Search for in
Sat, 29 Mar 2014, 11:14 AM

Rupert, Goforth, Scott, Maroney Top Qualifying at IHRA San Antonio Nationals
Courtesy of IHRA Communications

MARION, Texas -- The more things change, the more they stay the same.

The location may have changed, but the names remained consistent during the second stop of the 2014 IHRA Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series tour as Jason Rupert (Nitro Funny Car), Cary Goforth (Pro Stock) and Mike Scott (Nitro Harley), all winners during the IHRA season opener in Tucson, Arizona one week ago, once again topped their respective classes during Friday qualifying at the IHRA San Antonio Nationals presented by Good Vibrations Motorsports at San Antonio Raceway. Jim Maroney (Nitro Altered) and Elaine Larsen Jet Dragster) rounded out the top qualifiers from Texas.

Jason Rupert led the way in Nitro Funny Car
Friday's qualifying rounds were filled with strong runs and great races as many of the IHRA's premier classes showed their stuff under the pristine Texas air. And nowhere was that more evident than in Nitro Funny Car, where a bump spot of 5.968 left little room for error.

Despite the parity, there was no question mark at the top as Jason Rupert led the way from start to finish in the Nitro Funny Car class, taking the "Black Plague" Camaro to the top of the charts with a blistering 5.780-second elapsed time at 249.03 miles per hour, the first driver to dip into the 5.70s this season. The pass came in the final pairing of the night.

Right behind Rupert entering Saturday eliminations is Mark Sanders, his final round opponent from one week ago. "Mr. Explosive" also saved his best for last, laying down a 5.816, 246.98 to slide in comfortably behind Rupert. John Smith, driving the famed "Jungle Jim" Vega, qualified third with a 5.820, followed by Mike McIntire Jr. (5.886) and Greg Jacobsmeyer (5.917). Tim Boychuk, John Hale and Ronnie Young rounded out the field.

Cary Goforth was top qualifier in Pro Stock
After qualifying fourth and posting his first round win of the year last weekend, Bruce Litton in the "US Male" Funny Car failed to make the show in San Antonio.

Points leader Cary Goforth topped IHRA's Mountain Motor Pro Stock class, posting an impressive 6.300-second lap at 222.88 mph in his final pass of the night. He was followed closely by John DeFlorian, who had a 6.314, 218.55. Rounding out the top five are Scott Hintz (6.342), Todd Hoerner (6.356) and Pete Berner (6.356).

In Nitro Harley, Mike Scott once again took the lead, blasting through the traps with a 6.402, 221.35 to lead the two-wheel class. Randal Andras was second with a 6.816, 158.06, followed by Steve Dorn, Rickey House and Mike Pelrine.

Jim Maroney, runner-up one week ago in Tucson, topped Friday qualifying in Nitro Altered in the "Family Legacy" ride, posting a 6.495, 191.00 pass. Mike Hilsabeck was second with a 6.837, 141.87, followed by Terry Haddock, Ron Maroney and Ron Hope.

Once again it was Mike Scott leading the way in Nitro Harley
Finally in the Jet Dragster class jet veteran Elaine Larsen led the way with a 5.768, 267.38 pass, followed by Dawn Perdue with a 5.920.

Racing will continue at the San Antonio Nationals presented by Good Vibrations Motorsports on Saturday with final eliminations and a full day of sportsman racing at San Antonio Raceway.


Marion, Texas - Qualifying from the 2014 IHRA San Antonio Nitro Jam Nationals presented by Good Vibrations Motorsports at San Antonio Raceway.

Nitro Funny Car - 1. Jason Rupert, 5.780, 249.03; 2. Mark Sanders, 5.816, 246.98; 3. John Smith, 5.820, 252.81; 4. Mike McIntire Jr., 5.886, 235.60; 5. Greg Jacobsmeyer, 5.917, 242.07; 6. Tim Boychuk, 5.931, 236.72; 7. John Hale, 5.953, 237.47; 8. Ronnie Young, 5.968, 234.01; 9. Mike Smith, 6.017, 237.22; 10. Bruce Litton, 6.028, 231.96; 11. Mike Halstead, 6.096, 217.39.

Pro Stock - 1. Cary Goforth, 6.300, 222.88; 2. John DeFlorian, 6.314, 218.55; 3. Scott Hintz, 6.342, 221.57; 4. Todd Hoerner, 6.356, 216.55; 5. Pete Berner, 6.356, 211.67; 6. Kevin Bealko, 6.665, 161.23; 7. John Konigshofer, 7.525, 130.10.

Nitro Harley - 1. Mike Scott, 6.402, 221.35; 2. Randal Andras, 6.816, 158.06; 3. Steve Dorn, 6.830, 193.47; 4. Rickey House, 7.356, 140.85; 5. Mike Pelrine, 7.442, 138.72; 6. Alvin Kobernusz, 7.504, 141.78; 7. Ron Gledhill, 7.635, 199.73; 8. Jay Turner, 9.073, 103.73.

Nitro Altered - 1. Jim Maroney, 6.495, 191.00; 2. Mike Hilsabeck, 6.837, 141.87; 3. Terry Haddock, 6.863, 183.00; 4. Ron Maroney, 7.025, 130.74; 5. Ron Hope, 7.577, 182.93.

Jet Dragster - 1. Elaine Larsen, 5.768, 267.38; 2. Dawn Perdue, 5.920, 228.43; 3. Marisha Falk, 5.961, 267.22; 4. Kat Moller, 6.958, 124.86.

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 19- Named Official Online Classifieds Provider for IRGSE Properties
Apr 10- Dallas Area Track Joins IHRA Family
Apr 10- New Iowa Track Joins IHRA
Mar 27- Trio of Drag Racing Stars Join IHRA Professional Competition Board
Mar 27- IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship at Darlington Dragway Final-Round Recap
Mar 27- IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship Palm Beach Makeup at Darlington Dragway Final-Round Recap
Mar 27- IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship at San Antonio Raceway Final-Round Recap
Mar 07- Summit Sportsman National Championship Rained Out at State Capitol
Mar 07- IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship at State Capitol Raceway Final-Round Recap
Mar 07- Muncie Dragway Joins IHRA

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035