Search for in
Sat, 19 Oct 2013, 17:59 PM

Extreme Pro Stock Round 1 Eliminations
By Larry Sullivan

BAYTOWN, Texas - Results of round 1 eliminations in Extreme Pro Stock at the 2013 ADRL Tour presented by Speedtech, World Finals IX:

   99 Doug Kirk                            1594 Kevin Bealko                 
E1                   0.028  4.907 115.49     ****WINNER****  0.152  4.092 177.84
 Qualified:             #8  4.078 176.90                        #9  4.113 178.12
4:31 p.m. No, you didn't miss the final round of the Bert Jackson Memorial Shootout. John Montecalvo had to change engines after the semifinals for the Shootout and Brian Gahm did not want to run without Montecalvo, so race officials will try to work that final round in somewhere along the way.

Bealko picked a good time to make his best run of the day, Kirk shaking and out of the groove, near the wall.

  177 Elijah Morton                         383 Bradley Waddle               
E1                  -0.026  4.070 179.04     ****WINNER****  0.022  4.055 179.16
 Qualified:             #7  4.075 178.78                       #10  4.122 160.12
Morton leads John Montecavo by 296 points and he won't earn any more points this year because he went red. Now Montecalvo must get to the final round to take the championship.

Waddle not only won, he earned it with a career-best run.

    3 Brian Gahm                           4960 Rick Cowger                  
E1   ****WINNER****  0.082  4.085 177.58                     0.061  5.123  98.79
 Qualified:             #5  4.047 179.11                       #12  4.134 175.68
Cowger had a small holeshot, but he was back on the wheelie bars hard and the car started to shake, forcing him to lift.

  290 Trevor Eman                           428 Scott Hintz                  
E1   ****WINNER****  0.061  4.081 178.54                     0.087  5.140 142.91
 Qualified:             #2  4.025 179.40                       #15  4.299 140.85
Hintz had a very slim chance to take the championship should Montecalvo falter, but that went away when his car bogged on the launch with mechanical problems.

Eman will not have lane choice against Waddle when they meet in round two. He does have a mathematical chance of winning the championship, but would have to win the event and set a record, and Montecalvo would have to lose before the final round.

  531 John Deflorian Jr.                      8 John Pluchino                
E1   ****WINNER****  0.107  4.078 178.52                     0.023  4.173 161.65
 Qualified:             #3  4.034 180.38                       #14  4.282 149.58
Deflorian was late and his car made a major wobble near the 330-foot mark, but he still got the win light with a big top-end charge.

John Deflorian Jr.'s incremental margins (negative if behind): 60ft(-0.073), 330 ft(-0.039). MOV: 0.0111 seconds (approximately 3 feet).

  151 Dean Goforth                           44 Cale Aronson                 
E1                   0.090  4.203 162.08     ****WINNER****  0.030  4.115 174.19
 Qualified:             #4  4.034 179.71                       #13  4.197 165.50
Aronson left first and went right down the groove. Goforth left second, then got very close to the wall and had to muscle the car back to the groove, scrubbing off some ET and speed. Aronson will not have lane choice when he faces Gahm in the quarterfinals.

    7 John Montecalvo                        42 John Bartunek                
E1   ****WINNER****  0.041  4.083 176.67                    -0.008  4.116 173.65
 Qualified:             #6  4.073 169.47                       #11  4.127 176.12
Montecalvo must go to the final round to win the championship.

Bartunek made it easy, lighting the red bulb.

Both drivers in the final round of the Bert Jackson Memorial Shootout won in this round, so the Shootout final will have to wait another round.

Montecalvo will not have lane choice wnhen he faces Deflorian in round two.

    1 Cary Goforth                         4254 Benham Scott                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.106  4.030 179.78                           No Time      
 Qualified:             #1  4.023 179.95                       #16  4.412 161.36
Scott was unable to answer the staging call. Goforth made a pretty run, quickest of the round, and he will have lane choice against Bealko in round two.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035