Search for in
Wed, 19 Sep 2007, 12:04 AM

20th annual O'Reilly Mid-South NHRA Nationals Special Awards
Courtesy of NHRA Communications

MILLINGTON, Tenn. -- Special Awards from the 20th annual O'Reilly Mid-South NHRA Nationals presented by Pennzoil.

Technicoat Top Fuel Shootout award ($4,000 to the No. 1 qualifier in Top Fuel) - Tony Schumacher, Long Grove, Ill., U.S. Army dragster, 4.564 seconds, 313.73 mph.

Skoal Showdown award ($4,000 to the No. 1 qualifier in Funny Car) - Robert Hight, Yorba Linda, Calif., Auto Club of Southern California Ford Mustang 4.762 seconds, 320.36 mph.

K&N Filters Horsepower Challenge award ($3,000 to the No. 1 qualifier in Pro Stock) - Max Naylor, New Buffalo, Pa., Jagermeister Dodge Stratus R/T, 6.594 seconds, 207.37 mph.

Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle award ($1,000 to the No. 1 qualifier in Pro Stock Motorcycle) - Chip Ellis, Salisbury, N.C., Drag Specialties S&S Buell V-Twin, 6.892 seconds, 193.21 mph.

Motel 6 "Who Got the Light" award ($1,000 to the individual Top Fuel, Funny Car, or Pro Stock driver who earns an elimination round win by the narrowest margin.) - Gary Scelzi defeated Jack Beckman by a .0013-second margin of victory in the final round of Funny Car eliminations.

Strange Engineering "Perfectly Strange" performance award ($250 bonus to the first racer in Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, and Super Street who wins an elimination round by running dead-on their dial-in or index) - Jeff Dona in Super Stock, Alan Kenny in Super Comp, and Caffey Broadus in Super Gas.

Brut "Essence of Racing" award ($1,000 to the Sportsman-level participant that best exemplifies the Brut spirit of racing) Super Comp racer Lonnie Grim of Benton, Ark.

Hedman Hedders Best Engineered Vehicle ($1,000 to the best engineered vehicle) - C&S Racing Super Comp entry. Driver: Jimmy Stahl, Boone, N.C.

NHRA Best Appearing Crew - Compared to What Racing Chevrolet Cutlass Super Gas entry. Driver: Eddie Arnold Jr., Solon, Ohio.

NHRA Best Appearing Car - S&T Plumbing Super Comp entry. Driver: Frank Altilio, Ocoee, Fla.

Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship ($3,000 each to Top Fuel and Funny Car's top crew, $1,500 to Pro Stock's top crew, and $750 to Pro Stock Motorcycle's top crew) Driver/crew chief:
Top Fuel: Tony Schumacher/Alan Johnson U.S. Army dragster crew
Funny Car: Robert Hight/Jimmy Prock Auto Club of Southern California Ford Mustang crew
Pro Stock: Greg Anderson/Rob Downing Summit Racing Pontiac GTO crew
Pro Stock Motorcycle: Chip Ellis/George Smith Drag Specialties S&S Buell V-Twin crew

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Feb 19- Tim Marshall- A Drag Racing Photographer
Feb 17- POMONA 1 -Through the Lens of Ron Lewis
Feb 16- PHOENIX - Fact Sheet
Feb 16- PHOENIX - Leah Pritchett Hopes for Third Straight Win at NHRA Arizona Nationals
Feb 14- Summit Racing Equipment Renews NHRA Sponsorships
Feb 13- Brittany Force Released from Hospital
Feb 13- POMONA 1 - Special Awards
Feb 12- POMONA 1 - Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Wrap Up
Feb 12- POMONA 1 - Sunday Video
Feb 11- POMONA 1 - Sunday Wrap Up

Copyright ©2018 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035