Search for in
Mon, 29 Nov 2004, 11:55 AM

J.R. Leerkamp wins $27,000 winner-take-all Ultimate Gambler
Courtesy of John Bisci

Nickels is Overall B&M Las Vegas Bracket Nationals Super Pro Champion

LAS VEGAS -- The four-day B&M Las Vegas Bracket Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway is now history. The Thanksgiving weekend event drew a record number of entries - more than 400 cars, motorcycles and even two snowmobiles - from 15 states and two Canadian provinces, from as far away as N. J. and W. Virginia. Saturday's program was halted by rain and completed on Sunday.

J.R. Leerkamp of Olympia, Wash., enjoyed the biggest payday of the four-day weekend as he won the $27,000 winner-take-all Ultimate Gambler Race on Sunday. The race, originally scheduled for Saturday, was postponed due to rain. Originally, 32 drivers entered at $1,000 each, but five withdrew after Saturday's rainout. Leerkamp also won Friday night's Quick 8 competition.

Ron Nickels (Super Pro), Tim Stensvad (Pro) and Scott Parsons (Street) won the weekend's overall points championships.

The holiday non-perishable food drive raised more than $1,890 in cash donations and enough food to fill a truck. A number of local causes and families, including Amerindian, Inc. ( and the Las Vegas Rescue Mission, will benefit from the racers' generosity.

Overall points champions:
Scott Parsons (Monroe, Utah) - Parsons also is The Strip's 2004 Street champion.
Ron Winters (Las Vegas)
Linda Bailey (Yorba Linda, Calif.)

Tim Stensvad (Grand Lake, Colo.)
Matt Stocker (Boise, Ida.)
Bob Chagnon (Temecula, Calif.)

Ron Nickels (Livermore, Calif.)
Shawn Langdon (Mira Loma, Calif.)
Larry Spitali (Glendale, Ariz.)

Sunday, Nov. 28 results:

$27,000 winner-take-all ULTIMATE GAMBLER RACE 
Winner: J.R. Leerkamp (Olympia, Wash.) 2001 Mullis dragster  .020  4.697 sec./141.89 mph.
Runner-up: Mark Kidd (Twin Falls, Ida.) 2001 Undercover dragster  .010  4.853 sec./141.73 mph.

$5,000-to-win SUPER PRO 
Winner: Shawn Langdon (Mira Loma, Calif.) 2002 Spitzer dragster  .017  7.758 sec./169.36 mph.
Runner-up: Shane Carr (Williamstown, N.J.) 2002 Mullis dragster  .015  7.869 sec./168.60 sec.

Winner: Todd Zampore (Marion, Texas) 1992 Cutlass  .067  8.774 sec./155.36 mph.
Runner-up: Arthur "Sonny" Archuleta (Rio Rancho, New Mex.) 1979 Z-28  .007  9.976 sec./134.75

Winner: Scott Parsons (Monroe, Utah) 1967 Cutlass  .129  12.326 sec./106.74 mph.
Runner-up: John Joines (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.) 2003 Silverado  .025  15.392 sec./86.56 mph.

Saturday, Nov. 27 results (completed Sunday due to rain on Saturday):

$5,000-to-win SUPER PRO 
Winner: Bryan King (Henderson) 1988 Mustang   .023  10.400 sec./120.97 mph.
Runner-up: Becky Phlegar (Las Vegas) 1972 Chevelle  .039  10.716 sec./122.05 mph.

Winner: Matt Stocker (Boise, Ida.) 1969 Nova  .057  11.504 sec./112.55 mph.
Runner-up: Tim Stensvad (Grand Lake, Colo.) 1999 Cavalier  .071  8.298 sec./157.72 mph.

Winner: Scott Parsons (Monroe, Utah) 1967 Cutlass  .095  12.416 sec./109.13 mph.
Runner-up: Linda Bailey (Yorba Linda, Calif.) 2001 Firebird  .106  12.720 sec./106.42 mph.

Friday, Nov. 26 results:
Results, indicating driver, hometown, car, reaction time, elapsed time (ET) and top speed:

$5,000-to-win SUPER PRO 
Winner: Larry Spitali (Glendale, Ariz.) 1967 Camaro .016 9.896 sec./134.509 mph.
Runner-up: Ben Padilla (Albuquerque, N.M.) 1967 Chevelle .105 9.086 sec./143.73 mph.

Winner: Dora Prudhomme (Boise, Ida.) 1966 Chevy II .047 11.209 sec./115.04 mph.
Runner-up: Chuck Killian Jr. (Ontario, Calif.) 1969 Camaro .055 12.059 sec./107.64 mph.

Winner: Lloyd Miyashiro (San Dimas, Calif.) 2003 Corvette .153 12.769 sec./108.41 mph.
Runner-up: Kyle Hirschi (N. Las Vegas) 1965 Mustang .078 13.108 sec./97.42 mph.

Winner: J.R. Leerkamp (Olympia, Wash.) 2001 Mullis dragster .015 7.380 sec./184.09 mph.
Runner-up: Mark Barnhart (Emmett, Ida.) 1994 Soran dragster .011 8.367 sec./108.22 mph.

Winner: Jon Brazeau (St. George, Utah) 2004 Mullis dragster .081 9.037 sec./171.10
Runner-up: Dustin Hentges (Olympia, Wash.) 2000 Mullis dragster

Winner: "Sir James" Hartvigsen (Escondido, Calif.) 1967 Barracuda .045 10.077 sec./132.14 mph.
Runner-up: John Cross (Riverside, Calif.) 1934 Chevrolet .003 10.019 sec./147.34 mph.

Thursday, Nov. 25 results: 
Results, indicating driver, hometown, car, reaction time, elapsed time (ET) and top speed:

$5,000-to-win SUPER PRO 
Winner: Carl Cannavo (N. Las Vegas) '95 Yancer dragster .003 8.089 sec./166.95 mph.
Runner-up: Dennis Jorgensen (Nampa, Ida.) 2000 Chevrolet S-10 .050 8.711 sec./155.76 mph.

Winner: Tim Stensvad (Grand Lake, Colo.) 1999 Cavalier .055 8.306 sec./159.59 mph.
Runner-up: Mark Warmouth (Lodi, Calif.) 1970 Oldsmobile 442 .066 11.026 sec./118.69 mph.

Winner: George Preszler (Kennewick, Wash.) 2002 Lincoln .054 16.009 sec./85.70 mph.
Runner-up: Ron Winters (Las Vegas) 1968 El Camino .061 16.684 sec./81.49 mph.

Drag News: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Aug 12- Bowman Conquers 'The Mountain' to Win $100,000 World Series of Pro Mod
Aug 05- Menholt Wins Aeromotive Wild Card Shootout at World Series of Pro Mod
Aug 04- Malvaso Conquers Supercharged Bounty Hunters Field at Lancaster Dragway
Aug 04- Friday Night Twice as Nice for Wayne Cleveland at Lancaster
Aug 04- Tucci Named Official Announcer of World Series of Pro Mod
Aug 04- Stand 21 to Award Custom Helmet to World Series of Pro Mod Winner
Aug 04- July 28-29 Results from Gateway Motorsports Park's Dragplex, including Missouri Street Car
Aug 04- Carlson is BIR's King of the Track
Aug 03- Surmatchewski, Stirk, Coonly are All Winners in TNT Super Series at Toronto
Aug 03- Pete Maduri Jr. Wins TNT Super Series Bonus Race at Lancaster

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035