Search for in
Mon, 08 Oct 2012, 11:29 AM

Pro Stock Motorcycle Round 1 Eliminations
By Jim Samuel

MOHNTON, Pa. - Results of round 1 eliminations in Pro Stock Motorcycle at the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series, 28th annual Auto-Plus NHRA Nationals:

  413 Michael Ray                             6 Karen Stoffer                
E1                  -0.003 No Time           ****WINNER****  0.031 21.988  99.31
 Qualified:             #9  6.910 189.76                        #8  6.902 192.85
11:08 a.m. - Weather conditions: air temperature 51 degrees, relative humidity 63 percent, barometer 29.68 inches, adjusted altitude 194 feet, track temperature 61 degrees.

Stoffer is 2-1 against Ray, with Ray's win coming in the final round at Texas this season. That was Ray's only national event win. Stoffer's last national event win came at Denver in 2011. These two were at the starting line yesterday when it began to rain.

Ray went red, his motorcycle went about 10 feet and stopped. Stoffer saw the win light when she was about 100 feet, then clicked it off and coasted.

  751 Steve Johnson                         200 Chip Ellis                   
E1                   0.057  7.329 152.37     ****WINNER****  0.018  6.920 191.48
 Qualified:            #10  6.931 192.63                        #7  6.898 193.71
Ellis has 10 wins and six losses in prior competition against Johnson. His last win was at Englishtown in 2008. Johnson's last win was at Charlotte in 2008.

It took Ellis and his crew some extra time to get his motorcycle started but that did not appear to have any affect on his run. He came off the starting line first and was quicker on the track to take the win.

  635 Scotty Pollacheck                       4 Matt Smith                   
E1                   0.044  6.937 173.94     ****WINNER****  0.087  6.851 194.72
 Qualified:            #11  6.954 188.99                        #6  6.885 193.99
Pollacheck and Smith have never raced each other in national event competition. Smith's last win was at Englishtown last year.

Smith trailed this race to 1,000 feet but managed to get by Pollacheck and take the win. Matt Smith's incremental margins (negative if behind): 60ft(-0.069), 330 ft(-0.073), 660ft(-0.075), 1,000ft(-0.060). MOV: 0.0434 seconds (approximately 11 feet).

 1528 John Hall                               7 LE Tonglet                   
E1   ****WINNER****  0.022  6.864 194.30                    -0.005  7.428 134.36
 Qualified:            #12  6.963 186.54                        #5  6.877 193.18
Tonglet and Hall have never met in competition before this. Tonglet had four wins in 2011 but has been to the final round only once this year, losing to Andrew Hines in Chicago. Hall went to the third round at Brainerd this year, his best finish ever.

Hall had his career best ET and speed to take the win.

  205 Shawn Gann                              2 Hector Arana Jr              
E1                   0.416 11.942  66.52     ****WINNER****  0.037  7.009 162.72
 Qualified:            #13  6.967 190.57                        #4  6.853 195.70
Arana won here last year, beating Matt Smith in the final round. Arana and Gann have meet three times in competition before this, with Arana winning all three times.

Gann was very light at the tree. He got off the throttle and watched Arana take the win. Arana had his troubles on the track but got the win. He gave up lane choice to Hall in the next round.

    1 Eddie Krawiec                         704 Craig Treble                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.050  6.758 196.22                     0.040  6.992 190.30
 Qualified:             #1  6.799 196.56                       #16  7.269 154.33
Treble is 5-4 over Krawiec in prior competition, with a 3-1 record against Krawiec in first round matchups. Krawiec's last win came at St. Louis earlier this year. Treble's last win was at Englishtown in 2009.

Krawiec got the win here with the second quickest run ever in Pro Stock Motorcycle and will have lane choice over Stoffer in round two.

    3 Andrew Hines                          371 Wesley Wells                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.090  6.742 198.73                     0.057 14.601  42.20
 Qualified:             #2  6.824 195.85                       #15  7.072 189.42
Hines and Wells have met twice before, both in the first round, and have each won one race. Hines has been in nine final rounds this season, winning five of them.

Hines had his career best ET and speed, and had the quickest run ever in Pro Stock motorcycle. If he backs it up, he'll have a new record. Hines will have lane choice over Ellis in the next round.

    9 Michael Phillips                        5 Hector Arana                 
E1                   0.056  7.300 188.94     ****WINNER****  0.083  7.214 194.35
 Qualified:            #14  7.013 189.23                        #3  6.834 194.46
Phillips and Arana have met 12 times before this, with Phillips winning nine of those races. Arana's last win was at Charlotte in 2009. Phillips' last win came at Dallas in 2011.

Phillips had the lead to 330 feet, but then Arana got by him to take the win. Arana gave up lane choice to Smith in the next round.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 19- Tige Boats Named Presenting Sponsor of E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series Portion
Apr 19- HOUSTON - Previous Success, Early Win has Funny Car's Courtney Force Excited
Apr 18- Haney Headed for NHRA Pro Mod with Summit Racing on His Side
Apr 18- HOUSTON - Richie Crampton Enjoying Early-Season Success Heading to 31st Annual NHRA SpringNationals
Apr 18- 2018 Mustang Cobra Jet Celebrates 50th Anniversary of Racing Legend with Quickest
Apr 18- New Ford Mustang Funny Car Scheduled to Debut In 2019 NHRA Mello Yello Season Opener
Apr 16- HOUSTON - Fact Sheet
Apr 16- HOUSTON - After Early-Season Mishap Funny Car's Jonnie Lindberg Looks to Get On Track
Apr 15-
LAS VEGAS 1 -Through the Lens of Ron Lewis
Apr 12- Tickets on Sale for 64th annual Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035