Search for in
Tue, 23 Sep 2008, 05:08 PM

Tony Schumacher Wins 3rd Quarter Driver of the Year Award

Undefeated on the quarter-mile drag strips, Tony Schumacher was voted 3rd quarter DRIVER OF THE YEAR 2008.

Schumacher won every POWERade Series event in the third quarter which ended on September 14th. That was his 53rd career victory breaking a tie for all-time Top Fuel wins with Joe Amato. It was his seventh-straight win and 12th of the year.

The 39-year-old known as "The Sarge" continues to lead the point's standings.

"It's an honor to be singled out for this award," said U.S. Army Top Fuel driver, Schumacher. "Of course, I wouldn't be in the position that I'm in right now if I didn't have the best team that's ever been assembled in the history of the NHRA."

Barry Schmoyer, President of the Driver of the Year Foundation, said "you have to salute a driver who was so consistent, a consistent winner that is."

In the voting Schumacher took ten first-place ballots (out of 17 cast), and received votes from the entire panel. With 111 points he beat Jimmie Johnson. Johnson, the reigning NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion and the 2006 & 2007 DRIVER OF THE YEAR, received two first-place votes and totaled 74 points.

Indy 500 winner and 2008 IndyCar Champ, Scott Dixon, who drives for Target Chip Ganassi Racing, received one first-place vote and totaled 67 points.

NASCAR's Carl Edwards, in Roush Racing's Aflac Ford, was fourth in the voting with one first place vote.

Other drivers getting first place votes included Kyle Busch, the first and second quarter DRIVER OF THE YEAR 2008, and Helio Castroneves who finished runner-up to Dixon in the IndyCar standings.

A total of 15 eligible drivers scored points in the third quarter voting.

"We're certainly having one of those dream seasons, but our business is far from being finished. We want to be holding another POWERade trophy come mid-November," added Schumacher.

In its' 42nd year, the DRIVER OF THE YEAR title is unique. A panel of 17 leading broadcasters and journalists from across the U.S. determine the winner. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4,3,2,1 basis. Schumacher will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented at a later date.

President of the DRIVER OF THE YEAR Foundation is Barry Schmoyer, businessman and sportsman of Sarasota, Florida.

Further information on the award may be obtained from DRIVER OF THE YEAR Foundation, PO Box 49827, Sarasota, Florida 34230 or (941) 379-2318 or

Go to for the latest news and commentary about the award.

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Mar 27- CHARLOTTE 1 - Rain Returns, Race ON Hold Again
Mar 27- CHARLOTTE 1 - Updated Friday Run Schedule
Mar 27- CHARLOTTE 1 - Another Hour Or So
Mar 27- CHARLOTTE 1 - Track Drying Under Way
Mar 27- CHARLOTTE 1 - Rain Continues
Mar 27- CHARLOTTE 1 - Karen Stoffer Aims for More Positive Steps
Mar 27- CHARLOTTE 1 - Rain Delays Race Start
Mar 26- Local Firefighter is FireAde Racing's First Hero of the Weekend
Mar 26- With New Chevy Look John Force Ready to Find New Roads in Charlotte
Mar 26- Industrial Distribution Group (IDG) to Back Shane Gray at NHRA 4-Wide Nationals

Copyright ©2015 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035