Search for in
Tue, 3 Oct 2006, 09:49 AM

22nd annual Toyo Tires NHRA Nationals Special Awards
Courtesy of NHRA Communications

MOHNTON, Pa. -- Special awards from the 2nd annual Toyo Tires NHRA Nationals.

Budweiser Shootout award ($4,000 to the No. 1 qualifier in Top Fuel) - Tony Schumacher, Long Grove, Ill., U.S. Army dragster, 4.440 seconds, 331.85 mph.

Skoal Showdown award ($4,000 to the No. 1 qualifier in Funny Car) - Tommy Johnson Jr., Avon, Ind., Skoal Racing Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 4.693 seconds, 327.27 mph.

NHRA King Demon Crown award ($3,000 to the No. 1 qualifier in Pro Stock) - Greg Stanfield, Bossier City, La., PiranaZ Pontiac GTO, 6.621 seconds, 208.04 mph.

Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle award ($1,000 to the No. 1 qualifier in Pro Stock Motorcycle) - Angelle Sampey, New Orleans, U.S. Army Suzuki, 6.939 seconds, 191.10 mph.

Motel 6 "Who Got the Light" award ($1,000 to the individual Top Fuel, Funny Car, or Pro Stock driver who earns an elimination round win by the narrowest margin.) - Allen Johnson defeated Jim Yates by a .0013-second margin of victory in the first round of Pro Stock.

Strange Engineering "Perfectly Strange" performance award ($250 bonus to the first racer in Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, and Super Street who wins an elimination round by running dead-on their dial-in or index) - None recorded.

Brut "Essence of Racing" award ($1,000 to the Sportsman-level participant that best exemplifies the Brut spirit of racing) Lucas Motor Oil Chevrolet Monte Carlo Top Alcohol Funny Car entry. Driver: Frank Manzo, Morganville, N.J.

Hedman Hedders Best Engineered Vehicle ($1,000 to the best engineered vehicle) - Arnie Martel Racing Chevrolet Cobalt Competition entry. Driver: Arnie Martel, Tewksbury, Mass.

NHRA Best Appearing Crew - Lourie Racing Enterprises Chevrolet Camaro Top Alcohol Funny Car entry. Driver: Eric Lourie, Terryville, Ct.

NHRA Best Appearing Car - Dixie Construction Pontiac Firebird Top Alcohol Funny Car entry. Driver: D.J. Cox Jr., Whiteford, Md.

Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship ($3,000 each to Top Fuel and Funny Car's top crew, $1,500 to Pro Stock's top crew, and $750 to Pro Stock Motorcycle's top crew):
Top Fuel: Doug Kalitta/Rahn Tobler Mac Tools dragster crew.
Funny Car: Gary Scelzi/Mike Neff Mopar/Oakley Dodge Charger crew.
Pro Stock: Greg Anderson/Rob Downing/Jeff Perley Summit Racing Pontiac GTO crew.
Pro Stock Motorcycle: Andrew Hines/Matt Hines Screamin' Eagle Harley-Davidson V-Rod crew.

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 19- HOUSTON - Friday Schedule
Apr 19- Tige Boats Named Presenting Sponsor of E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series Portion of NHRA SpringNationals
Apr 19- HOUSTON - Previous Success, Early Win has Funny Car's Courtney Force Excited
Apr 18- Haney Headed for NHRA Pro Mod with Summit Racing on His Side
Apr 18- HOUSTON - Richie Crampton Enjoying Early-Season Success Heading to 31st Annual NHRA SpringNationals
Apr 18- 2018 Mustang Cobra Jet Celebrates 50th Anniversary of Racing Legend with Quickest
Apr 18- New Ford Mustang Funny Car Scheduled to Debut In 2019 NHRA Mello Yello Season Opener
Apr 16- HOUSTON - Fact Sheet
Apr 16- HOUSTON - After Early-Season Mishap Funny Car's Jonnie Lindberg Looks to Get On Track
Apr 15-
LAS VEGAS 1 -Through the Lens of Ron Lewis

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035