Search for in
Wed, 16 Jan 2013, 17:42 PM

46th Annual Banquet Northeast Division Awards Banquet
Courtesy of Division 1

HERSHEY, Pa. -- The 46th Annual Banquet Northeast Division Awards Banquet

Special Recognition - NHRA Northeast Division Sponsors - Lucas Oil, Summit, JEG's, Sony & PC Richard& Sons, MXI Industrial, Select Performance, Glick Fire Equipment, VP Race Fuels, Classic Auto Body, Royal Pet Cremation, Hoopes Fire Protection, R Champlin Crane & Excavating, Havis, Micro Strategies.

12th Annual Northeast Division Distinguished Service Award - Steve Rhoads

Image of Youth Award -Vinny DiMino

2012 50th Year Anniversary Award - 2012 marked the 50th anniversary Maple Grove Raceway and Quarter Aces Dragway. Congratulations on 50 years of success!

2012 National Dragster Contributor Award - Pete DeSalvo ESTA Safety Park

National Dragster's "Be a Winner/Be a Member" - Atco Raceway

NHRA JDRL Eastern Conference Finals
8-9 Year - Thomas Oates

2012 Northeast Division JR. Dragster Championships
This year's event was held at Mason-Dixon Dragway in Boonsboro, MD and was well attended. The event was a huge success and special thanks go out to Elmer and Cathy Wachter and the staff at Mason-Dixon Dragway for the tremendous amount of time and effort they put into this event. We would also like to thank MicroStrategies for their support of the Race of Champions and participant barbeque.

8-9 Year Old - Cody Drummond - US 13 Dragway
10-11 Year Old - Charlotte Mallow - Mason-Dixon Dragway
12-13 Year Old - Brad Northrop - Old Bridge Twp. Raceway Park
14-15 Year Old - Robert Allen Jr - Mason-Dixon Dragway
16-17 Year Old - Austin Argoe - Cecil County Dragway
Team Champion - Cecil County Dragway

Northeast Division Summit ET Finals
2012 was the 38th year for this event. Without the help from Summit Racing Products, and Luzerne County Community College, this race would not have the prestige it carries. This year the 14 participating tracks sent 40 entries plus a High School Competitor to Lebanon Valley Dragway to determine the champions.

VP Race Fuels Race of Champions
In 2012 VP Race Fuels came on board as presenting sponsor of the VP Race Fuels Race of Champions. The VP Race Fuels Race of Champions is a highlight of the Summit Racing Series ET Finals and pits the top point's earners from each track against one another to find out who is the best of the best.

Street Winner - Paul Werner - Maple Grove Raceway
Pro Winner - Mike LaRose - ESTA Safety Park
Bike/Sled Winner - Mark Schwalm - Numidia Dragway
Super Pro Winner - Mark Goyette - Team Canada

Luzerne County Community College High School Challenge
Luzerne County Community College sponsor's the High School Challenge. Their sponsorship helps to promote both NHRA Drag Racing and the Motorsports Program at Luzerne County Community College and is done in the spirit of cooperation between our companies to promote education and safety to our young racers in the Northeast Division.

High School Champion - Austin Argoe - Cecil County Dragway

Summit ET Finals Eliminator Champions
The four champions all went to the AAA of Southern California Finals to crown a National Champion in their respective class. While the competitors didn't fare as well as they had hoped, they all enjoyed the trip and are anxious to try again.

Street Champion - Ed Talbert - Mason-Dixon Dragway
Pro Champion -- Vinny DiMino - Numidia Dragway
Bike/Sled Champion - Ken George - Old Bridg Twp. Raceway Park
Super Pro Champion - Rob Leipziger - Atco Raceway
Team Champion - Numidia Dragway
Team Spirit - Numidia Dragway

MX Industrial/Magnaflux Top Sportsman Shootout presented by Select Performance
In 2012, MX Industrial and Magnaflux, along with help from Select Performance, increased their involvement by becoming the sponsor of the highly popular Top Sportsman Category in this Division.

The top three point's earners are:
#1 - Tony Arcuni
#2 - Mike Kaufman
#3 - Ryan Ondrejko

MX Industrial/Magnaflux Top Dragster Challenge presented by Select Performance - 2012 MX Industrial/Magnaflux and Select Performance returned as sponsors of the class.

The top three points earners are:
#1 - Jason Hoff
#2 - Bill Russell
#3 - Nick Willard

Pro Stock, Inc. Pro Stock Snowmobile - 2012 was the third year for this exciting class. This series features 1000 cc snowmobiles racing heads-up on a pro tree.

The top three points earners are:
#1 - Ed Armstrong
#2 - John Evans
#3 - Tiina Duncanson

Northeast Division Annual Awards
These are the voted awards - the racers picked the winners.

Northeast Division Person of the Year - Claire Laterza

Wrench of the Year - Phil Szupka/ Frank Aragona, Sr

ET Driver of the Year - Vinny DiMino

Driver of the Year - Lincoln Morehead

Best Supporting Sponsor - PC Richard & Son

Dragstrip of the Year - Atco Raceway

Hall of Fame
The Northeast Division Hall of Fame is open to racers, officials, promoters, and all persons involved in the sport of NHRA Drag Racing in the Northeast Division. Exemplary accomplishments and longevity are some of the qualifications needed to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. A permanent plaque is on display in the Northeast Division Office of all current members of the Hall of Fame.

Tonight's inductee is very familiar to every racer in the Northeast Division. As the perennial Announcer - Bob Frey has been a great ambassador to NHRA Sportsman Drag Racing.

JEG's All Stars
Frank Manzo, won TAFC and the team was disappointed with a sixth place finish.

TAD - Karen Stalba
TAFC - Frank Manzo
Comp - Sal Biondo
SS - Joe Santangelo II
Stk - Billy Pires
SC - Justin Mason
SG - Mike Sawyer
SST - Gary Federico
Top Dragster - Bill Russell
Top Sportsman - Ryan Ondrejko
TAFC Blocker - Eric Lourie
Comp Blocker - Frank Aragona, Jr.

Northeast Division Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Lucas Oil National Champions
Congratulations to Frank Manzo, Alan Kenny on winning the Lucas Oil National Championships in TAFC and Super Comp.

Lucas Oil Division Standings
1 - Chris DePascale
2 - Casey Grubb
3 - Don Garbinski

1 - Mike Sawyer
2 - Matt Schurman
3 - Jason Kenny

1 - Alan Kenny
2 - Jason Kenny
3 - Chris DePascale

1 - Donald Pires
2 - Donnie Carroll
3 - David Ficacci

1 - Lincoln Morehead
2 - Joe Santangelo II
3 - Bryan Worner

1 - Frank Aragona, Jr.
2 - Sal Biondo
3 - Szeve Szupka

1 - Todd Veney
2 - John Anderika
3 - Eric Lourie

1 - Rich McPhillips
2 - Dan Mercier
3 - John Finke

Drag News: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 22- Dragway Racing Surface Improvements Completed at Toronto Motorsports Park
Apr 19- 16th Annual Quick Fuel Technology NMCA Bluegrass Nationals presented by Scoggin-Dickey Parts
Apr 19- NMRA Ford Motorsports Nationals- May 4-7, Maple Grove Raceway
Apr 19- Final Results- NMRA Ga All-Star Nationals
Apr 19- Holley National Hot Rod Reunion presented by AAA Insurance Returns to Bowling Green
Apr 18- Race Wrap- Ninth Annual NMRA/NMCA All-Star Nationals , presented by Steeda Autosports
Apr 17- Spring Fling Final Day Results
Apr 17- Spring Fling Million Friday Results
Apr 14- 2017 NHRA National Open at Toronto Motorsports Park is All About the Sportsman Racer
Apr 14- Spring Fling Million Thursday- Weather Postponement

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035