Search for in
Thu, 10 Oct 2013, 11:28 AM

South Georgia Three-Peats
Courtesy of NHRA Field Marketing

Individual Champions Crowned

COMMERCE, Ga. - South Georgia Motorsports Park captured the team championship for the third year in a row while Edmond Richardson, Dylon Kiser, Marshall York and Chad Isley took home the individual championship at this weekend's NHRA Southeast Division Summit Racing Series Finals at Atlanta Dragway.

SGMP racked up 47 points in the Team Championship to narrowly beat Music City Raceway for its third team championship in a row. Music City finished a strong second at 45 points with Bristol Dragway landing in the third spot at 40. A total of 18 teams were in competition.

Richardson, Greenbrier, Tenn., worked his way through the field in Super Pro and ran 4.681 seconds at 148.66 mph in his final round victory over Kenneth Bottorff, Madison, Tenn., who clocked in at 6.591, 100.43. Richardson had the early lead with a .014 second reaction time in his '13 dragster and now looks to repeat his 2011 performance when he won the NHRA Summit National Championship.

In Pro, it was Kiser, Corryton, Tenn., who outlasted the competition knocking out Tim Griffith, Cedar Bluff, Va., in the final with a pass of 7.862 seconds, 86.84 mph while York, Tallapoosa, Ga., defeated Frank Medeiros, Williston, Fla., with a time of 7.557 at 87.89 mph for the Sportsman title. Both Griffith and Medeiros left early with red light foul starts.

Chad Isley took home the Super Pro Bike trophy as he ran down John Markham who had the hole shot lead with a .001 second reaction time. Isley, Charleston, Ill., went 5.680 seconds at 112.83 mph on his '08 Suzuki to defeat Markham's 5.835, 116.10 on his Kawasaki.

The four individual champions will advance to the Summit Racing National Championship in Pomona, Calif., where they will face off with the champions from the other six NHRA Divisions.

In the High School Eliminator it was Kory Anderson, Goodlettsville, Tenn., posting a .001 reaction time and a 7.652 second lap for the win over A.J. Williams clocking in at 9.635.

The division's Race of Champions (race within a race) turned into a family affair with Terry Adams and son Sam Adams taking the wins in Pro and Sportsman respectively. Terry, Meansville, Ga., faced off with Tim Griffith (who also advanced to the event finals in Pro) and clocked in at 7.486, 92.53 after Griffith turned on the red light with a foul start. Sam took the early lead against Steven Wagner and held on with a 7.956 second lap.

Tony Banks, Titusville, Fla., won the Super Pro ROC and Roy Hagadorn beat Ronnie Woodall Sr. in Super Pro Bike. Banks had a great .004 second reaction time and covered the quarter mile in 4.763 seconds at 142.90 mph in his '01 dragster to beat Kelby Walker, 6.531, 105.41 in a '79 Camaro. Hagadorn went 121.85 mph in 5.680 seconds for the win.

Also in action was the Southeast Division Jr. Finals with South Georgia taking the team win there as well. Silver Dollar was second followed by Bristol. Individual champions included Corey Kyle over Cameron Wheeler in the 8-9 year old class; Carson Brown beat Autumn Greene in 10-12; and Duane Schmidt Jr. ousted Austin Carden in 13-17.

Carden did punch through in the Jr. ROC 13-17 beating Drew Hostetter; Gage Burch bettered Carson Brown in 10-12 and Tucker Brown won over Cameron Wheeler in 8-9.

The following are final results from the 2013 NHRA Summit Racing Series Southeast Division Finals:

South Georgia Motorsports Park 1    47
Music City Raceway 1                45
Bristol Dragway 1                   40
Showtime Dragstrip 1                31
Auto-Plus Raceway at Gainesville 1  30
Atlanta Dragway 1                   29
Silver Dollar 1                     29
Silver Dollar 2                     26
Music City Raceway 2                22
Atlanta Dragway 2                   21
US 19 Dragway 1                     20
Orlando Speed World Dragway 1       19
Auto-Plus Raceway 2                 17
US 19 2                             16
South Georgia Motorsports Park 2    14
Bristol Dragway 2                   10
zMAX Dragway 1                       4
Holly Springs Motor Sports Park 1    4

Edmond Richardson, Greenbrier, Tenn., '13 American, 4.681, 148.66 def. Kenneth Bottorff, Madison, Tenn., '68 Camaro, 6.591, 100.43.

Dylon Kiser, Corryton, Tenn., '74 Duster, 7.862, 86.84 def. Tim Griffith, Cedar Bluff, Va., '77 Vega, foul.

Marshall York, Tallapoosa, Ga., '72 Nova, 7.667, 87.89 def. Frank Medeiros, Williston, Fla., '98 Trans Am, foul.

Chad Isley, Charleston, Ill., '08 SUZ, 5.680, 112.83 def. John Markham, Bowling Green, Ky., dragster, 5.835, 116.10.

South Georgia Motorsports Park 1  25
Silver Dollar R 1                 20
Bristol Dragway 1                 19
Showtime Dragstrip 1              18
Music City 1                      10
Bristol Dragway 2                 10
Atlanta Dragway 2                  8
Silver Dollar 2                    7
Orlando Speed World Dragway 1      5
Huntsville Dragway 1               4
Atlanta Dragway 1                  4
US 19 1                            3
Auto-Plus Raceway 1                2
Showtime Dragstrip 2               2
South Georgia Motorsports Park 2   1

Duane Schmidt Jr., Sparr, Fla., dragster, 7.899, 82.52 def. Austin Carden, Mcdonough, Ga., dragster, foul.

Carson Brown, Blountville, Tenn., dragster, 8.976, 73.78 def. Autumn Greene, Bradenton, Fla., dragster, 8.892, 72.15.

Corey Kyle, Gay, Ga., dragster, 12.972, 47.77 def. Cameron Wheeler, Thomaston, Ga., dragster, 13.220, 49.66.

The following are final results from the 2013 NHRA Summit Racing Series Southeast Division Race of Champions:

Tony Banks, Titusville, Fla., '01 Undercover, 4.763, 142.90 def. Kelby Walker, Hendersonville, Tenn., '79 Camaro, 6.531, 105.41.

Terry Adams, Meansville, Ga., '94 S-10, 7.486, 92.53 def. Tim Griffith, Cedar Bluff, Va., '77 Vega, foul.

Sam Adams, Meansville, Ga., '72 Nova, 7.956, 84.42 def. Steven Wagner, Jefferson, Ga., '69 Dart, 7.839, 87.82.

Roy Hagadorn, Venice, Fla., '81 SUZ, 5.680, 121.85 def. Ronnie Woodall Sr, Pleasant View, Tenn., dragster, foul.

Kory Anderson, Goodlettsville, Tenn., '76 Omega, 7.652, 80.48 def. A J Williams, Thomasville, Ga., '11 Mustang, foul.

Austin Carden, Mcdonough, Ga., dragster, 7.893, 83.07 def. Drew Hostetter, Crawfordville, Fla., dragster, foul.

Gage Burch, Palmetto, Fla., dragster, 8.904, 71.21 def. Carson Brown, Blountville, Tenn., dragster, 8.933, 74.28.

Tucker Brown, Blountville, Tenn., dragster, 12.980, 49.39 def. Cameron Wheeler, Thomaston, Ga., dragster, 13.126, 49.85.

Drag News: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 22- K&N Spring Fling Million Final Day Results
Apr 21- K&N Spring Fling Million Friday Results
Apr 20- K&N Spring Fling Million– Thursday Results
Apr 19- K&N Spring Fling Million- Wednesday Results
Apr 18- Buckeye S/SS @ National Trail April 28th
Apr 18- Don "the Snake" Prudhomme Returns To Baja Competition After 50 Years
Apr 18- K&N Spring Fling Million Tuesday Results
Apr 17- K&N Spring Fling Million Pre-Race
Apr 12- Summit Racing Equipment is Newest Sponsor of Midwest Junior Super Series
Apr 12- Summit Racing Named Official MWPMS Sponsor and Event Title Rights Holder

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035