Search for in
Sun, 23 Jun 2013, 11:40 AM

Top Fuel Round 1 Eliminations
By Rick Green

EPPING, N.H. - Results of round 1 eliminations in Top Fuel at the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, Inaugural NHRA New England Nationals:

  475 Steve Torrence                        255 Clay Millican                
E1                   0.063  4.612 272.50     ****WINNER****  0.052  4.042 291.32
 Qualified:             #8  3.847 317.27                        #9  3.855 319.60
Weather conditions: air temperature 77 degrees, relative humidity 66 percent, barometer 29.95 inches, adjusted altitude 1,947 feet, track temperature 106 degrees.

Millican is 2 - 1 against Torrence in prior events. Steve Torrence beat Clay Millican in the semi-finals at Bristol and that was their only meeting this year. When Steve won in Bristol he became the 12th driver to win with Lee Beard as his crew chief. Millican with a slight starting line advantage and then starts to haze the tires and was able to pedal it and get it to hook up. Torrence lost traction about the time Millican got it to hook back up. Millican with the win.

   34 Morgan Lucas                          373 J.R. Todd                    
E1   ****WINNER****  0.058  3.906 301.40                     0.060  5.476 125.94
 Qualified:            #11  3.889 317.57                        #6  3.831 316.90
Lucas is 4 - 1 against Todd in prior events. Lucas with a slight starting line advantage and took the win when Todd was up in smoke by 150 feet.

   44 David Grubnic                          21 Terry McMillen               
E1                   0.076  3.930 315.93     ****WINNER****  0.091  3.902 318.54
 Qualified:             #3  3.817 321.96                       #14  3.927 317.57
Grubnic is 3 - 2 against McMillen in prior events. Grubnic with the starting line advantage and the lead until just past half track where McMillen chased him down. McMillen with his quickest pass of the weekend for the win. Terry McMillen's MOV: 0.0134 seconds (approximately 6 feet). He has the quickest pass of the round so he will have lane choice over Lucas in the next round.

  666 Tim Boychuk                             4 Shawn Langdon                
E1                   0.064  6.167 101.10     ****WINNER****  0.044  3.804 323.89
 Qualified:            #15  4.333 215.13                        #2  3.809 321.58
This will be Tim Boychuk's 4th NHRA start and he is looking for his first round win. Langdon with the starting line advantage and never trailed for the win with his quickest pass of the weekend. Boychuk was mixing up cylinders early and clicked it off early.

  173 Ike Maier                              22 Doug Kalitta                 
E1                   0.167  4.762 162.74     ****WINNER****  0.073  3.870 316.38
 Qualified:            #16  5.409 194.66                        #1  3.795 323.97
This is Doug Kalitta's 4th number one of the year. It's the first time he has had that many tops spots since 2004...Doug has not won a race in his last 16 times as the top qualifier. This is the first time Maier and Kalitta have faced each other in eliminations. Kalitta is out of the gate first and straight down the groove for the win. Maier is up in smoke around 400 feet and clicks it off. Kalitta will have lane choice over Millican in the next round.

  745 Brittany Force                          2 Tony Schumacher              
E1                   0.103  4.153 266.16     ****WINNER****  0.084  4.022 291.76
 Qualified:            #13  3.917 316.75                        #4  3.817 321.73
Schumacher is 1 - 0 against Force in prior events. Schumacher with the starting line advantage and never trailed for the win. They both started to lose traction at the same time and Schumacher got his car to hook back up first.

    3 Spencer Massey                         99 Khalid alBalooshi            
E1   ****WINNER****  0.053  3.814 322.04                     0.116  4.580 175.50
 Qualified:             #5  3.818 323.97                       #12  3.896 319.67
Spencer Massey vs. Khalid alBalooshi matches two drivers from two of the premier teams in Top Fuel, Don Schumacher and Alan Johnson. So far this year the Al Anabi teams under the direction of Alan Johnson are 8 - 3 against the Team Schumacher drivers.

Massey with a big starting line advantage and never trailed for the win. alBalooshi is up in smoke just before half track before he clicked it off. Massey with his quickest pass of the weekend and he will have lane choice over Schumacher in the next round.

    1 Antron Brown                            8 Bob Vandergriff              
E1                   0.047  4.043 280.95     ****WINNER****  0.047  3.856 321.27
 Qualified:            #10  3.877 310.48                        #7  3.833 323.04
This is the third race in a row that Antron Brown has started from the bottom half of the field and it's the first time that has happened in his Top Fuel career. Brown is 9 - 3 against Vandergriff in prior events. they left with identical reaction times and then never trailed as Brown started to smoke the tires around half track. This is the third time this season Vandergriff has put Brown on the trailer after round one. Vandergriff with a real nice pass for the win but will give up lane choice to Langdon, who had the quickest pass of the round, in the next round.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Oct 21- Dallas Through the Lens of Gary Nastase
Oct 20- NHRA Champion Allen Johnson, Marathon Petroleum Announce Extended Sponsorship Agreement
Oct 20- LAS VEGAS 2 - Top Fuel Star Brittany Force Ready for a High Stakes Finish Heading to NHRA Toyota Nationals
Oct 19- Fifty Years Of Funny Car to Highlight NHRA Breakfast at 2016 Sema Show
Oct 19- SealMaster, Kalitta Motorsports Announce Contract Extension
Oct 18- My Favorite Fifty- Part0 II
Oct 17- DALLAS - Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Wrap Up
Oct 17- DALLAS - Sunday Videos
Oct 17- DALLAS - AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals Special Awards
Oct 16- DALLAS - Sunday Wrap Up

Copyright ©2016 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035