Search for in
Sun, 07 Apr 2013, 15:32 PM

Pro Stock Round 1 Eliminations
By Rick Green

LAS VEGAS - Results of round 1 eliminations in Pro Stock at the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, 14th annual NHRA Nationals:

    2 Jason Line                              5 Greg Anderson                
E1   ****WINNER****  0.064  6.680 207.69                     0.031  6.755 203.80
 Qualified:             #8  6.689 207.78                        #9  6.697 207.53
Weather conditions: air temperature 80 degrees, relative humidity 20 percent, barometer 27.72 inches, adjusted altitude 4,311 feet, track temperature 110 degrees.

Anderson is 26 - 19 against Line in prior events. This is only the 3rd time that Greg Anderson and Jason Line have met in the first round and the first time since 2010. Greg has won both of those previous meetings. anderson with the starting line advantage, but Line has the difference made up by 300 feet and takes the win. Line with his quickest pass of the weekend. Jason Line's MOV: 0.0421 seconds (approximately 13 feet).

    3 Vincent Nobile                         11 Shane Gray                   
E1   ****WINNER****  0.031  6.712 206.48                     0.046 11.617  75.77
 Qualified:            #10  6.697 206.54                        #7  6.685 207.40
Nobile is 5 - 0 against Gray in prior events. Nobile was out of the gate first and never trailed for the win. Gray was real loose right at the hit and had to push the clutch back in.

    7 V. Gaines                              41 Rodger Brogdon               
E1                   0.149  6.668 207.56     ****WINNER****  0.060  6.706 205.41
 Qualified:             #6  6.684 207.50                       #11  6.706 205.47
Brogdon is 4 - 1 against Gaines in prior events. Brogdon with a big starting line advantage and the power to hold on for the hole shot win. Rodger Brogdon's MOV: 0.0511 seconds (approximately 16 feet).

    4 Erica Enders-Stevens                  445 Greg Stanfield               
E1   ****WINNER****  0.021  6.696 206.86                     0.039  6.719 204.98
 Qualified:             #5  6.675 206.89                       #12  6.709 205.29
Stanfield is 1 - 0 against Enders-Stevens in prior events. Enders-Stevens with the starting line advantage and never trailed to take the win by 0.0414 seconds (approximately 12 feet).

  317 Rickie Jones                           52 Deric Kramer                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.008  6.712 206.45                     0.031  6.722 205.57
 Qualified:             #4  6.674 207.82                       #13  6.720 204.94
This will be Rickie Jones' 49th NHRA start and it will be his best starting position. He has been to two races this year and his qualified for both. .Deric Kramer has now been to three races in 2013 and has qualified for all three. He is still looking for his first national event round win. This is the first time Jones and Kramer have faced each other in eliminations. Jones with a great light and never trails for the win by 0.0337 seconds (approximately 10 feet). Jones will give up lane choice in the next round to Enders-Stevens.

    6 Mike Edwards                           10 Larry Morgan                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.076  6.672 207.78                     0.026 13.259  64.47
 Qualified:             #1  6.642 208.26                       #16  6.734 205.04
Edwards is 15 - 11 against Morgan in prior events. Mike Edwards has now qualified #1 at the first four races this year. The last time a Pro Stock driver did that was Greg Anderson in 2004. This is the 22nd time Larry Morgan has started from the 16th spot. He has won his opening round match four times when he was #16. Morgan with the starting line advantage, but then had violent tire shake and had to push in the clutch. Edwards with the quickest winning E.T. of the round and will have lane choice over Line in the next round.

    1 Allen Johnson                         619 JR Carr                      
E1   ****WINNER****  0.127  6.671 207.34                           No Time      
 Qualified:             #2  6.652 207.53                       #15  6.732 201.64
When Allen Johnson won the K&N Challenge yesterday it marked the first time that Dodge had ever won the event in consecutive years and only the fourth time a Dodge driver had won the event at all. Carr is not able to make the call, so Johnson gets the freebie. Johnson now with the quickest winning E.T. and he will have lane choice over teammate in the next round. Allen Johnson's incremental times: 60ft-1.004 sec., 330ft-2.797, 660ft-4.294/164.33 mph, 1,000ft-5.584.

   25 Jeg Coughlin                          666 Matt Hartford                
E1   ****WINNER****  0.051  6.679 207.40                     0.060  6.782 204.63
 Qualified:             #3  6.655 207.34                       #14  6.726 205.26
This is the first time Coughlin and Hartford have faced each other in eliminations. This is Jeg Coughlin's best starting spot since second Las Vegas race in 2011, a span of 26 races. Coughlin with the slight starting line advantage and never trailed for the win. He will have lane choice over Brogdon in the next round.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Nov 18- NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Champion Bo Butner
Nov 17- NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Champion Transcript Eddie Krawiec
Nov 15- B. Force, Hight, Butner and Krawiec Honored as 2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series World Champions in Hollywood
Nov 14- DeJoria Ends 12-Year NHRA Career with a Strong Pomona Effort
Nov 14- Allen Johnson Says Goodbye to Pro Stock with Emotional Tribute from Fellow Competitors
Nov 13- POMONA 2 - Special Awards
Nov 13- POMONA 2 - Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Wrap Up
Nov 12- POMONA 2 - Sunday Videos
Nov 12- POMONA 2 - Sunday Wrap Up
Nov 12- POMONA 2 - Countdown to the Championship Points

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035