Search for in
Sun, 16 Sep 2007, 01:04 PM

Top Fuel Round 1 Eliminations
By Rick Green

MILLINGTON, Tenn. - Results of round 1 eliminations in Top Fuel at the NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series, 20th annual O'Reilly Mid-South Nationals presented by Pennzoil:

    5 Rod Fuller                              9 Cory McClenathan             
E1   ****WINNER****  0.064  4.594 314.68                     0.095  5.005 223.50
 Qualified:             #8  4.583 321.81                        #9  4.585 321.42
Right here at Memphis Motorsports Park was the first time Fuller ever raced a Top Fuel dragster, in 1995, it is also the first place he got his Top Fuel win in 2005. This is also the track in which Cory Mac got his first Top Fuel win, 1992.

This was all Rod Fuller as he had a great looking pass to start the day. Cory Mac rattled the tires right off the starting line and pedaled it one time to settle it down, but that was the end of his day.

Weather conditions: air temperature 73 degrees, relative humidity 35 percent, barometer 29.88 inches, adjusted altitude 1,163 feet, track temperature 101 degrees.

  743 Morgan Lucas                            8 J.R. Todd                    
E1                   0.143  6.954 114.59     ****WINNER****  0.092  5.502 182.48
 Qualified:             #7  4.582 320.28                       #10  4.587 316.52
This is the third time in the last four races that Lucas has qualified in the top half of the field. He holds a two to oh advantage in head to head match ups. This is an important race for Todd coming off his Indy DNQ.

Lucas is up in smoke b 150 feet and the pedals it, but is back up in smoke. Todd's car started mixing up cylinders earl and the engine let go with a big bang...and we have oil, a lot of oil. He did have one freebie in the bank, so this won't cost him points.

    4 Melanie Troxel                         12 Bob Vandergriff              
E1   ****WINNER****  0.061  4.628 311.56                     0.113  8.732  81.24
 Qualified:             #6  4.575 321.96                       #11  4.589 317.12
Troxel has qualified in the top half for the last five races, she holds a six to three advantage in match ups with Vandergriff. Vandergriff is currently 21 points out of fourth place.

Vandergriff is up in smoke b 150 feet and that is the end of his weekend. Troxel launched hard and was straight down Kenny Bernstein Boulevard for the win.

   11 Doug Herbert                            2 Doug Kalitta                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.084  5.188 260.16                     0.043  6.198 136.43
 Qualified:             #5  4.569 313.44                       #12  4.608 322.42
This the 16th time Herbert has raced here in Memphis. Kalitta is the defending champion and that was his last win and and his last final round. The both start to smoke the tires at about the same time and Herbert pedals it. When he does it dropped a cylinder or two and that allowed it to hook up until about 900 feet when it started hazing the tires again. Apparently when Kalitta pedaled it, the car pitched the blower belt off.

    1 Tony Schumacher                      1301 Doug Foley                   
E1                   0.083  8.038  88.01     ****WINNER****  0.062  4.608 309.42
 Qualified:             #1  4.564 313.73                       #16  4.925 213.16
This is the 44th time Schumacher has qualified number one and the third time here at Memphis. This is Foley's 17th start and he beat Schumacher the only time they have raced. Schumacher with a quick flash of flame and his car went silent. Foley with his best pass of the weekend, and he moves into round two, he will give up lane choice to Fuller. So the jinx continues here for the number one qualifier, as the last time a number one qualifier won here was in 1989.

    3 Brandon Bernstein                      10 Hillary Will                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.117  4.569 323.27                     0.104  4.617 312.13
 Qualified:             #2  4.566 326.71                       #15  4.648 307.58
This is Bernstein's 93rd and Will has qualified for 42 consecutive races. They have have raced four times and they each have won twice.

This was a great drag race and Bernstein takes the win b about half a car. In the top end interview it was noted that Bernstein's car had the burst panel out.

Bernstein will have lane choice over todd in the next round.

   91 Larry Dixon                             6 David Grubnic                
E1                   0.072  4.887 280.02     ****WINNER****  0.075  4.577 318.62
 Qualified:             #3  4.568 318.77                       #14  4.624 318.17
This is the 13th time Dixon has raced here in Memphis. Dixon holds a 19 to 7 advantage in head to head match ups. This is the 13th time Grubnic has qualified in the 14 spot.

Dixon strikes the tires around 330 feet and drives through it, but can't make up the difference. Grubnic with his best pass of the weekend and gets the big upset. This is only the third time he has won from the 14th position.

Grubnic will have lane choice over Troxel in the next round.

   73 Whit Bazemore                         255 Clay Millican                
E1   ****WINNER****  0.094  4.560 321.50                     0.032  5.247 200.98
 Qualified:             #4  4.568 297.61                       #13  4.612 326.16
This is Bazemore's 330rd start, and Millican's 68th start. Millican starts to smoke the tires and pedals it and by then it was all Bazemore as he runs the quickest pass of the first round to move into round two. He will have lane choice over Herbert.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Dec 14- Gateway Motorsports Park Receives Outstanding Facility of the Year Award at Race Track Business Conference
Dec 14- Courtney Force Honored to be Named to 30 Under 30 List
Dec 14- Dragstrips- Half Moon Bay, Kingdon, and Sacramento
Dec 13- Newly-crowned Pro Mod World Champion Troy Coughlin to Retire at Pinnacle of Career
Dec 13- Drive Your Car on Track at Sonoma Raceway
Dec 13- More than 300 Children Attend “Race to the Holidays” Christmas Party at Sonoma Raceway
Dec 11- Legends the Series- The Legend of Eric Medlen
Dec 08- Drag Illustrated Reveals Third Annual 30 Under 30 List at PRI Show
Dec 07- Lucas Oil Extends NHRA Sponsorship Agreement
Dec 06- Richie Crampton Named to Full-time Seat with Kalitta Motorsports for the 2018 NHRA Season

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035