Search for in
Wed, 28 Nov 2001, 06:55 AM

Mike Janis in Running For 2001 Auto Racing All-America Team

LANCASTER, N.Y. -- 2001 IHRA Pro Modified Champion, Mike Janis, continues his dream season by making the ballot of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association 2001 Auto Racing All-America team. Janis is a nominee in the "AT LARGE" category. No Pro Modified Driver has ever won a spot on the Auto Racing All-America team. Janis could be the first.

With a record tying five national event victories, seven "pole positions", the quickest IHRA Pro Mod ET in history (6.11 seconds), and the 2001 IHRA Pro Mod World Title, Janis earned the right to be mentioned with some of Motorsports top drivers. "Just to have your name mentioned in the same place as drivers like Jeff Gordon, John Force, Kenny Bernstein, Buddy Lazier, and the others on the list, as well as the past winners is a great honor", said Mike Janis the 2001 IHRA Pro Modified Champion.

The 12-driver 2001 Auto Racing All-America team is voted on by the members of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association. Two from each category will be named to the first team, to be honored at the annual AARWBA banquet in January. The winner of the Jerry Titus Award will also be announced at the banquet. The Titus Award honors driver earning the most votes in the balloting regardless of category. The balloting will also determine a second team of the drivers placing third and fourth in each category, and honorable mentions to all other drivers receiving at least 5 percent of the vote. AARWBA members have annually chosen an All-America Auto Racing Team since 1970. The banquet is open to the public. Ticket information is available from AARWBA, 922 N. Pass Ave., Burbank, Calif. 91505, or call (818) 842-7005.

The following drivers are on the 2001 All-America ballot (0/0/0 indicates previous times elected to first team/second team/honorable mention):

Kenny Brack (1/1/0) - CART runner-up, won four races
Helio Castroneves (0/0/0) - Indy 500 winner, four CART wins, fourth in points
Gil de Ferran (1/1/0) - CART champion, two wins
Sam Hornish (0/0/0) - IRL champion, three wins
Buddy Lazier (2/0/1) - IRL runner-up, four wins
Scott Sharp (2/1/0) - Third in IRL points, one win

Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2/0/0) - Seventh in Winston Cup three wins
Jeff Gordon (7/1/0) - Won his fourth Winston Cup championship and six races
Kevin Harvick (0/0/0) - Winston Cup top rookie (2 wins), Busch champ (5 wins)
Dale Jarrett (2/3/0) - Fifth in Winston Cup, four wins
Ricky Rudd (0/0/1) - Third in Winston Cup, two wins
Tony Stewart (5/0/0) - Second in Winston Cup, three wins

Chris Bingham (0/0/0) - Grand-Am GTS champion, seven wins
Terry Borcheller (0/0/0) - American Le Mans GTS champ, 3rd in Grand-Am GT, Paul
Gentilozzi (2/1/0) - Won his third Trans-Am Championship and four races
Larry Oberto (0/0/0) - FIA Sportscar Class 2 Champion, four wins
Emmanuele Pirro (0/0/0) - American LeMans P900 Champion, three wins; won Le Mans
James Weaver (0/0/4) - Grand-Am Prototype Champion, six wins

Kenny Bernstein (6/1/3) - Won his second NHRA Top Fuel championship, eight wins
Larry Dixon (0/1/0) - NHRA Top Fuel runner-up, six wins
John Force (9/1/0) - Won 11th NHRA Funny Car title, six wins boost record to 98
Warren Johnson (0/5/1) - Sixth NHRA Pro Stock championship, six wins
Clay Millican (0/0/0) - IHRA Top Fuel champ, 6 straight wins broke Garlits' mark
Gene Wilson (0/0/0) - IHRA Pro Stock champion, eight wins

Dave Darland (0/0/1) - USAC Midget champ, five wins; fourth in USAC Sprints
Brandan Gaughan (0/0/0) - NASCAR Winston West champion, six wins
Frank Kimmel (0/0/2) - Won third ARCA championship, 10 wins
Danny Lasoski (0/0/0) - World of Outlaws champion, nine feature wins
Johnny Sauter (0/0/0) - ASA champion and rookie of the year, 10 wins
Jack Sprague (0/2/0) - NASCAR Craftsman Truck champion, four wins

Townsend Bell (0/0/0) - CART Indy Lights champion, six wins
Doug Goad (0/0/0) - Champion in two different Grand-Am series, 13 wins
Mike Janis (0/0/0) - IHRA Pro Modified champion, five wins
Rob MacCachren (0/0/0) - Could win four off-road championships, 20 wins so far
Hoover Orsi (0/0/0) - CART Atlantic champion, five wins
Scott Taylor (0/0/0) - CORR Pro-2 off-road champ, seven wins

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 19- Named Official Online Classifieds Provider for IRGSE Properties
Apr 10- Dallas Area Track Joins IHRA Family
Apr 10- New Iowa Track Joins IHRA
Mar 27- Trio of Drag Racing Stars Join IHRA Professional Competition Board
Mar 27- IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship at Darlington Dragway Final-Round Recap
Mar 27- IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship Palm Beach Makeup at Darlington Dragway Final-Round Recap
Mar 27- IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship at San Antonio Raceway Final-Round Recap
Mar 07- Summit Sportsman National Championship Rained Out at State Capitol
Mar 07- IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship at State Capitol Raceway Final-Round Recap
Mar 07- Muncie Dragway Joins IHRA

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035