Search for in
Wed, 04 Oct 2017, 12:16 PM

Vincent and Wudarczyk Score Wins at Midwest Nationals
Courtesy of NHRA Field Marketing
Photo copyright 2017 Auto Imagery, Inc.

MADISON, Ill. - Shaun Vincent and Tyler Wudarczyk rolled into the winner's circle Sunday evening and celebrated with their teams, as the Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series concluded at the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals at Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, Ill.

Shaun Vincent celebrates third National event win.
Vincent of Omaha, Neb., took the easy win light running 8.747 seconds, 119.70 mph; local driver David Billingsley of Decatur left the starting a little too soon and triggered the red light.

Slate Cummings celebrates third National event win.

Tyler Wudarczyk celebrates second National event win.
Wudarczyk, Wakarusa, Kan., nearly doubled up Sunday. In the Super Stock final round, the Kansas runner fell short to Slate Cummings of Hammond, La. Cummings hit a perfect light at 0.000 seconds (reaction time), then ran 9.339 seconds, 130.82 mph for the win. Wudarczyk rebounded in the Stock Eliminator final round, coming from behind to upend Matt Lund of Bettendorf, Iowa. Wudarczyk recorded a victory pass of 10.395 seconds, 110.42 mph; Lund 10.290 seconds, 127.62 mph.

Peter Gasko Jr. celebrates second National event win.
In the SAM Factory Stock Showdown, Peter Gasko Jr. met up with Kevin Skinner. Gasko, Monroe Township, N.J., took the early lead in his '17 Camaro and stretched it out for the win in 8.162 seconds at 167.03 mph. Skinner, Columbus, Ohio, drove his '16 Mustang to an 8.243, 161.57 runner up finish.

Rich Smith celebrates first National event win.

Danny Nelson celebrates second National event win.
In the Top Sportsman presented by Racing RV's final round, Rich Smith, Wentzville, Mo., earned his first national event Wally trophy. Smith, took a slight lead peaking at 6.725 seconds, 188.31 mph, and never let Tom Schmidt, Lindstrom, Minn., back in the race. Mike Coughlin, Dublin, Ohio, got a minor edge at the starting line but Danny Nelson, Batesville, Ark., was able to reel him in for the Top Dragster presented by Racing RV's final round victory. Nelson hit a final stride of 6.036 seconds, 232.31 mph.

Tommy Phillips celebrates 39th National event win.

Dwight Nuest celebrates first National event win.
The other drivers visiting the winner's circle were Tommy Phillips in Super Comp and Dwight Nuest in Super Gas.

The following are Sunday's final round results from the 6th annual AAA Insurance Midwest Nationals in Madison, Ill:

Shaun Vincent, Chevy S-10, 8.747, 119.70 def. David Billingsley, Chevy Camaro, Foul - Red Light.

Slate Cummings, Chevy Cavalier, 9.339, 130.82 def. Tyler Wudarczyk, Chevy Camaro, 10.139, 120.20.

Tyler Wudarczyk, Chevy Camaro, 10.395, 110.42 def. Matt Lund, Pontiac Firebird, 10.290, 127.62.

Tommy Phillips, Dragster, 8.915, 168.81 def. Ryan Herem, Dragster, 8.890, 167.97.

Dwight Nuest, Dodge Rampage, 9.921, 149.81 def. Randy Shipp, Chevy Camaro, 9.924, 145.80.

Rich Smith, Chevy Camaro, 6.725, 188.31 def. Tom Schmidt, Chevy Corvette, 8.298, 132.15.

Danny Nelson, Dragster, 6.036, 232.31 def. Mike Coughlin, Dragster, 6.031, 221.92.

Peter Gasko Jr., Chevy Camaro, 8.162, 167.03 def. Kevin Skinner, Ford Mustang, 8.243, 161.57.

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Dec 13- Newly-crowned Pro Mod World Champion Troy Coughlin to Retire at Pinnacle of Career
Dec 13- Drive Your Car on Track at Sonoma Raceway
Dec 13- More than 300 Children Attend “Race to the Holidays” Christmas Party at Sonoma Raceway
Dec 11- Legends the Series- The Legend of Eric Medlen
Dec 08- Drag Illustrated Reveals Third Annual 30 Under 30 List at PRI Show
Dec 07- Lucas Oil Extends NHRA Sponsorship Agreement
Dec 06- Richie Crampton Named to Full-time Seat with Kalitta Motorsports for the 2018 NHRA Season
Dec 06- Operation Appreciation Day 6
Dec 05- NHRA to Allow any Accepted Engine/Body Combination in Pro Stock in 2018
Dec 05- Operation Appreciation Day 5

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035