Search for in
Tue, 11 Jan 2005, 11:41 AM

2004 North Central Division Champions Honored at Awards Banquet
Courtesy of Jay Hullinger

INDIANAPOLIS -- The 2004 North Central Division champions were honored Saturday evening (Jan. 8) at the Sheraton Indianapolis Hotel and Suites. Over 400 racers and fans gathered for the annual “Land of the Winners” event that this year included a fun-filled post banquet Winner’s Party.

Champions in the North Central Division’s NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, NHRA Summit Racing Series, NHRA Jeg’s Super Quick Series and the NHRA O’Reilly Auto Parts Jr. Drag Racing League were honored along with a number of other special awards. Linda and Chuck Scrimpsher were presented the “Winner’s Persons of the Year” award for their support and contributions to the continued success of the division’s Jeg’s Super Quick Series.

NHRA Summit Racing Series National Champions Mark Griffith in Super Pro and Dave Hill in Super Pro Bike were given special recognition. Griffith was also voted the Division ET Driver of the Year.

Bill Reichert, who wheeled his Bars’ Leaks A/Fuel Dragster to his fourth North Central Division championship and finished number two nationally was voted the Pro-Sportsman Driver of the Year. The Pro-Sportsman Mechanic of the Year honors went to Larry Snyder who acknowledged his entire crew for their efforts in winning the Top Alcohol Funny Car division title with his son Mick at the wheel.

The Coan family dominated the voting in the sportsman categories with Jason named Sportsman Driver of the Year and his dad Dave chosen as the Sportsman Mechanic of the Year. The Coan Engineering Competition eliminator entry won three Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series divisional events during the year to claim their first division championship. Super Comp champion Rock Haas received the most votes in the Super Eliminator Sportsman Driver of the Year.

Chris McMahan, operations manager at Route 66 Raceway accepted the NHRA North Central Division Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Track of the Year and Rich and Jacklyn Gebhardt were presented the Division’s NHRA Summit Series Track of the Year award for their Midstate Dragway in Havana, Ill.

Mike Coughlin of Jeg’s High Performance Mail Order joined NHRA Vice President – Publications Adriane Ridder and Jill Caliendo of NHRA’s Field Marketing department, Ritch Bowers, Leo Taugher, Dennis Winegar, Chuck Scrimpsher and Division Director Jay Hullinger in the presentation of awards.

2004 NHRA NORTH CENTRAL DIVISION “Land of the Winners” Awards Banquet
January 8, 2005 - Sheraton Indianapolis Hotel & Suites

Bill Reichert Top Alcohol Dragster Mick Snyder Top Alcohol Funny Car Jason Coan Competition Steven Graham Super Stock Bryan Merkle Stock Rock Haas Super Comp Alan Bush Super Gas Linn Bebout, Jr. Super Street Mitch Smith Top Sportsman Champion

Mark Griffith Super Pro Dave Hill Super Pro Bike

Mark Griffith Super Pro Jimmie Barrett Pro ET Dave Hill Super Pro Bike Ray Block Sportsman Chris Harrod High School National Trail Raceway Team Champion Chandler Motorsports Park National DRAGSTER Team Spirit

Lynn Smalley

NHRA O’Reilly Auto Parts Jr. Drag Racing League

NHRA North Central Division Jr. CHAMPIONS
Joe Staats 13-17 Years Old Lauren Lacy 10-12 Years Old Jacob Blumenstein 8-9 Years Old

15 Yr. Old Class Ryan Haag 11 Yr. Old Class Payton Filson 10 Yr. Old Class Tyler Smith

“Winners” Persons of the Year
Linda & Chuck Scrimpsher

Pro-Sportsman Driver of the Year
Bill Reichert

Pro-Sportsman Mechanic of the Year
Larry Snyder

Sportsman Driver of the Year
Jason Coan

Sportsman Driver of the Year – Super Categories
Rock Haas

Sportsman Mechanic of the Year
Dave Coan

E.T. Driver of the Year
Mark Griffith

NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Track of the Year
Route 66 Raceway

NHRA Summit Racing Series Track of the Year
Midstate Dragway

Be A Winner, Be A Member Track of the Year
National Trail Raceway

National DRAGSTER Contributor of the Year
Pam Lobb – Wabash Valley Dragway

Drag News: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Jan 19- Gateway Motorsports Park to Honor Local Drag Racing Champions February 3
Jan 19- Good Vibrations Motorsports to Sponsor 2018 UNFC Race Series
Jan 18- M&M Transmission Returns as Official Sponsor of Mid-West Pro Mod Series
Jan 17- Andrea Lee Harris Named Enthusiast Relations Manager of Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum
Jan 16- Countdown to a Championship- Steve McCarrick 2017 TNT Super Series Second Place
Jan 16- MWPMS Introduces Exclusive Video Service for 2018 Season
Jan 12- Funny Car Chaos Set to Invade Central Illinois Dragway
Jan 11- Southwest Heritage Racing Association Names New Series Sponsor for 2018
Jan 08- Buttera, Fisher, Gordon, Hughes, Merkel, Patrick, Tullius Announced as 2018 MSHFA Inductees
Jan 04- The 1/8th Mile E-mail by Luke Bogacki

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035