Search for in
Thu, 10 Oct 2013, 07:30 AM

Jablonski Takes Points Championship
Courtesy of Lewis Robinson
Photo credit: Ron Rigby

Coonly Wins TNT Super Series Finale and Phelps Earns Driver of the Year


Presented by Jan-Cen Motorsports, the final race of the 2013 Joe's Transmission TNT Super Series was held last Friday at Lancaster, New York's Elegant Builders Raceway Park (EBRP) and it saw some of the best racing this year.

Tom Coonly of Blasdell, NY lit five beacons as he marched through the field to victory while JJ Jablonski won his second TNTSS championship and Harry Phelps took Driver of the Year honors.

After qualifying fourth with a 7.009, Coonly went up against Tom Young in round one where he carried a starting line advantage (.531 to .556) to the stripe for a 7.026 win.

Second round saw points leader Jablonski lose early. With Sam LoVetro Jr still in contention for the championship, all eyes were on him. That ended when the tree came down as LoVetro went red by .006 and Jablonski clinched the title.

Harry Phelps also lost in round two but came out with the best overall average winning package this season to claim the Performance Improvements Driver of the Year Award, lubricated by Royal Purple.

Round three had Coonly facing Gary Kerl and even though Kerl ran dead-on 8, he missed the tree allowing Coonly (.516) to drive by him for the win. Then a .507 light paired with a 7.043 in the quarter-finals allowed Coonly to put Kevin Orr on the trailer.

Dead-on 3 in the semi-final bye run had him ready for the money round where he would face the 2013 EBRP Top ET Champion, Jeff Sobczynski.

Sobczynski had a slight advantage at the tree (.536 to .542) but a pedal-fest ensued down track and Coonly lit the final beacon running 7.011 to Sobczynski's 6.990.

"I have to thank Jeff Gregoire, Jamie (Stiffman) and Heather Stoneman, Autos Direct of Buffalo, Phil's Quality Auto Service and Competition Transmission," said Coonly. "I also have to thank Mike Janis and the Jan-Cen Racing Engines team. Not only did they sponsor this race and support the series but they give me a reliable engine every time."

Coonly went on to say how much he appreciates Joe Boniferro and the gang at Joe's Transmission for their continued support of the TNTSS. "This is a great series. Ted Barnes along with all the TNTSS competitors make this series the best around. And every one of the sponsors has the grass-roots sportsman racer in mind and I for one really appreciate it." The 2013 Awards Night for the Joe's Transmission TNT Super Series is Saturday November 16th at Johnny Rocco's in Niagara Falls, Ontario. Visit for more information and email to confirm your seat.

Specialty Awards
• Hoosier Tire Canada $100 certificate - Number One Qualifier
• Kevin Orr (Mono, Ontario) with a 7.000
• J&S Collision $50 - Closest to the Index (1st Round Loser)
• Jim Thomson (Niagara Falls, Ontario) with a 7.002
• Elegant Builders Raceway Park FREE PASS - Best Reaction Time (1st Round Loser)
• Dave Surmatchewski (Oakland, Ontario) with a .504

2013 Joe's Transmission TNTSS Championship Points Standings (TOP 10) - After 13 of 13 - FINAL

1  JJ Jablonski         797
2  Sam LoVetro Jr       756
3  David Surmatchewski  745
4  Gary Kerl            732
5  Chris VanBaalen      706
6  Jamie Stoneman       693
7t Jeff Marc            688
7t Sobczynski Vezina    688
8  Kevin Orr            686
9  Jim Thomson          664
10 Tom Coonly           661

Drag News: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Dec 14- Top Fuel Racer Leah Pritchett to Recognize Heartland Park Bracket Racers
Dec 14- Nitro Outlaw Drag Racing Association Formed
Dec 14- New MWPMS Messaging Service Takes Racer Communications to Next Level
Dec 14- Sonny's Power Scored Street Car Super Nationals Victory for Steve Nicholson
Dec 14- Street Car Super Nationals Wrap Up
Dec 06- World Series of Pro Mod Winner Mike Bowman to Receive Noonan Championship Ring at PRI Show
Dec 06- Third Annual Drag Illustrated 30 Under 30 List to be Announced at PRI Show
Nov 27- New Increased Purses for Spring Fling Vegas in 2018
Nov 27- Racers for Christ Named Official MWPMS Ministry
Nov 25- Drag Illustrated After Hours Powered by Dodge in 2017; Drag Racing's Biggest Party Returns

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035