Search for in
Fri, 28 Sep 2018, 10:29 AM

Dragway 42 Takes Home IHRA Division 3 (Northstars) Summit Team Finals Championship
Courtesy of IHRA Communications

NEW ALEXANDRIA, Pa. - Dragway 42 claimed the championship at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 3 (North Stars) Summit Team Finals held over the weekend at Keystone Raceway Park.

Dragway 42 captured the team title 78-52 over Lancaster National Speedway and Dragway which finished the weekend in the runner-up spot.

Other tracks who participated were: Quaker City Motorsports Park, Keystone Raceway Park, Empire Dragway, Thompson Raceway Park, Beaver Springs Dragway, I-64 Motorplex, and SkyView Drags.

Leading up to the main event, racers participated in a Gambler's race, Race of Champions race and "best of" awards.

Main Event:
Billy Leasure (Dragway 42) defeated Joe Soucek Jr., (Dragway42) .015 reaction time matching his 4.92 dial-in on a 135.71 mph run. Soucek Jr. had a .004 reaction time and went down the track with a 6.08 second pass at 113.90 mph.

Pete D'Agnolo (Empire Dragway) claimed the top prize with a .023 reaction time 5.99 second run at 110.84 mph. Runner-up Ryan Ricketson (Lancaster National Speedway and Dragway) went down the track with a .018 6.36 second pass at 108.02 mph.

Jeff Fryfogle (Quaker City Motorsports Park) defeated Steve Klacik (Quaker City Motorsports Park) on a hole shot with a .045 reaction time 8.72 second pass at 68.22 mph. Runner-up Klacik went down the track with a .054 reaction time 10.26 reaction time at 67.56 mph.

Junior Dragster
John Vergotz Jr., (Thompson Raceway Park) took home the victory in Junior Dragsters over runner-up Landyn Seal (Dragway 42). Vergotz went down the track with a .044 reaction time 8.30 second pass at 75.94 mph. Seal had a .093 reaction time with a quicker but losing 7.92 second pass at 82.22 mph.

Matt Powell (Keystone Raceway Park) matched his dial-in of 8.27 and defeated runner-up Rick Poole (Quaker City Motorsports Park) with a .092 reaction time 8.27 second pass at 84.78 mph. Poole had a ..066 reaction time with a 5.73 second pass at 117.46 mph.

Billy Leasure (Main Event Top Winner)

Pete D'Agnolo (Main Event Modified Winner)

Jeff Fryfogle (Main Event Street Winner)

John Vergotz Jr. (Main Event Junior Winner)

Matt Powell (Main Event Bike Winner)

Other Results
Team Captains Race
Gary Harper (Dragway 42) defeated Tim Goodman (Thompson) with a .049 reaction time 10.34 second pass at 64.31 mph. Goodman went down the track with a .080 reaction time at 11.97 seconds 55.85 mph.

Thursday's Gambler's Race
Top - A.J. Casper from Jeanette, Pa., 7.38 on a 6.93 dial-in, .006 reaction time defeated Schulyer Turner from Fostoria, Ohio, 7.14 on a 4.78 dial-in, -.003 reaction time.

Mod - Russell Terrill of North Benton, Ohio, 6.44 on a 6.44 dial-in, .031 reaction time defeated Jeff Jacko of LaGrange, Ohio, 6.96 on a 6.95 dial-in, .045 reaction time.

Junior - Cadance Soucek of Rittman, Ohio, 9.02 on an 8.95 dial-in, .044 reaction time defeated Blake Molnar Hinckley, Ohio 7.98 on a 7.95 dial-in, .106 reaction time.

Bike - Matt Powell from New Alexandria, Pa., 8.27 on an 8.26 dial-in, .077 reaction time defeated Dave Carpenter from Duncannon, Pa., 6.00 on a 6.00 dial-in, .110 reaction time.

Race of Champions
Top - Steve Lenig (Beaver Springs) 4.91 on a 4.91 dial-in, .049 reaction time defeated Mike Lynd (I-64 Motorplex) 5.82 on a 5.83 dial-in, .023 reaction time.

Mod - Niki Thomas (Keystone Raceway Park) 6.41 on a 6.40 dial-in, .018 reaction time defeated Rob Baab (Thompson) 6.77 on a 6.77 dial-in, .027 reaction time.

Junior - Kyle Hughes (Quaker City) 8.14 on an 8.09 dial-in, .033 reaction time defeated Aiden Mackert (Beaver Springs) 12.17 on a 12.18 dial-in, .035 reaction time.

Bike - Dave Carpenter (Beaver Springs) 5.95 on a 5.93 dial-in, .071 reaction time defeated Paugh Perry (Dragway 42) 5.12 on a 5.14 dial-in, .112 reaction time.

 Special Awards 
Best Appearing Open Bodied Car - Mickey Vance, I-64 Motorplex
Best Engineered Open Bodied Car - Rick Clay, Keystone Raceway Park
Best Appearing Full Bodied Car - Phil Scarlata, Empire Dragway
Best Engineered Full Bodied Car - Tim Miller, Quaker City Motorsports Park 
Best Appearing Junior Dragster - Aiden Mackert, Beaver Springs Dragway
Best Engineered Junior Dragster - Landyn Seal, Dragway 42
Best Appearing Motorcycle - Ken Koby, Quaker City Motorsports Park
Best Engineered Motorcycle - Perry Paugh, Dragway 42
Best Team Spirit - Beaver Springs Dragway
Best Appearing Sponsor Banner - Quaker City Motorsports Park
Best Appearing Grandstands - Dragway 42
Best Appearing Team - Dragway 42

 Team Standings 
1. Dragway 42                     78
2. Lancaster Dragway              52
3. Quaker City Motorsports Park   47
4. Keystone Raceway Park          47
5. Empire Dragway                 45
6. Thompson Raceway Park          41
7. Beaver Springs Dragway         32
8. I-64 Motorplex                 26
9. SkyView Drags                   3

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

May 20- IHRA Member Track Update
Mar 16- IHRA Sportsman Spectacular Events at Farmington and Holly Springs Postponed
Dec 03- Historic Mo-Kan Dragway Reaches Multi-Year Agreement with IHRA
Oct 24- Summit SuperSeries Champions Crowned at IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals
Oct 24- Summit Racing Equipment Renews Commitment to IHRA Summit SuperSeries in 2020
Oct 08- Beacon Dragway Chosen as IHRA Division 2 Track of the Year
Oct 08- London Dragway Emerges With Win at IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals
Oct 08- Xtreme Raceway Park Named IHRA Division 4 Track of the Year
Oct 07- Pine Valley Raceway Captures IHRA Division 4 Summit Team Finals Win
Oct 03- Beaver Springs Dragway Named IHRA Division 3 (North Stars) Track of the Year

Copyright ©2020 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035