Search for in
Tue, 17 Apr 2012, 09:29 AM

Bill Reichert and Andrew Bohl Grab Wins in Charlotte
Courtesy of NHRA Communications
Photo copyright 2012 Auto Imagery, Inc.

CONCORD, N.C. -- Bill Reichert and Andrew Bohl each scored their first wins of 2012 this weekend at the NHRA 4-Wide Nationals at zMax Dragway in Charlotte, N.C.

Standing: Andy Bohl, Michelle Furr, Tim Molnar, Mike Castellana and Bill Reichart
Kneeling: Mike Volkman, Iggie Boicesco, Russell Joly and Joe Lisa
Former NHRA Lucas Oil National Champion Reichert, Owosso, Mich., qualified No. 1 in Top Alcohol Dragster with the quickest time of the event at 5.148 seconds, 274.05 mph then faced off with Doug Foley in the final round. The win was Reichert 25th NHRA national event win as he posted a 5.317 second pass at 264.23 mph. Foley, Statesville, N.C., left first but lost traction as Reichert shot by for the win.

Reichert defeated Foley
Bohl, Racine, Wis., came from the No. 6 qualifying position to advance to the final round in Top Alcohol Funny Car against Don Pomponio out of Berlin, N.J. Pomponio was first off the line but Bohl ran him down before half-track to take the win in 5.614 seconds at 261.47 mph to Pomponio's 5.721, 245.14. Round one saw probably the biggest upsets of the event when Mark Rogers took out defending funny car champion Frank Manzo with a pass of 5.835, 249.86 mph. Manzo's car shook a bit off the line which was all Rogers needed to speed away from Manzo for the win.

Bohl defeated Pomponio
Stock Eliminator saw the first ever 8-second pass during Friday's qualifying session when Don Fezell went 8.95 seconds in his Cobra Jet Mustang at 153 mph. But it was Joe Lisa, Vernon, N.J., with the biggest run of his life taking on veteran racer Dan Fletcher, Churchville, N.Y., in the final round. Lisa left first and ran four-thousandths off his dial to defeat Fletcher, earning his first national event win of his career.

Lisa defeated Fletcher
Comp Eliminator also had a first time winner as Russell Joly put his Chevy Cobalt in the winner's circle in 8.314 seconds at 115.49 mph over Tony Terry.

Joly defeated Terry
Michael Volkman, Moon, Pa., beat reigning Super Stock Champion Joe Santangelo while former champion Iggie Boicesco, Warminster, Pa., won in Super Gas over Frank Altilio. Volkman drove his '00 Sebring to a 116. 85 mph lap and Boicesco went 168.62 in his '02 Corvette.

Volkman defeated Santangelo
The Top Sportsman trophy went to Tim Molnar of Seville, Ohio, taking out Alan Prusiensky for his first national win and Michelle Furr, Galax, Va., made it two in a row in Charlotte beating Lauren Freer in Super Comp. Furr won here last Fall as well.

Furr defeated Freer
The following are the final results from the NHRA 4-Wide Nationals at zMax Dragway:

Top Alcohol Dragster
Bill Reichert, 5.317, 264.23 def. Doug Foley, 10.199, 82.63.

Boicesco defeated Altilio
Top Alcohol Funny Car
Andy Bohl, Ford Mustang, 5.614, 261.47 def. Dan Pomponio, Chevy Monte Carlo, 5.721, 245.14.

Comp Eliminator
Russell Joly, Chevy Cobalt, 8.314, 115.49 def. Tony Terry, Cobalt, foul.

Molnar defeated Prusiensky (who broke)
Super Stock
Michael Volkman, Chrysler Sebring, 10.359, 116.85 def. Joe Santangelo, Olds Achieva, 10.369, 103.40.

Stock Eliminator
Joe Lisa, Chevy Camaro, 10.724, 120.81 def. Dan Fletcher, Camaro, 11.129, 113.73.

Super Comp
Michelle Furr, Dragster, 8.896, 167.99 def. Lauren Freer, Dragster, foul.

Super Gas
Iggie Boicesco, Chevy Corvette, 9.905, 168.62 def. Frank Altilio, Corvette, 9.896, 158.95.

Top Sportsman
Tim Molnar, Pontiac Grand Am, 11.882, 110.25 def. Alan Prusiensky, Dodge Stratus, broke.

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Nov 24- Fans, Friends to Join NHRA Pro Racers Dec. 6 at Western Bowl in Indy to Raise Funds for Riley
Nov 24- Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals Tickets on Sale
Nov 24- 2018 Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals Tickets on Sale
Nov 24- Lucas Oil Products to Sponsor 2018 NHRA Winternationals
Nov 24- NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Champion Transcript Brittany Force
Nov 23- NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Champion Transcript Robert Hight
Nov 18- NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Champion Bo Butner
Nov 17- NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Champion Transcript Eddie Krawiec
Nov 15- B. Force, Hight, Butner and Krawiec Honored as 2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series World Champions in Hollywood
Nov 14- DeJoria Ends 12-Year NHRA Career with a Strong Pomona Effort

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035