Search for in
Wed, 06 Sep 2017, 15:01 PM

Schlenker, Green, Steffen, Johnston and Toth Head to Pomona with Wins
Courtesy of NHRA Field Marketing

WOODBURN, Ore.- The Summit Racing Series was in town this past weekend at Woodburn Dragstrip in Woodburn, Ore. Dale Green and John Floyd Jr. raced to victory this past weekend. In addition, Andy Schlenker and Robert Steffen took top honors in the Summit Racing Series Race of Champions.

Local Super Pro runner Green of Covington took the starting line against Chris Jaggers, Middelton, Idaho in the final round. Green upended Jaggers, running 8.935 seconds, 163.54 mph. Jaggers followed at 7.833 seconds, 151.59 mph. The NHRA Northwest division received the Super Pro wildcard in the Summit Racing Series drawing earlier this season. Dale Green will represent the Northwest division in the Summit Racing National Championship.

Seattle Pro driver Greg Steen outlasted Canadian racer Andy Closkey in the final round. Steen and Closkey came in at 7.677 seconds, 173.31 mph and 8.612 seconds, 159.57 mph respectively.

The other drivers visiting the Summit ET Racing Series winner's circle were: John Floyd Jr., in Sportsman; Mike Evans in ET Motorcycle; Sydney Jung in Junior Dragster Thunder; Cooper Chun in Junior Dragster Lightning; and Tyler Dobson in Junior Street.

Schlenker of Mobton outran his Oregon Rival Danny Wargnier of Keizer in the Super Pro final round Race of Champions on Saturday. Schlenker powered his way down the strip at 7.677 seconds, 173.31 mph, Wargnier 8.612 seconds, 159.57 mph. Steffen of Tumwater had an easy pass down the strip as Chris Stone, Mission, B.C. went red at the starting line in the Pro ET final round.

In Sportsman, it was Troy Johnston, Keyport, Wash.,who outlasted the competition knocking out Craig Johnson, Langley, B.C., with a pass of 12.174 seconds, 108.73 mph.

Riley Toth, Medicine Hat, Alb., ran 8.833 seconds, 147.78 mph surpassing Jeramy Reber, Rogue River, Ore., in the ET Final Motorcycle final round securing his seed in the Summit ET Finals.

These four Race of Champion winners will advance to the NHRA Summit National Championship in November at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona to face off with the winners from the other six NHRA divisions for a winner take all national championship with over $100,000 up for grabs.

The other drivers visiting the Summit Race of Champions winner's circle were; Thomas Vickers in High School; Hunter Jackson in Junior Street; Duncan Gray in Junior Dragster Thunder; and Zachary Gaetz in Junior Dragster Lightning.

Pacific Raceways       102
Woodburn Dragstrip      74
Portland Int'l Raceway  68
Renegade Raceway        61
Bremerton Raceway       50
Firebird Raceway        39
Mission Raceway         36
Spokane County          30
Walla Wall Drag Strip   27
MHDRA Dragstrip         26
Madras Dragstrip        25
Coos Bay Speedway       12
Champion Raceway         7
Lost Creek Raceway       3

2017 NHRA Summit Racing E.T. Series Northwest Division Finals

Dale Green, Covington, Wash., '08 American, 8.935, 163.54 def. Chris Jaggers, Middelton, Idaho, '02 Soran, 7.833, 151.59.

Greg Steen, Seattle, Wash., '89 S-10, 10.137, 129.60 def. Andy Closkey, Quesnel, B.C., '65 Chevelle, 10.085, 129.29.

John Floyd Jr., Gresham, Ore., '02 Chevy Pickup, 14.539, 87.97 def. Craig Johnson, Langley, B.C., '84 Cutlass, 12.110, 104.72.

Mike Evans, Mckenna, Wash., '87 Kawasaki, 8.833, 144.30 def. Jim Werre, Renton, Wash., '12 Kawasaki, foul.

Sydney Jung, Surrey, B.C., dragster, 9.218, 70.59 def. Parker Miller, Yakima, Wash., dragster, 9.098, 71.24.

Cooper Chun, Vancouver, Wash., dragster, 9.421, 69.41 def. Tanner Gaetz, Medicine Hat, Alb., dragster, 7.977, 79.35.

Tyler Dobson, Abbotsford, B.C., '70 Chevy C-10, 10.857, 64.48 def. Ella Flett, Tillamook, Ore., '95 Mustang, 10.053, 72.15.

2017 NHRA Summit Racing Series Northwest Division Race of Champions Finals

Andy Schlenker, Mabton, Wash., '09 Mullis, 7.677, 173.31 def. Danny Wargnier, Keizer, Ore., '72 Vega, 8.612, 159.57.

Robert Steffen, Tumwater, Wash., '78 Nova, 10.546, 126.08 def. Chris Stone, Mission, B.C., '68 Dart, foul.

Troy Johnston, Keyport, Wash., '72 Duster, 12.174, 108.73 def. Craig Johnson, Langley, B.C., '84 Cutlass, 12.138, 106.48.

Riley Toth, Medicine Hat, Alb., '02 Kawasaki Zx11, 8.833, 147.78 def. Jeramy Reber, Rogue River, Ore., '98 Suzuki GSXR, 9.222, 139.68.

Thomas Vickers, Bremerton, Wash., '06 Tahoe, 12.024, 111.04 def. Riley Kirby, Coos Bay, Ore., '66 Mustang, foul.

Hunter Jackson, Happy Valley, Ore., '16 Tubdra, 10.337, 69.12 def. Cooper Chun, Vancouver, Wash., '05 Ford, foul.

Duncan Gray, Portland, Ore., dragster, 9.388, 70.29 def. Kiandra Gaetz, Medicine Hat, Alb., dragster, 9.053, 72.42.

Zachary Gaetz, Medicine Hat, Alb., dragster, 8.074, 79.04 def. Jazzy McGrew, Yakima, Wash., dragster, 7.970, 81.87.

Drag News: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Nov 15- Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Moves 2018 Induction Activities To March 12-13
Nov 15- NMRA to Celebrate 20 Years in 2018
Nov 15- 2018 NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Series Schedule
Nov 15- Mid-West Pro Mod Series Releases 2018 Event Schedule
Nov 15- Fun in the Sun Sunday Results
Nov 15- Fun in the Sun Saturday Results
Nov 15- Fun in the Sun Friday Results
Nov 09- Trepanier Crowned 2017 SEMA Battle of the Builders Winner
Nov 07- Fun In The Sun Pre-Race
Nov 04- New SEMA Battle of the Builders TV Special Airing January 2, 2018

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035