Search for in
Sat, 1 Jun 2002, 03:57 PM

Pro Modified Round 1 Eliminations
By Jim Samuel

DINWIDDIE, Va. - Results of round 1 eliminations in Mopar Parts Pro Modified at the Hooters IHRA Drag Racing Series, 2nd annual ACDelco Nationals presented by Chevrolet:

   9 Steve Vick          6.333 221.09  Q    8 Troy Critchley      6.330 221.38
 *****WINNER***** 0.481  6.410 220.87  E1                  0.589  6.499 217.21

3:38 PM - Air temperature was 95 degrees at 39 percent humidity. Barometric pressure is 29.70 and steady. In time trials earlier today, Critchley got loose and hit the wall. In that crash, his right rear wheel center broke away from the rest of the wheel and the tire and rim came off the car. His team got the car back together and he made round one. This time, he came off the starting line slow and was not very aggressive for the entire run. Vick had a much better start and kept it up the whole way for the win.

  10 Ronnie Hood         6.346 221.78  Q    7 Ed Hoover           6.319 221.16
                  0.469  6.411 220.55  E1 *****WINNER***** 0.442  6.432 219.79

This was a close race for the quarter mile with Hoover never being more than 17 thousandths ahead of hood. Hoover margins: 60ft(0.005), 330ft(0.017), 660ft(0.013), 1,000ft(0.009). MOV: 0.0064 seconds (approximately 2 feet).

  15 Alan Pittman        6.396 217.70  Q    2 Mike Janis          6.278 226.39
                  0.440 11.345  72.90  E1 *****WINNER***** 0.466  6.408 221.31

Pitman came off the starting line first and just spun the tires for the first 60 feet, so he shut it down. Janis will get lane choice over Hoover in round two.

  11 Al Billes           6.347 221.67  Q    6 Chip King           6.316 208.59
 *****WINNER***** 0.466  6.617 215.37  E1                  0.609  8.791 101.77

King's engine started smoking at 600 feet. Billes ran strong for the win.

  14 Mike Lockwood       6.385 221.31  Q    3 Thomas Patterson    6.295 224.70
                  0.460  7.341 212.96  E1 *****WINNER***** 0.506  6.705 214.11

Both drivers shook it the whole way down the track but Patterson was better with the pedal to get the win. Patterson gave up lane choice to Al Billes in the next round.

  16 Mitch Stott         6.406 221.63  Q    1 Fred Hahn           6.259 221.52
                  0.000 No Data        E1 *****WINNER***** 0.504  6.423 223.43

As soon as Stott rolled out of the water, he started leaking fluid from his car. He just shut it down and was pushed back. Hahn ran solo but gave up lane choice to Vick in the round two.

  12 Mike Castellana     6.359 218.37  Q    5 Shannon Jenkins     6.314 220.87
                  0.542  9.396  97.33  E1 *****WINNER***** 0.470  6.385 219.47

Castellana came off the starting line with the wheels up and he was all over the lane. He had similar problems earlier today in time trials. Jenkins also had a run similar to his time trials and that gave him the win.

  13 Quain Stott         6.379 221.45  Q    4 Harold Martin       6.311 221.74
                  0.510 13.539  62.74  E1 *****WINNER***** 0.523  6.617 212.59

Stott shook the tires at 60 feet and shut it down. Martin gave up lane choice to Jenkins.

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Feb 20- IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship at Palm Beach International Raceway Final-Round
Feb 20- IHRA Driver Profile- Otis Henry
Feb 20- Snowbirds from Canada Make IHRA Races a Destination
Feb 20- Williams Closes the Deal at PBIR
Feb 07- Winter Warm-Up/Racer Appreciation & Awards Ceremony Night at San Antonio Raceway
Feb 07- What You Need to Know About This Weekend's IHRA Summit Sportsman =
Feb 07- Immokalee- Final Round Recap from Summit Sportsman National Championship
Feb 05- 64th Annual World Series of Drag Racing Returns to Cordova International Raceway
Feb 02- What You Need to Know About the Upcoming Race for this Weekend
Jan 30- IHRA Super Rod Racers will Compete for a $5,000 Sunday Bonus

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035