Search for in
Sun, 22 Apr 2018, 13:31 PM

Pro Stock Round 1 Eliminations
By Rick Green

BAYTOWN, Texas - Results of round 1 eliminations in Pro Stock at the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, 31st annual NHRA SpringNationals:

   52 Deric Kramer                           40 Alex Laughlin                
E1                   0.005 13.143  64.83     ****WINNER****  0.036  7.496 118.16
 Qualified:             #8  6.528 211.93                        #9  6.530 211.33
Weather conditions: air temperature 66 degrees, relative humidity 72 percent, barometer 29.98 inches, adjusted altitude 1,065 feet, track temperature 78 degrees.

Laughlin is 1 - 0 against Kramer in prior events.

They both take their time staging and then Kramer goes in first. Kramer with a great light, but then has severe tire shake and pushes in the clutch.

Laughlin gets real loose just past half track and the car gets sideways and he has the chutes out early. He gets the win light.

    1 Bo Butner                               5 Drew Skillman                
E1   ****WINNER****  0.013  6.569 210.77                     0.044  6.543 210.60
 Qualified:            #10  6.532 211.79                        #7  6.527 212.29
Bo Butner is the defending event champion. In 30 years only Bob Glidden and Erica Enders have won this race in consecutive years in Pro Stock. This is the 75th Pro Stock start for Drew Skillman and the 58th time he has started from the top half of the field.

Butner and Skillman have each won 6 times against the other in prior events.

Butner with the starting line advantage and the power to hold on for the hole shot win in a close one.

Skillman grabbed the lead before they went by the Christmas tree and had the lead until just past half track when Butner drove back around to hold on for the win.

Bo Butner's incremental margins (negative if behind): 60ft(-0.003), 330 ft(-0.005), 660ft(-0.010), 1,000ft(0.006). MOV: 0.0052 seconds (approximately 19 inches).

    9 Chris McGaha                          666 Matt Hartford                
E1                   0.052  6.545 211.39     ****WINNER****  0.038  6.537 211.13
 Qualified:             #6  6.525 212.79                       #11  6.532 211.46
Chris McGaha was runner-up here in 2015.

McGaha is 4 - 1 against Hartford in prior events.

Hartford with the starting line advantage and never trailed for the win. Matt Hartford's MOV: 0.0223 seconds (approximately 7 feet).

Hartford was loose, but stayed with it for the win.

   41 Rodger Brogdon                          3 Jason Line                   
E1   ****WINNER****  0.036  6.560 209.46                     0.021 40.752  26.02
 Qualified:            #12  6.545 206.29                        #5  6.518 211.16
Jason Line has won this race twice and was runner-up there other times. Rodger Brogdon is making his 135th start. He was runner-up here in 2011.

Line is 14 - 5 against Brogdon in prior events.

Line with the starting line advantage, but then had severe tire shake right at the hit and pushed in the clutch and coasted to a stop on the track.

Brogdon was straight down the groove for the win.

    6 Erica Enders                           10 Vincent Nobile               
E1   ****WINNER****  0.017  6.537 211.13                     0.021  6.534 210.93
 Qualified:            #13  6.548 210.67                        #4  6.513 210.67
Vincent Nobile was the winner here in 2011 and 2012. Erica Enders won here in back-to-back years of 2014 and 2015.

Enders is 13 - 9 against Nobile in prior events.

Enders with the starting line advantage and the power to hold on for the hole shot win in a close one. Erica Enders' MOV: 0.0018 seconds (approximately 7 inches). Enders with her quickest pass of the weekend for the win. She will have lane choice over Brogdon in round two.

  128 John Gaydosh Jr                        15 Tanner Gray                  
E1                   0.031  6.708 208.91     ****WINNER****  0.026  6.539 210.54
 Qualified:            #14  6.592 210.93                        #3  6.507 211.26
Gaydosh Jr is 1 - 0 against Gray in prior events.

Gray with the starting line advantage and never trailed for the win. He will give up lane choice to Hartford by 0.002 seconds in round two.

Gaydosh made a quick move toward the wall, but he reeled it in.

  799 Steve Graham                            2 Greg Anderson                
E1                   0.034 12.327  71.16     ****WINNER****  0.037  6.531 210.31
 Qualified:            #16  6.775 205.60                        #1  6.492 213.00
Greg Anderson's three wins here are the most for any active Pro Stock driver. This is the first time in two years that he has qualified No. 1 at three consecutive events. The No. 1 Pro Stock qualifier has only won this race once in the last 12 years. The last time the No. 16 Pro Stock qualifier won a round here was in 2001.

This is the first time Graham and Anderson have faced each other in eliminations.

Graham with a few tick advantage on the tree, but has tire shake early and clicks it off.

Anderson was straight down the groove with the quickest pass of race day for the win and lane choice in the next round over Laughlin.

  106 Alan Prusiensky                         7 Jeg Coughlin                 
E1                  -0.040  6.614 208.75     ****WINNER****  0.010  6.533 210.70
 Qualified:            #15  6.621 208.65                        #2  6.504 212.36
Jeg Coughlin won this race in 2000 and 2010 and was the runner-up last year. This (No. 2) is his best starting spot since Bristol last year and it's the first time he has been in the top half of the field this year. This is the sixth start for Steve Graham who is looking for his first round win in Pro Stock.

Coughlin is 1 - 0 against Prusiensky in prior events.

Prusiensky goes red to give Coughlin the easy win.

Coughlin with a great light and runs the second quickest pass of the round for lane choice over Butner in the next round.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Jan 18- Sonoma Raceway Launches Victory Lane Club for Race Fans
Jan 18- John's March at Sonoma Raceway Raises More than $23,000
Jan 17- Two New Drivers Join Bob Vandergriff Racing in 2019
Jan 16- Audrey Worm to Drive Leverich Family Top Fuel Dragster in 2019
Jan 15- Houston Raceway Park 'Making the Switch' to Pennzoil
Jan 15- Brainerd International Raceway 2019 Season will be 'Business as Usual' Despite Losing One of its Owners
Jan 10- POMONA 1 - Fact Sheet
Jan 10- POMONA 1 - Event Preview
Jan 09- Magic Dry Organic Absorbent Assumes Title Sponsorship of NHRA National Event in Phoenix
Jan 09- NHRA Announces "Unfinished Business" Competition Featuring Drag Racing Legends

Copyright ©2019 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035