Search for in
Sat, 27 Sep 2003, 09:09 AM

Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series’ Best Drivers Showcased in Lucrative Jeg’a Allstars Event
Courtesy of NHRA Communications

JOLIET, Ill. -- The best drivers in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series will compete for a share of the $100,000 purse and team bragging rights during the 19th annual Jeg’s Allstars, a race-within-a-race bonus event for 64 of the top sportsman competitors.

The 2003 Jeg’s Allstars will be contested during the NHRA national event at Route 66 Raceway in September. It will be televised on ESPN2.

The top points earners in the eight NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing categories from NHRA’s seven geographic regions will compete for team and individual honors. In addition, defending Jeg’s Allstars winners in each of the eight classes will be invited to defend their titles and act as blockers for their division teams. In the yearlong points battle, drivers earn points based on performances at in-division races only.

The winning team will split $20,000. Individual winners in the Top Alcohol Dragster and Top Alcohol Funny Car classes will earn $7,000 each, while the winners in Comp Eliminator and Super Stock will receive $6,000 each. Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas and Super Street winners will earn $4,500. Runners-up in all categories will get $2,000. Each participant will also get a share of a $20,000 towing fund to help off-set travel costs to and from the event.

Defending Jeg’s Allstars winners include Marty Thacker (TA Dragster); Jay Payne (TA Funny Car); Mike Trumble (Comp Eliminator); Terry Emmons (Super Stock); Larry Hodge (Stock); Dick Vander Meer (Super Comp); Frank Kohutek (Super Gas); and Frank Nichols Jr. (Super Street). The defending team winner is Division 4 (South Central).

Past Allstars participants have included several current stars in the NHRA POWERADE Drag Racing Series, including Top Fuel drivers Cory McClenathan (1990, TA Dragster) and Darrell Russell (a TA Dragster winner in 1995). Funny Car driver Tommy Johnson Jr. (1988, TA Funny Car) and Pro Stock driver Jeg Coughlin Jr. (a winner in 1991 in Super Gas and 1997 in Super Stock) have also earn Allstars honors.

Jeg’s Allstars Awards Bonuses
Category			Winner	Runner-up
Top Alcohol Dragster	$7,000		$2,000
Top Alcohol Funny Car	$7,000		$2,000
Comp Eliminator		$6,000		$2,000
Super Stock			$6,000		$2,000
Stock				$4,500		$2,000
Super Comp			$4,500		$2,000
Super Gas			$4,500		$2,000
Super Street		$4,500		$2,000
Totals			$44,000		$16,000

Team championship (shared equally among all team members): $20,000

Tow Money (share based on each racer’s percentage of total miles): $20,000

Total Jeg’s Allstars award bonus: $100,000.

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

May 21- RICHMOND -Through the Lens of Ron Lewis
May 20- RICHMOND - Pro Mod Wrap Up
May 20- RICHMOND - Sunday Video
May 19- RICHMOND - Sunday Wrap Up
May 19- RICHMOND - Factory Stock Showdown Championship Points
May 19- RICHMOND - Pro Modified Championship Points
May 19- RICHMOND - Championship Points
May 19- RICHMOND - Bonus Points
May 19- RICHMOND - Summary of Eliminations in Top Fuel
May 19- RICHMOND - Summary of Eliminations in Funny Car

Copyright ©2019 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035