Search for in
Sun, 12 Nov 2000, 01:58 PM

National E.T. Titles on the Line in Pomona
Courtesy of NHRA Online

POMONA, Calif. -- For the first time in two decades, NHRA will determine national champions in E.T. racing, with four champions scheduled to be crowned following three-round eliminators at the Automobile Club of Southern California NHRA Finals Nov. 9-12 in Pomona. Summit Racing Series national champions will be decided in the Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman, and Super Pro Motorcycle classes.

Event sponsor Summit Racing Equipment is an industry leader in the distribution of racing parts and equipment through catalogs and the Internet. The company also sponsors the NHRA Nationals, is the presenting sponsor of the Pontiac Excitement Nationals in Columbus, and sponsors several Pro and Sportsman drag racers, including Pro Stock driver Mark Pawuk, Pro Stock Truck racer John Lingenfelter, and Super Stock ace - and National DRAGSTER columnist - Dan Fletcher.

This year, bracket racers competed for points and cash awards during qualifying events at the 142 NHRA member tracks throughout North America. Each region's top drivers then moved on to compete for individual and team honors at the Summit Racing NHRA Finals, which were held in each of NHRA's seven geographical divisions.

Twenty-eight champions - seven each from Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman, and Super Pro Motorcycle - were determined and will compete for national titles in Pomona. The last and only time NHRA crowned national champions in E.T. racing was in 1980.

Each of the 2000 winners will receive $5,000, an NHRA Gold Card, a champion's trophy, and a jacket. All qualifiers who attend the Pomona race are guaranteed a minimum of $3,500.

Indexes for the classes are as follows: Super Pro (7.00-11.99 seconds), Pro (10.00-13.99 seconds), Sportsman (13.00-19.99 seconds), and Super Pro Motorcycle (7.50-15.99 seconds).

Competitors in Super Pro and Super Pro Motorcycle are permitted to use delay boxes; those in the Pro class are limited to a two-step ignition and a front-wheel line lock. Competitors in Sportsman are not permitted to use any electronics and must employ mufflers. All racing is done on a five-tenths full Tree, which is shaded.

Drivers scheduled to compete in the Summit Racing NHRA National Finals, Nov. 9-12 in Pomona:


Division 1
Alan Glatt, Capitol Raceway
Baltimore, Md. ('23-T Ford)

Division 2
Mike Ruff, Orlando Speed World Dragway
Winter Park, Fla. ('92 Camaro)

Division 3
Kirby McClennan, Milan Int'l Dragway
Toledo, Ohio (dragster)

Division 4
Steve Echols, Texas Motorplex
Fort Worth, Texas (dragster)

Division 5
Larry Piper,  Kansas City Int'l Raceway
Wamego, Kan. (dragster)

Division 6
Damian Giddens, Mission Raceway
Surrey, B.C. ('70 Nova)

Division 7
Ted Seipel, Sears Point Raceway Team
San Leandro, Calif. ('71 Ferrari)


Division 1
Anthony Fetch, Old Bridge Township Raceway Park
Belleville, N.J. ('84 Camaro)

Division 2
Jay Woodward, Sumerduck Dragway
Culpeper, Va. ('68 Barracuda)

Division 3
Jim Adams, Milan Int'l Dragway
Fruitport, Mich. ('68 Camaro)

Division 4
Jeremy Wilson, Thunder Valley Raceway Park
Douglass, Kan. ('80 Corvette)

Division 5
Mitch Baker, Bandimere Speedway
Parker, Colo. ('76 Camaro)

Division 6
Derrick Jackson, Woodburn Dragstrip
McMinnville, Ore. ('67 Barracuda)

Division 7
Gary Ratcliffe, L.A. County Raceway
Long Beach, Calif. ('68 Chevelle)


Division 1
Matt Rosen, Atco Raceway
Erial, N.J. ('70 Duster)

Division 2
Tim Griffith, Bristol Dragway
Richland, Va. ('98 Jeep)

Division 3
Larry Copher, Bluegrass Raceway Park
Owingsville, Ky. ('94 S-10)

Division 4
Terry Emmons, Houston Raceway Park
Pasadena, Calif. ('69 Camaro)

Division 5
Bob Lash, Heartland Park Topeka
Manhattan, Kan. ('72 Nova)

Division 6
Chris Brandt, Mission Raceway
Custer, Wash. ('65 Chevelle)

Division 7
Linda Bailey, L.A. County Raceway
Laguna Nigel, Calif. ('98 Camaro)


Division 1
Butch Zelinsky, Numidia Raceway
Ringtown, Pa. ('95 Kawasaki)

Division 2
Tom Gardner, Moroso Motorsports Park
Boynton Beach, Fla. ('90 Kawasaki)

Division 3
Rusty Dobbs, Indianapolis Raceway Park
Indianapolis, Ind. ('98 Kawasaki)

Division 4
Alan Jordan
Killeen, Texas ('86 Suzuki)

Division 5
Jeff Lanoue, Rock Falls Raceway
Anoka, Minn. ('00 Kawasaki)

Division 6
A.J. Boykin, Mission Raceway
Ferndale, Wash. ('90 Suzuki)

Division 7
John Widmann, Samoa Dragstrip
Garberville, Calif. ('91 Kawasaki)

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 28- HOUSTON - Alex Laughlin has Growing Expectations Approaching NHRA SpringNationals
Apr 28- Racing RVs Named Presenting Sponsor of NHRA Top Dragster and Top Sportsman National
Apr 28- HOUSTON - Television Programming Alert
Apr 27- Race Fans, NHRA Racers Raise Nearly $11,000 at Charity Karting Event in Sonoma
Apr 27- Hennen Motorsports to Debut Road Rage Fuel Booster Dragster in Houston
Apr 27- Chris McGaha Welcomes Neuralog at NHRA SpringNationals
Apr 27- JEGS SPORTSnationals to Showcase Specialty Events
Apr 27- HOUSTON - Top Fuel Standout J.R. Todd Ready to Take Next Step this Season
Apr 26- TOPEKA - Event Preview
Apr 26- HOUSTON - Top Fuel Driver and Houston Native Troy Buff Dreaming of Storybook Celebration

Copyright ©2016 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035