Search for in
NHRA LODRS IHRA Drag News Photos
Wed, 17 Oct 2001, 12:25 PM

Stark and White Cruise to Victory During Monday Finals
Courtesy of NHRA Marketing

Of NHRA Sunoco Fall Classic Federal-Mogul Drag Racing Series at IRP

CLERMONT, Ind. -- The final installment of the 2001 North Central Division NHRA Federal-Mogul Drag Racing Series concluded on Monday evening, one day later than scheduled, in the Sunoco Fall Classic at Indianapolis Raceway Park. More than 650 drag racers competed in the weekend's National Hot Rod Association competition, which was delayed by rain on Saturday and Sunday, for more than $158,000 in cash and contingency awards.

Monday’s eliminations featured a dynamic duel in the Federal-Mogul Dragster division, with Keith Stark of Danville, Ill., capturing the victory over Brandon Bernstein of Lake Forest, Calif., with a 5.341 seconds elapsed time, 269.78 mph, to Bernstein’s 5.495, 260.56.

“The track at IRP was just amazing,” said Stark. “This was just a pretty awesome performance for anybody. We’re just glad that it happened to us here this weekend.”

In the Federal-Mogul Funny Car division, Marc White of Glendale Heights, Ill., defeated Kim Fritts of Greenup, Ill., with a 5.825, 225.16 to Fritts’ 6.144, 176.85.

Other winners throughout weekend competition were Bo Bunter of Floyds Knobs, Ind., in Competition Eliminator; Ken Shawver of Defiance, Ohio, in Super Stock; Phillip Lacy of Louisville, Ky., in Stock Eliminator; Kyle Fickler of Huntley, Ill., in Super Comp; Jon Steldt of Milwaukee, Wis., in Super Gas; and Justin Rosenbohm, of LeClaire, Iowa, in Super Street.

Stark and White each took home $1,000 as the Sealed Power Top Qualifier in the Federal-Mogul Dragster and Federal-Mogul Funny Car divisions. Other low qualifier award winners were Steven Ambrose of Woodhaven, Mich., in Competition Eliminator; Jerry Silvens of Van Buren, Ohio, in Super Stock; and Charles Blossom of Woodbury, Minn., in Stock.

An award for Best Appearing Crew went to Russ Lindert of Manteno, Ill., and his Federal-Mogul Dragster crew. The Best Appearing Car award was Gary Agan of Greenwood, Ind., for his 2001 Agan Red in Super Comp. The Best Engineered Car award went to Wayne Hansen of Wabash, Ind., for his 2001 Chevy S-10.

Points champions in the North Central Division Federal-Mogul Series will compete in the NHRA Auto Club Finals in Pomona, Calif., Nov. 8-11.

The following are Monday’s final elimination results from the NHRA Sunoco Fall Classic Federal-Mogul Drag Racing Series event at Indianapolis Raceway Park in Indianapolis:

Round 1
#1 Keith Stark, Danville, Ill., 5.319 seconds, 275.90 mph def.
#8 Shawn Bowen, Montrose, Mich., 5.736, 243.04

#4 Robin Samsel, Marion, Ind., 6.120, 206.13 def.
#5 Ben Marshall, New Carlisle, Ohio, 16.426, 72.59

#7 Jeff Bohr, Plymouth, Mich., 5.644, 250.13 def.
#2 Bill Reichert, Owosso, Mich., 13.504, 60.88

#3 Brandon Bernstein, Lake Forest, Calif., 8.779, 143.24 def.
#6 Phil Mass, Gurnee, Ill., foul, broke

Keith Stark, 5.280, 271.24 def. Robin Samsel, foul, broke
Brandon Bernstein, 5.482, 263.31 def. Jeff Bohr, 5.656, 247.93

Stark, 5.341, 269.78 def. Bernstein, 5.495, 260.56

Round 1
#1 Marc White, Glendale Heights, Ill., ’01 Firebird, 14.720 seconds, 51.51 mph def.
#8 Jeff Lancaster, Hamilton, Ontario, ’96 Firebird, 8.287, 107.95 (foul)

#4 Kim Fritts, Greenup, Ill., ’98 Pontiac, 9.216, 107.21 def.
#3 Steve Addleman, Fishers, Ind., ’97 Firebird, foul, broke

#2 Chuck Cheeseman, Galena, Ohio, ’00 Pontiac, 12.363, 75.33 def.
#5 Jeff Craig, Muncie, Ind., foul, broke

Marc White, single, 6.953, 133.25
Kim Fritts, 5.784, 250.27 def. Chuck Cheeseman, 6.140, 190.27

White, 5.825, 225.16 def. Fritts, 6.144, 176.85

Bo Butner, Floyds Knobs, Ind., ’00 Pontiac, 10.269 seconds, 81.56 mph def.
Steven Ambrose, Woodhaven, Mich., ’23 Ford, 9.339, 93.36 (foul)

Ken Shawver, Defiance, Ohio., ’78 Pontiac, 10.825 seconds, 118.81 mph def.
Tom Sheehan, Newell, Pa., ’00 Sebring, 9.928, 132.21

Phillip Lacy, Louisville, Ken., ’68 Chevelle, no time, broke, def.
Larry Hodge, La Place, Ill., ’75 Skylark, 13.069, 87.53 (foul)

Kyle Fickler, Huntley, Ill., ’00 Dragster, 8.922, 162.83, def.,
Scott Arnold, West Chester, Ohio, ’95 Dragster, 8.892, 157.53

Jon Steldt, Milwaukee, Wisc., ’96 Olds, 10.031, 148.19 def.
Danny Edwards, Columbus, Ohio, ’85 Daytona, 9.968, 146.81

Justin Rosenbohm, LeClaire, Iowa, ’73 Vega, 10.930, 122.74 def.
Jeff Goodman, Hendersonville, Tenn., ’67 Nova, 10.936, 126.10

BEST APPEARING CREW: 3222 FMD Russ Lindert, Manteno, Ill.
BEST APPEARING CAR: 3155 S/C Gary Agan, Greenwood, Ind.
BEST ENGINEERED: 351 GT/TC Wayne Hansen, Wabash, Ind.

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Dec 18- Rob Wendland Named Crew Chief for McMillen's Top Fuel Team
Dec 18- Courtney Force Looks Back at 2014 and Forward to 2015
Dec 14- Clay Millican Joins Newly Formed Stringer Performance
Dec 13- NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series to be Sponsored by J&A Service
Dec 13- Jr Drag Racing League Conference Finals Set for 2015
Dec 08- NHRA Pro Racers Bowl to Raise Money for Riley Kids
Dec 05- Prock, Medlen Join Beckman at DSR for 2015 Mello Yello season
Dec 05- Pro Stock Motorcycle Returns to Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals at Brainerd
Dec 05- Summit Racing Operation Appreciation
Dec 04- Reaching New Heights, Lucas Experiences 9Gs Aboard an F-16

Copyright ©2014 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035