celebrate 55th Anniversary Season in 2019
Dec 17- Summit Motorsports Park Named NHRA North Central Division Track of the Year
Dec 17- Division Six Racer Nick Shepherd Reminded of Compassion in Fellow Racers
Dec 12- Three Inducted into NHRA North Central Division Hall of Fame
Nov 07- Aragona Clinches World Championship
Nov 07- NHRA Announces 2019 Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Schedule
Nov 05- LODRS 7-7 - Event Wrap Up
Nov 05- Five Clinch NHRA Lucas Oil World Championships

Copyright ©2019 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035