Search for in
Sat, 02 Mar 2013, 10:42 AM

JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series Celebrates Silver Anniversary Season
Courtesy of NHRA Field Marketing

The JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series will celebrate its 25th season in 2013 with a record 11-race schedule set to crisscross the NHRA North Central Division. The series opens as part of the NHRA Spring Sportsman XXI National Open at Gateway Motorsports Park in St. Louis and concludes at the NHRA Fall Classic National Open at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.

The opening and closing events of the series will feature expanded 64-car fields with 32-car qualified fields sandwich in between at each of the other nine events including a return to National Trail Raceway near Jegs' headquarters just outside Columbus, Ohio and a new stop at Beacon Dragway opening in Paducah, Ky.

The JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series is the longest running eighth-mile touring racing series in the country with the year-end champion crowned on points earned at their best seven of the 11-race 2013 series events. Each of the past several seasons have produced exciting finishes in the chase for the point championship with Jeremy York's title last year not decided until the quarter-final round of the last race of the year.

York will be out to defend his championship and looking to join James Monroe, Bo Boles, Tim Branon, Tommy Radloff and Randy Estridge as a two-time champion during the series' 25-year run. A number of past champions and top finishers from last year are also expected to contend for the special silver Wally trophy including Bobby Small of Hartford, Ky.; Tony Virgilio of Cloverdale, Ind. the only two-time event winner last year; Scott Carman of Lewisport, Ky.; Nick Hamilton of Dresden, Ohio; Ken Storey in Sebree, Ky.; Mike King of Marysville, Ohio and Ken Simpson from Grand Rapids, Mich. all of whom made the full 2012 tour.

Once again top qualifiers will be gunning to earn a berth in the year-end JEGS Super Quick Shootout, a special race-within-a-race as part of the season final at Indianapolis. The season's top eight qualifiers make up the shootout field based on qualifying points with 32 points awarded to the number one qualifier down to 1 point for the 32nd qualifier at each of the series events leading up to the final event in Indy. The bonus event purse and event low qualifier bonuses amount to over $4,000 in JEGS Performance gift certificates.

"We are extremely proud of this year's silver anniversary milestone for the series which couldn't have been reached without the support of JEGS", stated Division Director Jay Hullinger. "Over the years the Coughlin family, who operate the giant automotive mail order and retail business, has participated in series events when their busy race and business schedules allowed. Just like their family the series has been here long enough to see second and even third generation drivers participate."

Lewis Bloom "Stat Guy" on ESPN's coverage of the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series will be making a visit to Bunker Hill Dragstrip, August 10 to cover the JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series. The NHRA Sportsman Spotlight segment is tentatively scheduled to air in the fall as part of the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series show on ESPN2.

Other stops on the series will include Beech Bend Raceway Park, May 25; Lyons Raceway Park, June 1; National Trail Raceway, June 15; Crossroads Dragway, June 22; Kil-Kare Dragway, July 13; Pacemakers Dragway Park, July 27; Coles County Dragway, August 17 and Beacon Dragway, Sept. 7.


April 13 & 14
NHRA Spring Sportsman Challenge XXI
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series (Bonus 64-car field!)
Gateway Motorsports Park - Madison, Illinois

May 25
27th Annual NHRA SportsNATIONAL OPEN
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series
Beech Bend Raceway Park - Bowling Green, Kentucky

June 1
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series
Lyons Raceway Park - Lyons, Indiana

June 15
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series
National Trail Raceway - Columbus, Ohio

June 22
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series
Crossroads Dragway - Terre Haute, Indiana

July 13
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series
Kil-Kare Dragway - Xenia, Ohio

July 27
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series
Pacemakers Dragway Park - Mt. Vernon, Ohio

August 10
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series
Bunker Hill Dragstrip - Bunker Hill, Indiana

August 17
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series
Coles County Dragway USA - Charleston, Illinois

Sept. 7
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series
Beacon Dragway - Paducah, Kentucky

October 19 & 20
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Series (Bonus 64 car field!)
October 19
JEGS NHRA Super Quick Shootout
Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis - Clermont, Indiana

LODRS: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 18- LODRS 1-1 - Event Preview
Apr 18- D1TV is Here
Apr 18- Junior Dragsters to Compete at all 7 Division One Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Events
Apr 18- Direct Cabinet Sales presents Summit Racing Series Jr Drag Racing League at D-1 Events
Apr 16- Collier Crowned Moser Sportsman Shootout Champion
Apr 16- LODRS 7-2 Event Wrap Up
Apr 16- LODRS 2-3 - Event Wrap Up
Apr 16- LODRS 4-4 - Event Wrap Up
Apr 15- LODRS 4-4 - Competition Eliminator Final, Round 5 Eliminations
Apr 15- LODRS 4-4 - Super Stock Final, Round 6 Eliminations

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035