Search for in
Fri, 04 Aug 2017, 14:52 PM

Friday Night Twice as Nice for Wayne Cleveland at Lancaster
Courtesy of Dave Buchanan

Angelo Salemi wins

LANCASTER, N.Y. -- For the second season in a row Wayne Cleveland of Cheektowaga, N.Y. walked away from Lancaster National Dragway with two class wins in one night as he took top honors in both Top 8 Eliminator and Mallare Enterprises Top ET on Friday night.

In other Franco's Pizza IHRA Drag Racing action, Angelo Salemi of Wheatfield, N.Y. won a $500-to-win special for Hebeler's Sales Bikes & Sleds. Pete Maduri, Jr. won the TNT Hot Rod Series event. Ryan Ricketson of Delavan, N.Y. got the win in McGard Mod ET. Timothy Markle of Amherst, N.Y. was victorious in Tread City Tire Street ET.

Wayne Cleveland
Cleveland's first win of the night came in Top 8 Eliminator as he held off Michael Mallare in the final round to score the victory. He was then inserted into the Mallare Enterprises Top ET bracket where he once again went to the final, this time to face Zell Gaymon. It wound up being a bye run for Cleveland as Gaymon failed to make a run to the 1/8-mile dragstrip.

Cleveland now has three wins in the 2017 season with two Top 8 victories and one in Mallare Enterprises ET.

Angelo Salemi
Hebeler's Sales Bikes & Sleds had a special bonus night on Friday with $500 on the line for the winner. The final pair featured a "Family Fued" between three-time winner Lucas Salemi and his cousin, Angelo. Angelo Salemi got the win after Lucas broke out in the finals for his first win of the season.

Pete Maduri
The TNT Hod Rod Series returned to Lancaster National Dragway on Friday night. Pete Maduri, Jr. got the win over Patrick Boniferro on a holeshot off the starting line. Boniferro had the faster elapsed time, but Maduri, Jr. left the starting line first to give him the edge at top end.

Ryan Ricketson
McGard Mod ET was guaranteed to have its first repeat winner of the 2017 season as the final round featured previous winners Ryan Ricketson and Jeff Kerl. Ricketson left the starting line first and held of Kerl to score win #2 in Mod.

Tim Markle
Timothy Markle got his first win of the year in Tread City Tire ET. Both he and his opponent, Mason Fix, broke out in the finals with Markle running close to his dial-in.

This Friday night, July 28, the Supercharged Warriors thunder into Lancaster for a special show. They will be joined by a full card of Franco's Pizza Friday Night IHRA Drag Racing. Time trials start 5 p.m.

RESULTS (Driver, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, dial-in, elapsed time and top speed)

Top 8 Eliminator
Winner: Wayne Cleveland (Williamsville, N.Y.) 1923 Ford T-Bucket .533 5.76 5.777 seconds, 113.02 mph
Runner-up: Michael Mallare (Grand Island, N.Y.) 1927 Ford Roadster .718 5.43 5.466 seconds, 123.21 mph Mallare Enterprises Top ET
Winner: Wayne Cleveland (Wiliamsville, N.Y.) 1923 Ford T-Bucket .525 5.75 5.760 seconds, 117.56 mph
Runner-up: Zell Gaymon (Buffalo, N.Y.) 1994 Chevrolet Lumina 5.58 Broke

TNT Hot Rod Series (7.00 Index)
Winner: Peter Maduri, Jr. 2005 Chevrolet Corvette .514 7.018 seconds, 110.78 mph
Runner-up: Patrick Boniferro 1963 Chevrolet Nova .589 7.003 seconds, 92.53 mph

McGard Mod ET
Winner: Ryan Ricketson (Delavan, N.Y.) 1974 Dodge Dart .531 8.03 8.040 seconds, 85.40 mph
Runner-up: Jeff Kerl (Cheektowga, N.Y.) 1968 Chevrolet Camaro .527 6.60 6.623 seconds, 96.35 mph

Hebeler's Sales Bikes & Sleds
Winner: Angelo Salemi (Wheatfield, N.Y.) Polaris .668 6.15 6.163 seconds, 107.64 mph
Runner-up: Lucas Salemi (Clarence Center, N.Y.) Arctic Cat .614 6.58 6.574 seconds, 96.71 mph

Tread City Tire Street ET
Winner: Timothy Markle (Amherst, N.Y.) 1989 Pontiac Firebird .561 9.45 9.436 seconds, 72.09 mph
Runner-up: Mason Fix (Amherst, N.Y.) 1966 Plymouth Fury III .558 9.82 9.767 seconds, 68.81 mph

Drag News: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Jan 19- Gateway Motorsports Park to Honor Local Drag Racing Champions February 3
Jan 19- Good Vibrations Motorsports to Sponsor 2018 UNFC Race Series
Jan 18- M&M Transmission Returns as Official Sponsor of Mid-West Pro Mod Series
Jan 17- Andrea Lee Harris Named Enthusiast Relations Manager of Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum
Jan 16- Countdown to a Championship- Steve McCarrick 2017 TNT Super Series Second Place
Jan 16- MWPMS Introduces Exclusive Video Service for 2018 Season
Jan 12- Funny Car Chaos Set to Invade Central Illinois Dragway
Jan 11- Southwest Heritage Racing Association Names New Series Sponsor for 2018
Jan 08- Buttera, Fisher, Gordon, Hughes, Merkel, Patrick, Tullius Announced as 2018 MSHFA Inductees
Jan 04- The 1/8th Mile E-mail by Luke Bogacki

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035