Search for in
Mon, 1 Sep 2008, 12:30 PM

Pro Stock Motorcycle Round 1 Eliminations
By Darryl Jackman

CLERMONT, Ind. - Results of round 1 eliminations in Pro Stock Motorcycle at the NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series, 54th annual Mac Tools U.S. Nationals:

    3 Chip Ellis                              6 Craig Treble                 
E1                   0.053  7.081 185.38     ****WINNER****  0.028  7.018 188.49
 Qualified:             #8  7.022 190.27                        #9  7.033 187.29
Weather conditions: air temperature 81 degrees, relative humidity 42 percent, barometer 29.24 inches, adjusted altitude 2,851 feet, track temperature 105 degrees.

Ellis had his first Indy start in 2004 and of course Treble is a defending champ, here on a new bike and with a new team. Treble picks up from qualifying and takes out his DSR teammate.

    7 Eddie Krawiec                         573 Mike Berry                   
E1                   0.066  7.041 187.00     ****WINNER****  0.012  7.093 185.89
 Qualified:             #7  6.990 191.02                       #10  7.034 188.07
Krawiec is the only rider in the field that can make the extra money by doubling up on the Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle. Money is good! This is Berry's 9th Indy and his best qualifying spot. Second holeshot win this season and sixth of his career. Mike Berry's MOV: 0.0029 seconds (approximately 10 inches).

    5 Angelle Sampey                         77 Angie McBride                
E1                   0.103  7.081 173.58     ****WINNER****  0.020  7.078 186.18
 Qualified:             #6  6.987 188.65                       #11  7.048 186.92
Sampey has won this event in 2001 and 2002. Any chance she'd like to begin a new streak. This is McBride's first Indy and only her fifth start of the season. Sampey is late and McBride is quicker. That's Indy for Angelle but Angie moves on.

   44 Chris Rivas                            25 Matt Guidera                 
E1                  -0.002  7.000 187.63     ****WINNER****  0.010  7.074 185.51
 Qualified:             #4  6.970 190.57                       #13  7.058 185.69
Both Rivas and Guidera are making their 4th Indy start. Rivas has his 5th red of the season and makes Guidera.

  235 Hector Arana                            8 Karen Stoffer                
E1                   0.061  7.017 189.58     ****WINNER****  0.037  7.019 189.90
 Qualified:             #2  6.954 189.79                       #15  7.071 188.65
The Countdown stops here for the bikes. It's finally really straight forward. Who ever wins this race will nab the final spot in the field. Simple enough. Stoffer drills Arana on the tree and holds him off for her 12th holeshot win. Stoffer is in the Countdown and she has choice over Berry in round 2.

    4 Peggy Llewellyn                         2 Andrew Hines                 
E1                   0.013  7.074 185.51     ****WINNER****  0.002  6.993 190.67
 Qualified:            #14  7.062 185.59                        #3  6.969 191.08
A. Hines has never been to a bike final here at Indy and his brother Matt has four! Wonder what they talk about over Cherrios? Llewellyn has a great light but Hines is psychic. He takes a win and moves on to changing that breakfast conversation. Hines has choice over McBride.

    9 Steve Johnson                         310 Joe DeSantis                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.064  6.988 191.38                    -0.082  7.200 188.17
 Qualified:             #5  6.984 190.27                       #12  7.052 191.43
Johnson is making a record 20th start in Pro Stock Motorcycle and of course he has that strange win in 2005 on the famous reversal. This is the 12th Indy for DeSantis and the 6th time he's qualified. DeSantis goes red and Johnson goes into the sixes again! That's the 12th red for DeSantis and his first since 2005.

    1 Matt Smith                            412 Michael Phillips             
E1   ****WINNER****  0.022  6.981 190.32                     0.018  7.107 189.58
 Qualified:             #1  6.932 189.90                       #16  7.072 190.11
Smith has gone to the finals at this event for the last three years. He won Indy in 2006. This is Phillips 11th Indy. He tied Shawn Gann in qualifying ET and got in on mph. Strangle enough this has only happened in the bikes twice and Phillips was involved in 2002. Difference? He lost the mph battle and qualified 17th! Pretty even at the hit but Smith pulls away for the win in the final pair of round 1.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Jan 17- 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Schedule Announcement
Jan 16- Top Fuel Teams Across the USA Part I
Jan 11- POMONA 1 - Fact Sheet
Jan 11- Proud John Force Accepts Honorary Doctorate from UNOH
Jan 11- POMONA 1 - Event Preview
Jan 08- World Champion Robert Hight to Make Appearance with AAA Missouri at Saint Louis Auto Show
Jan 08- Steve Reintjes Named Producer for NHRA on Fox
Jan 07- Creatures of the Night Part IV
Jan 04- Creatures of the Night Part III
Jan 04- Adam Hornberger Named Crew Chief of Harlow Sammons Chevrolet Camaro in 2018

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035