Search for in
Fri, 4 Dec 2009, 03:50 PM

Schumacher Leads Six NHRA Drivers Named to AARWBA All-America Teams
Courtesy of NHRA Communications

GLENDORA, Calif. (Nov. 30, 2009) - Two-time Jerry Titus Award winner Tony Schumacher headlines a list of five NHRA drivers named to the American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association All-America Teams.

Schumacher was named to the First Team; Ashley Force Hood and Frank Manzo were named to the Second Team; Larry Dixon, Mike Edwards and Robert Hight were named to the Honorable-Mention Team.

The Jerry Titus Award, which is given in remembrance of the late racer/journalist, will be presented to the top vote-getter among the eight First-Team drivers at the conclusion of the AARWBA All-America ceremonies in Brownsburg, Ind. on Jan. 16.

According to the AARWBA release, just two drivers - separated by just two votes - are contenders for this year's Jerry Titus Award and "one is not at all unexpected but the other is a high surprise."

Schumacher, a Titus Award winner in 2006 and 2008, is joined on the First-Team by Dario Franchitti (Open Wheel), Mark Martin (Stock Car), Jon Fogarty/Alex Gurney (Road Racing), Donny Schatz (Short Track), Ron Hornaday (Touring Series) and J.R. Hildebrand (At-Large).

Schumacher, driver of the U.S. Army dragster, won his sixth straight and seventh overall NHRA Full Throttle Series Top Fuel championship in 2009 and this is his seventh selection as an AARWBA First-Team All-America.

One driver from each of seven categories is elected to the First Team, one more to the Second Team, and all drivers receiving at least five percent of the vote (minimum five votes) earn honorable mention.

Force Hood, third-year driver of the Castrol GTX Ford Mustang, earned her first All-America recognition with two wins, 39 round wins (t-2 in Funny Car) and she led all Funny Car drivers with six runners-up and six No. 1 qualifiers (4.17 avg. qualifying position).

NHRA Lucas Oil Series TAFC Champion Frank Manzo, who drives the Lucas Oil/JEG's/Hoosier Tire Chevy Monte Carlo, was voted onto the AARWBA All-America Second-Team as an At-Large selection, giving NHRA six drivers on the team. Manzo added to his already-full trophy case in 2009 with a 13th national championship and a 19th divisional championship.

Dixon, driver of the Al-Anabi dragster, compiled a 47-18 round-win record (.723 winning pct.) en route to his five wins and nine final rounds, he led all Top Fuel drivers with nine No. 1 qualifiers (2.57 avg. qualifying position) and he finished just two points behind Schumacher.

Edwards, driver of the A.R.T./Young Life Pontiac, earned his first career NHRA Full Throttle Series Pro Stock championship by storming through the six-race playoff (two wins, 15-4 round-win record) after finishing the regular season in third place.

Hight, driver of the Auto Club Ford Mustang, made a historical run through NHRA's six-race playoff - winning three of six races and compiling an NHRA-best 15-3 round-win record - to win his first NHRA Full Throttle Series Funny Car title after finishing the regular season in 10th place.

Information on the All-America Banquet is available at The banquet and ceremony is open to the public.

OPEN WHEEL: Dario Franchitti 
STOCK CAR: Mark Martin 
ROAD RACING: Jon Fogarty/Alex Gurney
DRAG RACING: Tony Schumacher 
SHORT TRACK: Donny Schatz
AT LARGE: J.R. Hildebrand
OPEN WHEEL: Helio Castroneves
STOCK CAR: Jimmie Johnson
ROAD RACING: David Brabham/Scott Sharp
DRAG RACING: Ashley Force Hood
SHORT TRACK: Joey Saldana
TOURING SERIES: Parker Kligerman
AT LARGE: Frank Manzo 
(At least 5% of the vote)
STOCK CAR: Kyle Busch. Tony Stewart
ROAD RACING: Gil deFerran/Simon Pagenaud, Luis Diaz/Adrian Fernandez 
DRAG RACING: Larry Dixon, Mike Edwards, Robert Hight
SHORT TRACK: Levi Jones, Brad Kuhn
AT LARGE: Travis Pastrana/Christian Edstrom 

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

May 21- Second JEGS SPORTSnationals Added, to be held in mid-August in New England
May 20- DENSO Sponsors NHRA Champs' Shelter-in-Place Dachshund Race
May 14- To Our Racing Community-From Racers for Christ
May 13- The Name Game Part I
May 12- Morgan Lucas, Son of Forrest and Charlotte Lucas, Appointed President of Lucas Oil Products, Inc.
May 05- Cancellation of the 14th Annual Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals
May 04- NHRA Announces Revised Plan to Restart 2020 Mello Yello Drag Racing Series
Apr 29- DSR Drivers Join Global Superstars in Fight for COVID-19 Relief
Apr 02- NHRA National Dragster will Temporarily Shift to a Free-to-All Digital Magazine
Apr 02- NHRA Announces Revised E3 Spark Plugs Pro Mod Drag Racing Series Schedule

Copyright ©2020 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035