Search for in
Sun, 16 Sep 2007, 01:36 PM

Pro Stock Round 1 Eliminations
By Rick Green

MILLINGTON, Tenn. - Results of round 1 eliminations in Pro Stock at the NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series, 20th annual O'Reilly Mid-South Nationals presented by Pennzoil:

    5 Kurt Johnson                            7 Jim Yates                    
E1                   0.089  6.674 207.24     ****WINNER****  0.047  6.696 205.54
 Qualified:             #8  6.625 208.04                        #9  6.626 206.99
Kurt Johnson is the defending event champion and he holds a 26 to 21 advantage in head to head match ups against Yates.

Yates has 407 round wins coming into this race.

They both pre-stage and then take their time staging, finally Johnson goes in first and ates gets in just under the time limit. He is out of the gate first and has the power to hold on for the hole shot win. Jim Yates' MOV: 0.0203 seconds (approximately 6 feet).

   25 Jeg Coughlin                            4 Mike Edwards                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.021  6.650 206.76                     0.044  6.654 207.27
 Qualified:             #7  6.619 207.98                       #10  6.632 207.88
These two veterans are each making their 196th start, and Coughlin holds a 11 to 4 advantage in head to head match ups. This was a good drag race with Coughlin winning this on both ends of the track. Jeg Coughlin's MOV: 0.0271 seconds (approximately 8 feet).

    6 Allen Johnson                         357 Larry Morgan                 
E1                   0.037  6.668 207.05     ****WINNER****  0.051  6.636 207.11
 Qualified:             #6  6.607 207.85                       #11  6.637 207.66
Allen Johnson holds a nine to six advantage in head to head match ups with Morgan. This is Morgan's 298 start and he has raced at all 20 races here in Memphis.

Johnson with the slight starting line advantage, but was a little loose and Morgan with his quickest pass of the weekend to take the win b about five feet.

    9 Richie Stevens                         10 V. Gaines                    
E1   ****WINNER****  0.045  6.655 207.24                    -0.082  6.642 207.56
 Qualified:             #5  6.605 207.91                       #12  6.640 207.69
This is Stevens 167th race while it is Gaines 254th race. The have race eight times and the each have won four times. Gaines is real red and Stevens with the freebie.

    2 Greg Anderson                         351 Ron Krisher                  
E1   ****WINNER****  0.109  6.650 208.65                     0.054 13.581  61.07
 Qualified:             #3  6.598 209.17                       #14  6.646 207.43
Anderson holds a 13 to 4 advantage in head to head match ups with Krisher. This is Krisher's 250th race.

Krisher with a big starting line advantage and then had severe tire shake and clicked it off. Anderson dodges a bullet here and will give up lane choice to Morgan in the next round.

    3 Dave Connolly                         334 Craig Hankinson              
E1   ****WINNER****  0.006  6.620 207.72                     0.039  6.673 207.02
 Qualified:             #4  6.601 208.23                       #13  6.646 207.46
Connolly is making his 94th start while Hankinson is making only his fifth start. Hankinson is one of those candidates for "Rookie of the Year".

Connolly with a near perfect light and then runs low E.T. of this session. He will have lane choice over Stevens in the next round.

    1 Jason Line                            208 Warren Johnson               
E1                   0.056  6.631 208.59     ****WINNER****  0.015  6.657 206.95
 Qualified:             #2  6.596 208.68                       #15  6.654 207.30
Line has qualified for 92 consecutive races and holds a seven to five advantage in head to head match ups against WJ. WJ has race in all 20 Memphis races and this is the lowest he has ever qualified here.

WJ with a great light and the power to hold on for the hole shot win. Warren Johnson's MOV: 0.0154 seconds (approximately 5 feet). WJ will give up lane choice to Coughlin in the next round.

  103 Max Naylor                              8 Greg Stanfield               
E1   ****WINNER****  0.045  6.624 207.02                     0.019  9.845  92.63
 Qualified:             #1  6.594 207.37                       #16  6.655 207.50
Naylor has qualified number one back to back and he is only the 18th Pro Stock driver to accomplish that feat.

Stanfield is making his 115 start and he beat Naylor the only time they have raced.

Stanfield with a great light and then has violent tire shake and makes a quick move toward the centerline. Naylor with a great pass, second quick of the first round and will have lane choice over Yates.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Feb 22- Racing Electronics Extends Agreement as Official Radio Communications of NHRA
Feb 22- POMONA 1 - Through the Lens of Gary Nastase
Feb 22- Billy Glidden Involved in Accident while Testing
Feb 21- PHOENIX - Top Fuel Standout Steve Torrence Knows Importance of Strong Start at NHRA Arizona
Feb 20- Ardmore Dragway Joins NHRA Member Track Network
Feb 18- POMONA 1 -Through the Lens of Ron Lewis
Feb 16- Country Artist Jerrod Niemann to Play Special Concert at Menards Heartland Nationals
Feb 16- Advertising Edge Extends Agreement as the Official Uniform of NHRA
Feb 16- NHRA Television Viewership Continues to Grow in 2017
Feb 15- Edelbrock Named the Preferred Automotive Aftermarket Products of NHRA

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035