Search for in
NHRA LODRS IHRA Drag News Photos
Wed, 1 Nov 2000, 09:34 AM

Angelle Seeling Captures Pro Stock Motorcycle Title
Courtesy of Chad Willis, Sports Marketing Enterprises

Becomes just Second Female Champion in NHRA Winston Drag Racing History

BAYTOWN, Texas --

Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Angelle Seeling captured her first career NHRA Winston championship Sunday at Houston Raceway Park, inking her name into the sport's record book as just its second female champion.

Seeling, in her fifth year of professional competition in NHRA Winston Drag Racing, became the first female competitor to win the Pro Stock Motorcycle seasonal title. Shirley Muldowney is the only other professional female champion in the NHRA's 49-year history, capturing the Top Fuel title in 1977, '80 and '82.

"This is so unbelievable," Seeling said. "The Winston championship is ours finally. I think I busted our team manager's eardrums and broke his jaw during our celebration. He'll be o.k. because the championship is a good cure for all that. I'm just so proud of this entire Team Winston bunch and I can't thank my owner, George Bryce, enough for the last five years."

The 30-year-old New Orleans resident clinched the points title by advancing to the second round of today's Matco Tools Supernationals. The Team Winston rider entered the event needing to advance to at least the same elimination round as second-place Matt Hines to hoist the trophy. Each rider was eliminated in the second round, giving Seeling a 140-point lead and the championship with one national event remaining.

"I went from being so depressed because I lost my run on a bad reaction time to total joy when Hines lost," Seeling said. "He and I have a habit of doing things like that together. He's been a great champion over the last three years, but this year is ours. Now we can go to Pomona and just concentrate on winning the race to end the year on a great note."

Seeling is just the fifth different rider to carry the No. 1 on her bike since Pro Stock Motorcycle became a professional category in 1987. Dave Schultz (1987-88, 91, 93-94, 96), John Mafaro (1989), John Myers (1990, 92, 95) and Hines (1997-99) have also won Winston championships in the Pro Stock Motorcycle division.

Team Winston Suzuki owner George Bryce wrapped up his fourth Winston title as an owner today with Seeling. Bryce also won championships with the late John Myers in 1990, '92 and '95. He finished second in NHRA Winston Pro Stock Motorcycle points eight times: 1989, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997,1998 and 1999. Over the last 12 seasons as an owner in NHRA Winston Pro Stock Motorcycle competition, a Bryce-owned team has finished either first or second in the points.

Seeling leads all Pro Stock Motorcycle competitors with five wins in 2000. Her 15 career victories are second most among female competitors in NHRA history. She trails Muldowney's 18 victories for most all-time.

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Nov 20- POMONA 2 - Through the Lens of Gary Nastase
Nov 20- Top-rookie Crampton Receives NHRA Road to the Future Award
Nov 20- HDDRS - Through the Lens of Matt Polito
Nov 20- Enders-Stevens Crowned Champion After NHRA Finals Win
Nov 20- Matt Hagan Earns 2014 NHRA Funny Car Championship
Nov 20- Venables Leads Hagan, Mopar/Rocky Team to Championship
Nov 20- 2014 Mike Aiello Award Goes to Pro Stock Bike Racer Steve Johnson
Nov 20- Tony Schumacher Clinches 2014 Top Fuel World Championship in Qualifying at Pomona
Nov 20- Schumacher, U.S. Army Team Clinch 8th Top Fuel World Title
Nov 18- POMONA 2 - Special Awards

Copyright ©2014 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035