Search for in
NHRA LODRS IHRA Drag News Photos
Sun, 17 Sep 2000, 11:44 AM

Different Event - Same Story for Santos
Courtesy of NHRA Marketing

SALT LAKE CITY- The Fifth event of the 2000 Pacific Division Federal-Mogul Drag Racing Series took place over the weekend at the Rocky Mountain Raceway located southwest of Salt Lake City. More than 325 drivers and grandstands full of adoring race fans endured the intense heat on the final day of elimination's at the Rocky Mountain Nationals.

As the temperature reached record levels in the Salt Lake City area, top honors went to Rick Santos of San Leandro, Calif. in the Federal-Mogul Dragster category. Santos, who is undefeated in divisional races this year, posted a time of 5.628 seconds narrowly beating Mission Viejo, Calif., resident Darren Nicholson who had a time of 5.697 seconds. The top qualifying position in the Federal-Mogul funny Car field, Larry Miner of Woodbridge, Calif. was defeated by division rival Roger Bateman of Calgary Alberta, Can., with a fantastic run in the finals. Bateman had a time of 6.027 at 242.00 mph compared to Miner's run of 6.128 at 223.93 mph.

Santos continues to be a force in the Federal-Mogul Dragster division. Santos, aiming for his fourth consecutive national championship, out-dueled a very strong field here at Rocky Mountain Raceway. Said Santos, "It's nice to get a win here at Rocky Mountain Raceway, we have had success here in the past and anytime that we can beat a strong field is a great feeling, especially after the way we left the U.S. nationals."

In other action, sharing the $2500 Winston Top Qualifier money were Rick Santos, Federal-Mogul Dragster; Larry Miner, Federal-Mogul Funny Car; Brian Hyerstay, Competition; Rick Ryan, Super Stock; and Steve Coach, Stock. The Best Appearing Car Award went to Washington, Utah; resident Brent Theobold while Kent Justice of Phoenix, Ariz. landed the Best Engineered Car Award. Finally, Paul Bishop's team of Salt Lake City, Utah won for the Best Appearing Crew Award.

The following are the final results from the NHRA Federal-Mogul Drag Racing Series event at Division Seven's Rocky Mountain Raceway's:

Round 1
4) Duane Shields, Las Vegas, Nev., 5.785 e.t., 243.50 mph def.
5)Bob Perkins, Bluffdale, Utah, 6.020 e.t., 229.41 mph

1) Rick Santos, San Leandro, Calif., 5.635 e.t., 249.58 mph  def
8) Brent Ducray, Grand Junction, Utah, 5.899 e.t., 236.03 mph

2) Mike Strasburg, Lindon, Utah, 5.772 e.t., 246.37 mph  def
7) John Shoemaker, Sacramento, Calif., 5.798 e.t., 241.35 mph

3) Darren Nicholson, Mission Viejo, Calif., 5.814 e.t., 239.80  def
6) Paul Jones, Stockton, Calif., 5.856 e.t., 235.78 mph

Nicholson, 5.735 e.t., 245.76 mph def. Strasburg, 5.732 e.t., 243.50 mph
Santos, 5.689 e.t., 247.11 mph def. Shields, 5.987 e.t., 178.96 mph

Final Round
Santos, 5.628 e.t., 250.13 mph def Nicholson, 5.697 e.t., 247.79 mph

Round 1
1) Larry Miner, Woodbridge, Calif, 6.011 e.t., 242.06 mph def.
8) Ed Marx, Stockton, Calif., 6.075 e.t., 238.47 mph

7) Roger Bateman, Calgary Alberta, Can., 6.079 e.t, 239.80 def
2) John Weaver, Hanford, Calif., DID NOT RUN

6 Bucky Austin, Fife, Wyo., 6.096 e.t., 230.17 def.
3) Rod Austin, Simi Valley, Calif., 6.174 e.t., 205.80 mph

4) Jimmy Bartoli, Duarte, Calif., 6.005 e.t., 234.80 mph def.
5) Steve Gasparrelli,  West Covina, Calif., 6.008 e.t., 240.00 mph

Miner, 6.128 e.t., 223.93 mph def. Bartoli, 6.249 e.t., 232.13 mph
Bateman, 6.027 e.t., 242.00 def. Austin, 6.123 e.t., 232.79

Final Round
Bateman, 5.979 e.t., 243.44 mph def. Miner, 5.936 e.t., 240.70 mph

Brian Hyerstay, Eugene, Oregon, '96 Dragster, G/D, 9.96 e.t., 128.62 mph, def.
John Chamberlin, Napa, Calif., '88 Uyehara, A/D, 9.62 e.t., 90.20 mph

Jimmy DeFrank, Tarzana, Calif., '89 Camaro, GT/HA, 10.96 e.t., 123.47 mph, def.
Tony DeFrank, Tarzana, Calif., '98 Pontiac , GT/FA, 10.75 e.t., 122.14 mph

Robert Pond, Riverside, Calif., '67 Fairlane, A/S, 10.74 e.t., 118.00 mph, def.
Gary Humrichouse, Livermore, Calif., '69 Camaro, F/SA, 12.11 e.t., 109.42 mph

Ed Olpin, Lindon, Utah, '99 Nielsen, S/C, 9.33 e.t., 155.11 mph, def.
Frank Kohutek, Mesquite, Texas, '00 Camaro, S/C, 9.36 e.t., 143.72 mph

Frank Kohutek, Mesquite, Tex., '96 Pontiac, S/G, 10.34 e.t., 145.77 mph, def.
Ed DeStatue, Rosemead, Calif., '85 Daytona, S/G, 10.35 e.t., 122.41 mph

Jim Glenn, Kent, Wash., '69 Firebird, S/ST, 11.39 e.t., 117.29 mph, def.
Diana Anderson, Twin Falls, Idaho, '67 Chevy, S/ST, 11.37 e.t., 130.13 mph

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Oct 22- John Force Accepts Crew Chief Jimmy Prock'S Resignation Today
Oct 22- Tucker Regroups for Better Battle Against his Yankee Counterparts
Oct 22- Demke Locks Up TAD Title, Battle Now Is For 2nd Place
Oct 21- TAFC Title Decided but Top 10 Still Wide Open
Oct 21- Bogacki Bags Second NHRA Lucas Oil World Championship
Oct 20- Raymond Beadle Passes Away
Oct 18- Connolly to Fly KYMCO Colors in Final Two Races of NHRA Countdown
Oct 16- LAS VEGAS 2 - Top NHRA Rookies Make Last Push Toward Auto Club Of Southern California Road to the Future Award
Oct 16- NHRA Breakfast at 2014 SEMA Show to Celebrate 50 Years of the NHRA Finals
Oct 14- Six Rookie Candidates Eligible for 2014 Auto Club Road to The Future Award

Copyright ©2014 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035