Search for in
Mon, 22 Sep 2003, 01:27 PM

Pro Stock Round 1 Eliminations
By Rick Green

MILLINGTON, Tenn. - Results of round 1 eliminations in Pro Stock at the NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series, 16th annual O'Reilly NHRA Mid-South Nationals presented by Pennzoil:

  335 Dave Connolly                           9 Gene Wilson
E1   ****WINNER****  0.018  6.827 201.34                     0.023  6.871 200.98
 Qualified:             #8  6.793 203.31                        #9  6.797 202.97
The Pro Stock field has seven previous Mid-South Nationals winners. The bottom half of the ladder is loaded with talent as it has 16 National event winners from this season and they have combined for 149 round wins this year.

The top half of the ladder includes Jeg Coughlin the only National event winner and they have combined 77 round wins this year.

Current weather conditions: 70 degrees, 78 percent relative humidity, the barometer 29.97 inches, with a track temperature of 88 degrees.

Connolly with the starting line advantage and just to drove away for the win.

Dave Connolly's incremental margins: 60ft(0.004), 330 ft(0.021), 660ft(0.036), 1,000ft(0.045). MOV: 0.0494 seconds (approximately 15 feet).

    6 Kurt Johnson                          398 Darrell Alderman
E1   ****WINNER****  0.003  6.820 202.09                    -0.031  6.845 200.62
 Qualified:             #7  6.785 203.37                       #10  6.797 202.48
Alderman has 9 to 8 advantage over, but Kurt has won the last six times these two have raced each other. Johnson is 150 round wins over 500% while Alderman is 123 round wins over the 500% mark. Alderman won this race in 1994.

These two just switch lanes as they came underneath the tower. Alderman turn on the red light for the first time this season to give Kurt the win light.

    5 Ron Krisher                             7 Mike Edwards
E1                  -0.082  6.923 200.11     ****WINNER**** -0.008  6.862 200.38
 Qualified:             #6  6.784 202.58                       #11  6.800 201.55
This is eighth time Krisher has qualified sixth and has never won a race when he qualified sixth. Krisher and Edwards have raced eight times and they each have four wins. Edwards won this race in 1999.

Krisher turned on the red light for the eighth time this season and then made a quick move toward the center line. Edwards with the easy win.

  357 Larry Morgan                           50 Bruce Allen
E1                   0.018  6.870 201.22     ****WINNER****  0.053  6.825 201.82
 Qualified:             #5  6.782 203.61                       #12  6.806 202.67
Morgan continues to improve as this is the second race in row he has qualified fifth. This is the first time these two have raced since the semifinal here in 2001 and Allen holds a slight advantage in head to head match ups 9 to 8.

Morgan with the starting line advantage and then a little wiggle right off the starting line and that was all Allen need to chase him down for the win.

Bruce Allen's incremental margins (negative if behind): 60ft(-0.031), 330 ft(-0.007), 660ft(0.001), 1,000ft(0.007). MOV: 0.0108 seconds (approximately 3 feet).

    2 Jim Yates                               8 Allen Johnson
E1   ****WINNER****  0.033  6.857 199.73                    -0.005  6.845 200.65
 Qualified:             #4  6.780 201.97                       #13  6.807 202.33
Yates holds a 6 to 3 advantage over Allen Johnson. We had little Pro Stock burn down and then Yates staged and then Allen Johnson turned on the red light. Yates will give up lane choice to Allen in the next round.

    4 Warren Johnson                        402 Taylor Lastor
E1   ****WINNER****  0.041  6.795 202.24                     0.045  6.848 201.10
 Qualified:             #3  6.774 203.46                       #14  6.811 202.33
Warren Johnson has qualified number three 47 times and has won from the number three spot 10 times. Warren has won here four times and his last win in 1998 he started from the number three spot.

WJ was first out of the gate and never looked back with the quick E.T. of the round. WJ will have lane choice over Edwards in the next round.

    3 Greg Anderson                          30 Steve Schmidt
E1   ****WINNER****  0.024  6.805 202.18                     0.004  6.894 200.14
 Qualified:             #2  6.759 204.23                       #15  6.813 202.27
Anderson has raced here in Memphis three previous time, and has not won a round here yet. Anderson changes that here, Schmidt was first off the starting line, but Anderson made up the difference by 200 feet and never looked back. Anderson will have lane choice over Kurt Johnson in the next round.

    1 Jeg Coughlin                           11 Scott Geoffrion
E1   ****WINNER****  0.017  6.795 201.58                    -0.010  6.870 201.55
 Qualified:             #1  6.748 202.94                       #16  6.817 203.12
Jeg is defending event champ and holds a 9 to 0 advantage over Geoffrion in head to head match ups. This is the seventh time Jeg has qualified number one and the first time since Sonoma 2001. Geoffrion won this in 1993, and he has qualified in the 16th spot seven times and has never won from that position.

Geoffrion turned on the red light and Jeg moves on and he ties Warren for quick E.T. of the round and he will have lane choice over Connolly.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 20- HOUSTON - Rickie Smith Looks to Continue Strong Start at E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Pro Mod Drag
Apr 20- HOUSTON - Erica Enders Hopes Turnaround Comes at Hometown Track for NHRA SpringNationals
Apr 19- HOUSTON - Friday Schedule
Apr 19- Tige Boats Named Presenting Sponsor of E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series Portion of NHRA SpringNationals
Apr 19- HOUSTON - Previous Success, Early Win has Funny Car's Courtney Force Excited
Apr 18- Haney Headed for NHRA Pro Mod with Summit Racing on His Side
Apr 18- HOUSTON - Richie Crampton Enjoying Early-Season Success Heading to 31st Annual NHRA SpringNationals
Apr 18- 2018 Mustang Cobra Jet Celebrates 50th Anniversary of Racing Legend with Quickest
Apr 18- New Ford Mustang Funny Car Scheduled to Debut In 2019 NHRA Mello Yello Season Opener
Apr 16- HOUSTON - Fact Sheet

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035