Search for in
Wed, 10 Oct 2012, 23:32 PM

Field of 48 Set for Summit SuperSeries Championship
Courtesy of IHRA Communications

Drivers to Compete for Top, Mod, Junior Dragster World Championships

NORWALK, Ohio --

After two months of grueling competition at nine events set across the United States and Canada, the field is finally set for the 2012 Summit Racing Equipment SuperSeries World Championship presented by AMSOIL and Moser Engineering at this weekend's IHRA Summit Racing Equipment World Finals at Memphis International Raceway.

With an expanded field now including a world championship in Junior Dragster, a total of 48 participants advanced to the championship runoff from competitions in Virginia, South Carolina, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, Texas, Michigan, Alberta and North Carolina and will now compete for a world championship and lucrative championship prize package in one of the most prestigious grassroots racing programs in the world.

The competition in Top, Mod and Junior Dragster will feature 16 drivers in each class competing for the title. The winners and runner-ups at Summit Team Finals competitions in Divisions 1, 2, 3, 4 and 9 and winners in Divisions 5, 6 and 7 plus one wild card recipient in each class will make up the field.

This year's Summit SuperSeries participants are in Top Alan Glatt, Jason Blankenship, Tim Butler, Sammy Hollingsworth, Jonathan Robin, Ken LaBoe, Rich Zemrose, Sheldon Gerlach, Michael Keylich, Aaron Gee, Rick Baad, Brian Barby, Tammy Chamberlain, Chad Brewer, Chris Dean and Greg Hoffard.

In Mod are Kris Bunch, George Page, Chris Adams, Aaron Brock, Shane Kay, Jay Landry, Randy Biddle Jr., John Janu, Jay Robinson, Tim Ray, Mark Gubinski, Steven Breitkreuz, Tim O'Moore, Jay Norris, Scott Yates and Monte Soper.

Finally in Junior Dragster are Tyler Macedo, Austin Johnson, Toni Salsgiver, Jennifer Craft, Wesley Mayfield, Dylan Kiser, Randi Teed, Lewie Wrotman, Chris Pearson, Cory Tankersley, Ryan Paquette, Kaden Bergos, Lizzie Low, Connor Caulder, Robert Vogler and Josh Jones.

Representing their home tracks, the 48 participants from across North America will travel to Memphis International Raceway this weekend to compete in the Top, Mod and Junior Dragster championships with the title of World Champion and over $200,000 in cash and prizes available to the top finishers.

The drivers will get their first hit at the track on Saturday, October 13 with time runs throughout the afternoon. The Summit SuperSeries World Championship will take place Saturday evening with champions crowned in all three classes.

The winner of the Top class will take home $10,000 from Summit Racing Equipment, a brand new dragster courtesy of American Race Cars with a Trick Flow engine, a trip to Aruba, an IHRA Gold Card, World Champion Ironman and more. The winner of the Mod class will receive $10,000 from Summit Racing Equipment, a 26' Pace trailer, custom golf cart, IHRA Gold Card, a trip to Aruba, World Champion Ironman and more. The winner of the Junior Dragster class will receive $3,000 from Summit Racing Equipment, a brand new Vic Puglia Junior Dragster with an engine courtesy of Steve Waller, IHRA Gold Card, World Champion Ironman and more.

An awards celebration recognizing the winners and other seasonal programs including the Summit Pro-Am Tour will take place Saturday night immediately following the Summit SuperSeries competition.

The IHRA Summit Racing Equipment World Finals are this Friday, Saturday and Sunday at Memphis International Raceway. Tickets are free with a coupon available at



D1 Top Win - Alan Glatt (Capitol Raceway)
D1 Top R/U - Jason Blankenship (Natural Bridge Dragway)

D2E Top Win - Tim Butler (Immokalee Regional Raceway)
D2E Top R/U - Sammy Hollingsworth (Union County Dragway)

D2W Top Win - Jonathan Robin (State Capitol Raceway)
D2W Top R/U - Ken LaBoe (Middle Tennessee Dragway)

D3 Top Win - Rich Zemrose (Pittsburgh Raceway Park)
D3 Top R/U - Sheldon Gerlach (Kanawha Valley)

D4 Top Win - Michael Keylich (San Antonio Raceway)
D4 Top R/U - Aaron Gee (Wichita Raceway Park)

D5 Top Win - Rick Baad (U.S. 131 Motorsports Park)
D6 Top Win - Brian Barby (Eagle Motorplex)

D7 Top Win - Tammy Chamberlain (Caprock Motorplex)

D9 Top Win - Chad Brewer (Fayetteville Motorsports Park)
D9 Top R/U - Chris Dean (Piedmont Dragway)

Wild Card - Greg Hoffart (Magic City International Raceway)

Mod ET

D1 Mod Win - Kris Bunch (Sumerduck Dragway)
D1 Mod R/U - George Page (Motor Mile Dragway)

D2E Mod Win - Chris Adams (Immokalee Regional Raceway)
D2E Mod R/U - Aaron Brock (Pageland Dragway)

D2W Mod Win - Shane Kay (Alabama International Dragway)
D2W Mod R/U - Jay Landry (State Capitol Raceway)

D3 Mod Win - Randy Biddle Jr. (Quaker City)
D3 Mod R/U - John Janu (Thompson Raceway Park)

D4 Mod Win - Jay Robinson (Lonestar Motorsports Park)
D4 Mod R/U - Tim Ray (Pine Valley Raceway)

D5 Mod Win - Mark Gubinski (Grand Bend Motorplex)

D6 Mod Win - Steven Breitkreuz (Northern Lights)

D7 Mod Win - Tim O'Moore (Southwestern International Raceway)

D9 Mod Win - Jay Norris (Greg Dragway)
D9 Mod R/U - Scott Yates (Mooresville Dragway)

Wild Card - Monte Soper (Alaska Raceway Park)


D1 JR Win - Tyler Macedo (Sumerduck Dragway)
D1 JR R/U - Austin Johnson (Motor Mile Dragway)

D2E JR Win - Toni Salsgiver (Carolina Dragway)
D2E JR R/U - Jennifer Craft (Central Florida)

D2W JR Win - Wesley Mayfield (Montgomery Motorsports Park)
D2W JR R/U - Dylan Kiser (London Dragway)

D3 JR Win - Randi Teed (Skyview Drags)
D3 JR R/U - Lewie Wrotman (Pittsburgh Raceway Park)

D4 JR Win - Chris Pearson (San Antonio Raceway)
D4 JR R/U - Cory Tankersley (Lonestar Motorsports Park)

D5 JR Win - Ryan Paquette (Grand Bend Motorplex)

D6 JR Win - Kaden Bergos (Hi Line Dragway)

D7 JR Win - Lizzie Low (Caprock Motorplex)

D9 JR Win - Connor Caulder (Fayetteville Motorsports Park)
D9 JR R/U - Robert Vogler (Piedmont Dragway)

Wild Card - Josh Jones (Rocky Mountain Raceways)

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Mar 21- 2018 IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular Series on April 20-22
Feb 26- Weather-Related Construction Delays Postpone IHRA Xtreme Raceway Park Opener
Feb 16- IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular Schedule Announced
Feb 15- New York Track Finds Value for Racers with IHRA Agreement
Feb 15- IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular Debut Only One Month Away Now is the Time to Pre-Enter
Feb 15- Summit Texas Location is a Racers' Paradise
Feb 15- Canadian Track Makes Large Commitment to IHRA Drag Racing
Jan 27- Mid-Michigan Destination Joins IHRA Family
Jan 27- Mississippi Track Reaches Sanctioning Agreement
Jan 16- Michigan Track to Host IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035