Search for in
Mon, 24 Sep 2007, 03:18 AM

22nd annual O'Reilly NHRA Fall Nationals Post Race Notes
Courtesy of NHRA Communications

ENNIS, Texas -- Post race notes from the 22nd annual O'Reilly NHRA Fall Nationals, Texas Motorplex, Ennis, Texas.


Larry Dixon, from Indianapolis, powered his SkyTel dragster to his 41st career victory by defeating Bob Vandergriff in the final round. Dixon won with a time of 4.629 seconds at 310.91 mph. This is his third win of the season and his second win at Texas Motorplex.

J.R. Todd, from Lawrenceburg, Ind., claimed his second career No. 1 qualifying effort in his Torco dragster with a performance 4.541 seconds at 321.96 mph.

Clay Millican earned the Motel 6 "Who Got the Light" award by defeating Brandon Bernstein by a .0203-second margin of victory in the quarterfinal round.

Notable DNQ's: Doug Herbert.

Todd's Torco team earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.


Tony Pedregon, from Detroit, drove to a final-round win of 5.010 seconds at 254.86 mph in his Q Horsepower Chevy Impala, over his brother Cruz' 6.882 at 131.31 in his Advance Auto Parts Impala.

Tim Wilkerson in his Levi Ray & Shoup Chevy Impala SS earned his second No.1 qualifier of the 2007 season and the 10th of his career with a performance of 4.787 seconds at 318.17 mph.

John Force, driver of the Castrol GTX High-Mileage Ford Mustang, was involved in a second round accident with Kenny Bernstein, driver of the Monster Energy/Lucas Oil Dodge Charger. Force was transported to a Dallas hospital, where he was diagnosed with a broken left ankle and wrist, severe abrasions and slight fractures on several fingers. Bernstein was uninjured in the accident

Notable DNQs: Robert Hight.

Wilkerson's Levi Ray & Shoup team earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.


Dave Connolly, from Elyria, Ohio, raced to his fourth win a row, the seventh of 2007 and the 16th of his career by defeating Greg Anderson in the final round with a performance of 8.553 at 112.17 mph.

Anderson earned his 62nd career No. 1 qualifying award with a performance of 6.668 seconds at 207.05 mph in his Summit Racing Pontiac GTO.

Anderson's Summit Racing Pontiac GTO team earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.


Peggy Llewellyn from San Antonio, Texas, raced to her first career win by defeating Andrew Hines in the final round with a time of 7.020 seconds at 190.00 mph. Llewellyn becomes the first black female rider to win in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Chip Ellis earned his 10th career No. 1 qualifying award with a performance of 6.976 seconds at 191.32 mph on his Drag Specialties S&S Buell.

Andrew Hines, Matt Smith, Chip Ellis and Peggy Llewellyn clinched their spots in the Countdown to One of the POWERade Series' Countdown to the Championship.

Llewellyn's Rush Racing team earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.

Brian Nelson, from Pasadena, Texas, was the winner of the POWERade Fan Nationals at the Texas Motorplex. He is a senior at Deer Park High, and his favorite NHRA driver is Tony Schumacher.

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Apr 25- CHARLOTTE 1 - Eight-Time Top Fuel World Champion Tony Schumacher Seeks First Career Win at NHRA Four-Wide Nationals
Apr 25- CHARLOTTE 1 - NHRA Four-Wide Nationals Fact Sheet
Apr 24- HOUSTON - Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Wrap Up
Apr 24- HOUSTON - Special Awards
Apr 24- HOUSTON - J&A Service Pro Mod Series Sunday Wrap Up
Apr 24- HOUSTON - Sunday Video
Apr 23- HOUSTON - Sunday Wrap Up
Apr 23- HOUSTON - Championship Points
Apr 23- HOUSTON - Summary of Eliminations in Top Fuel
Apr 23- HOUSTON - Pro Mod Championship Points

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035