Search for in
Sun, 13 Jul 2014, 23:11 PM

Super Chevy Show presented by Chevrolet Performance and Original Parts Group
Courtesy of John Bisci

Concludes at Maple Grove Raceway

MOHNTON, Pa. -- The annual Super Chevy Show presented by Chevrolet Performance and Original Parts Group ( took place over the weekend of July 11-13 at Maple Grove Raceway. The world-famous all-Chevrolet event included drag racing, an extensive car show, a swap meet and manufacturers midway. The event drew 917 Chevrolet products (Chevrolet cars or cars powered by Chevrolet engines) to the facility.

The feature show was headlined by four Jet Dragsters (MAVTV Missile, Lucas Oil Terminal Velocity, Queen of Diamonds II and Jersey Thunder) and TV and motion picture star Brett "Big Schwag" Wagner. Wagner chose his 10 favorite cars in the car show for special awards on Saturday.

Local drag racers Denny and Elise Renninger took home two car show awards in the Super Chevy Magazine - Top 10 Editors Choice - Race Car category. The Renningers compete in MGR's Sunoco Race Fuels Money Trail E.T. bracket racing series.

The three-day Chevrolet fest concluded at 6 p.m. Sunday with the final round of Pro Mod eliminations. Fredy Scriba of Millersville, Md., won the Pro Mod final on the starting line when opponent Frank Patille of Landerburg, Pa., fouled by only 1/1,000 second. To meet Patille in the finale of the 16-car Pro Mod field, Scriba defeated Ed Burnlay (Pasadena, Md.) in the first round, Vinny Budano (Hicksville, N.Y.) in the second round and Jeff Rodgers (Severn, Md.) in the semi-final.

William Gill of Langhorne, Pa., won the Bracket 1 final over Brock Moshier of Lititz, Pa.

Scott Smoker of Kinzers, Pa., won the CamaroGuys Gen 5 Challenge presented by S&WRace Cars final when the car of opponent Tom Johnson of Newport News, Va., broke an axle on the starting line. Jill Canuso of S&W Race Cars -- who also pilots the Queen of Diamonds II Jet Dragster -- presented the trophy to Smoker.

The top two qualifiers in the Top Sportsman category faced each other in the final. No. 1 Qualifier John Prime of Thomaston, Ct., defeated Ronnie Proctor of Harpers Ferry, W.V.

Super Chevy Show presented by Chevrolet Performance and Original Parts Group drag racing results (Driver's name, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time, top speed):

Winner: Fredy Scriba (Millersville, Md.) 1963 Corvette  .089 6.049 sec./235.19 mph.
Runner-up: Frank Patille (Landerburg, Pa.) 1957 Buick  -.001 (foul) 6.566 sec./186.20 mph.

Winner: John Prime (Thomaston, Ct.) 1968 Camaro .007 6.784 sec./204.85 mph.
Runner-up: Ronnie Proctor (Harpers Ferry, W.V.) .012 6.851 sec./199.91 mph.

Winner: Scott Smoker (Kinzers, Pa.) 2010 Camaro .039 13.170 sec./96.43 mph.
Runner-up: Tom Johnson (Newport News, W.V.) Camaro .035 42.443 sec./38.39 mph (broke).

Winner: William Gill (Langhorne, Pa.) 1991 dragster .004 7.930 sec./167.43 mph.
Runner-up: Brock Moshier (Lititz, Pa.) 1971 Vega .032 9.064 sec./141.94 mph.

Winner: Kris Kurzweg (West Lawn, Pa.) 1979 Malibu .014 9.146 sec./145.11 mph.
Runner-up: Ken Gerberich (Annville, Pa.) 1983 Camaro -.004 (foul) 10.187 sec./129.95 mph.

Winner: Jacob Finkbiner (Exton, Pa.) 1970 Nova .002 12.663 sec./105.94 mph.
Runner-up: Mike Licata (Blue Point, N.Y.) 1938 Chevrolet -.004 (foul) 10.395 sec./126.78 mph.

Winner: Mitch Willingham -- 1997 Monte Carlo -- 7.596 sec.

14:00 Index Winner:  Tori Hunter.
13:00 Index Winner:  Layton Finkbiner
12:00 Index Winner:  Jeff Burnley
11:00 Index Winner:  Benjamin Roman
10:00 Index Winner:  Brian Anderson
Overall True Street Runner-up:  Patrick Finnegan
Overall True Street Winner: Glenn Hunter Jr.


Super Chevy Magazine - Top 10 Editors Choice - SHOW CAR
Bill Hollingsworth - 1969 Nova Pro Street
Charlie Costella - 1956 Chevy 210
Bruce Elliott - 1967 Camaro
Dennis Eberly - 1955 Nomad
Gary Donato - 1961 Impala
Scott Chalk - 1968 L72 Biscayne
Paige Mahr - 1973 Nova
Steve Thumma - 1967 El Camino
Jim Brady - 1970 Corvette
Tom Rosencranz - 1970 Chevelle

Super Chevy Magazine - Top 10 Editors Choice - RACE CAR
Scott Calica - 1969 Camaro Z28
Scott Embley - 1969 Chevelle
Kirk Madison - 1970 Chevelle
Rick Shindel - 1970 Nova
Denny & Elise Renninger - 1963 Corvette
Denny & Elise Renninger - 1951 GMC Pick-up
John Cole - 1980 Chevette
Ed Heisey - 1975 Vega
Andrew Starr - 1956 Chevy
Andrew Flechenstein - 1978 Malibu

Specialty Awards
Promoter's Award:  George Parkinson - 1966 Chevy Nova Pro Street
Club Participation:  First Generation Monte Carlo Club
Outstanding Engineering:  David Riddell - 1988 Chevy Pick-up
Outstanding Paint:  Denise Kocher - 1957 Chevy
Outstanding Interior:  Chris Young - 1967 Nova
Outstanding Engine:  Charles Randa - 1970 Chevy Pick-up
Outstanding Stock:  David Durst - 1972 Monte Carlo
Outstanding Modified:  Tony Diangelus - 1967 Camaro
Outstanding Show:  Ron Hansen - 1955 Chevy
Outstanding Workmanship:  Wes Castle - 1955 Chevy

Top 3 Chevelle
Brian Delp - 1970 Chevelle
Kersten Murphy - 1972 Chevelle
Bob Ulisey - 1969 Chevelle

Anniversary Class
Gary Seramone - 1964 Chevelle

Brett "Big Schwag" Wagner Top 10 Picks
Bill & Trudy Crawford - 1979 Malibu
Glenn Lockett - 1991 Camaro
Tim Barr - 1991 Chevy S-10 Pick-up
Corey Haugland - 1978 K 1500 Pick-up
Daniel & Nancy Wall - 1973 Chevelle SS
Mark Hanes - 1954 Belair
Arnold Warner - 1957 Belair Convertible
Gary Donata - 1961 Impala 4-door
William Nash - 1963 Chevy II Wagon
John Stiles - 1964 C-10 Pick-up

Friday, July 18 - Auto Locator Fast Friday. Heads-up drag racing and testing. $10 adult spectator admission. Racer entry fee: $20 for street-legal cars and motorcycles, $25 for trailered vehicles. Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing from 5-10 p.m.

Saturday July 19 - Monster Truck & Motorcycle Thrill Show - Night of Fire and Destruction. Two shows: 1 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Monster Trucks -- featuring the legendary Bigfoot, world record motorcycle jumper Doug Danger. Gates will open two hours before each show for Monster Truck rides and pit party. Advance tickets available at Kids 12 and under are free to the afternoon (1 p.m.) show when accompanied by a paid adult. Adult spectator admission at the gate is $20 for either show. Kids admission for the evening show is $10.

Now in its 52nd year of operation, historic Maple Grove Raceway is recognized as a leading facility in the sport of NHRA-sanctioned drag racing. The NHRA Nationals, MGR's annual NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series national event, will take place on Oct. 2-5.

For more information, please call Maple Grove Raceway at (610) 856-9200 or visit Follow Maple Grove Raceway on Facebook and Twitter (@maplegrove).

Drag News: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

May 16- Winners Crowned at .90 Series Opener
May 16- 32 Members of the International Drag Racing Hall of Fame will be at be at Spring Classic Nitro Revival May 18-20
May 16- 18th Annual NMRA Ford Motorsport Nationals Final Results
May 16- PDRA Reemphasizes Commitment to Pro Extreme
May 16- For Better or Worse
May 16- Musi Racing Engines and Buck Racing Engines Take Early Lead in Flatout Gaskets Nitrous Wars
May 16- St. Louis Nostalgia Rendezvous this Weekend at Gateway Motorsports Park
May 16- Reichardt Wins Second Round of Sharks of the Strip
May 16- Cook wins Carl's 4WD Bracket Series Super Pro final at Gateway Motorsports Park
May 16- Inaugural VP Racing Lubricants Mid-America SuperCar Showdown Results

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035