Search for in
Sun, 04 Nov 2018, 15:02 PM

Top Alcohol Funny Car Round 1 Eliminations
By Dave Rowe

LAS VEGAS - Results of round 1 eliminations in Top Alcohol Funny Car at the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, Pacific Division, event at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway:

   63 Chris Marshall                          1 Shane Westerfield            
E1   ****WINNER****  0.084  5.428 268.81                     0.039  5.482 268.87
 Qualified:             #4  5.485 267.27                        #5  5.512 267.48
11:44 a.m. Weather conditions: air temperature 75 degrees, relative humidity 20 percent, barometer 27.87 inches, adjusted altitude 3,735 feet, track temperature 94 degrees.

With Kaplan's 5.530 bump time this is the quickest TAFC field ever.

Westerfield gets out of the gate first, Marshall pulls even at the 330 foot mark, then pulls away for the win with the quickest pass of the weekend so far.

Chris Marshall's incremental margins (negative if behind): 60ft(-0.028), 330 ft(-0.001), 660ft(0.006), 1,000ft(0.008). MOV: 0.0093 seconds (approximately 4 feet).

    2 John Lombardo Jr.                       4 Annie Whiteley               
E1   ****WINNER****  0.075  5.734 202.97                     0.092 12.674  85.72
 Qualified:             #3  5.476 268.28                        #6  5.517 268.54
Whiteley hits the htrottle and goes up in smoke. Lombardo was on a decent pass, then bangs the blower about 1100 feet out but he still takes the win.

  800 Ulf Leanders                          440 Steve Burck                  
E1   ****WINNER****  0.101  5.449 268.33                     0.082 12.473  90.53
 Qualified:             #2  5.472 266.42                        #7  5.518 264.08
Burck hits the throttle and goes up in smoke. He pedals once or twice and gives up on the run. Leanders goes down the groove with a good pass to take the win.

Leanders will have lane choice over Lombardo in the next round.

    3 Doug Gordon                          6180 Jirka Kaplan                 
E1                   0.437 No Time           ****WINNER****  0.116  5.527 264.55
 Qualified:             #1  5.450 270.48                        #8  5.530 263.77
Gordon stages, starts to bring up the RPM's and the blower belt breaks. The tre comes down and the car moves about two feet. Kaplan makes a clean pass to take the win.

With Gordon's loss Chris Marshall is the West Region TAFC Champion.

Marshall will have lane choice over Kaplan in the next round.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

The Pacific Division Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway On-site Race Results sponsored by The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Click here for Schedule and Tickets

LODRS: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Jan 02- Oakley Motorsports Extends Sponsorship of Division 3 Top Dragster and Top Sportsman
Dec 22- Jeff Teuton to be Inducted in South Central Division 4 Hall of Fame
Dec 21- Byron Dragway to Celebrate 55th Anniversary Season in 2019
Dec 17- Summit Motorsports Park Named NHRA North Central Division Track of the Year
Dec 17- Division Six Racer Nick Shepherd Reminded of Compassion in Fellow Racers
Dec 12- Three Inducted into NHRA North Central Division Hall of Fame
Nov 07- Aragona Clinches World Championship
Nov 07- NHRA Announces 2019 Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Schedule
Nov 05- LODRS 7-7 - Event Wrap Up
Nov 05- Five Clinch NHRA Lucas Oil World Championships

Copyright ©2019 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035