Search for in
NHRA LODRS IHRA Drag News Photos
Tue, 17 Sep 2013, 17:34 PM

Amarillo Dragway Takes Team Win at IHRA Division 7 Summit Team Finals
Courtesy of IHRA Communications

Thorp, Cannon, Low Punch Tickets to Summit SuperSeries Championship in Memphis

PENWELL, Texas -- Three more drivers punched their tickets to the Summit SuperSeries championship runoff at the Summit World Finals over the weekend, as Kevin Thorp, Larry Cannon and Lizzie Low will represent their home tracks at Memphis International Raceway in October.

Thorp won the Top ET runoff at the Division 7 Summit Team Finals at Caprock Motorplex on Friday, while Larry Cannon claimed the Mod ET win and Lizzie Low won in Junior Dragster. Low had a huge weekend in Junior Dragster, winning the Main Event later that weekend while also reaching a third final in three days of racing.

Division 7 Summit SuperSeries Top ET winner Kevin Thorp.
Amarillo Dragway Team 1 won the Summit Team Finals team competition by a considerably margin - 15 points over Caprock Motorplex Team 2. Caprock Motorplex Team 1 finished third, followed by Desert Thunder and Southwestern International Raceway. Rounding out the top 10 were Hobbs Motorsports Park, Amarillo Dragway Team 2, Roswell Dragway and El Paso Dragway.

Kevin Thorp, representing host track Caprock Motorplex, won the Top ET runoff at the Division 7 Summit Team Finals at Caprock Motorplex on Friday, defeating Brad Hawk from Southwestern International Raceway. Thorp won with a solid .020 reaction time while posting a 4.856 elapsed time at 142.41 miles per hour on a 4.85 dial. Hawk had a .026 light and ran a 6.934 at 96.36 mph on a 6.93 dial.

In Mod ET Larry Cannon took the win representing Southwestern International Raceway, topping Benny Gossett of Caprock Motorplex in the process. Gossett lit the red light in the final by -.007 to hand Cannon the win.

Division 7 Summit SuperSeries Mod ET winner Larry Cannon.
Finally in Junior Dragster Lizzie Low got the win for Desert Thunder Raceway, defeating Tyler Thorp in the final. Thorp was representing Caprock Motorplex. Thorp had the better reaction time - a .029 to a .072 - but the young racer broke out on the top end with an 8.012 on a 8.02 dial. Low ran a 7.920 on a 7.90 dial.

The three winners automatically advance to the Summit SuperSeries championship runoff October 11-12 at Memphis International Raceway.

Other big winners from the Division 7 Summit Team Finals were Top Main Event winner Nicole Wright form Caprock Motorplex, Mod Main Event winner Tim O'Moore from Southwestern International Raceway and Junior Main Event winner Lizzie Low from Desert Thunder.

Header Goes Here
The following are the final results from the Division 7 IHRA Summit Team Finals event at Caprock Motorplex.

Division 7 Summit Team Finals Team Standings

1. Amarillo Dragway Team 1 - 44
2. Caprock Motorplex Team 2 - 29
3. Caprock Motorplex Team 1 - 28
4. Desert Thunder - 25
5. Southwestern International Raceway - 24
6. Hobbs Motorsports Park - 20
7. Amarillo Dragway Team 2 - 11
8. Roswell Dragway - 0
8. El Paso Dragway - 0


SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF TOP ET - Kevin Thorp (Caprock) .020 RT, 4.856, 142.41 def. Brad Hawk (SIR) .026 RT, 6.934, 96.36

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF MOD ET - Larry Cannon (SIR) .025 RT, 6.616, 94.94 def. Benny Gossett (Caprock) -.007 RT FOUL

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF JUNIOR - Lizzie Low (Desert Thunder) .072 RT, 7.920, 80.07 def. Tyler Thorp (Caprock) .029 RT, 8.012, 77.99


Main Event Top ET - Nicole Wright (Caprock) .016 RT, 4.970, 135.95 def. Mike Badeaux (Amarillo) .016 RT, 7.152, 100.67

Main Event Mod ET - Tim O'Moore (SIR) .018 RT, 6.343, 100.45 def. Landon Cartrite (Amarillo) ..050 RT, 7.681, 88.24

Main Event Juniors - Lizzie Low (Desert Thunder) .062 RT, 7.966, 77.99 def. Ryan Terreault (SIR) .107 RT, 10.079, 61.48

IHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Jan 25- IHRA Southwestern Nationals to Open 2015 Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series
Jan 23- Team Aruba Comes Back for 11th Racing Season in the US
Jan 23- IHRA Announces John Bisci as New Public and Media Relations Director
Jan 23- IHRA Releases Crower Pro Mod Rules and Schedule
Jan 23- IHRA Lowers Minimum Age for JR Race Car Junior Dragster Competitors
Jan 20- Southwestern Int'l Raceway Hosts IHRA Nitro Jam Season Opener February 6-7
Jan 19- Sonny's Racing Engines to Sponsor IHRA Nitro Jam Bonus Programs
Jan 10- IHRA Announces Super Rod Bonus Program Coming to Division 3
Dec 29- Hot Rod Power Tour Returning to MIR in 2015
Dec 22- IHRA Announces Changes to Summit SuperSeries Program

Copyright ©2015 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035