Search for in
Sun, 2 Sep 2007, 07:24 PM

Top Alcohol Dragster Round 1 Eliminations
By Dan Bennett

CLERMONT, Ind. - Results of round 1 eliminations in Top Alcohol Dragster at the NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series, 53rd annual Mac Tools U.S. Nationals:

   33 Marty Thacker                         440 Kate Harker                  
E1   ****WINNER****  0.023  5.368 267.32                     0.106  5.365 267.43
 Qualified:             #7  5.337 267.00                       #10  5.361 267.75
The track is rapidly cooling as it's down to 106 degrees beginning the first round.

Thacker nails the light and wins going away. Harker was coming on strong but couldn't get there.

   37 Noah Condo                           7402 Randy Eakins                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.085  5.390 264.96                     0.038  5.496 250.78
 Qualified:             #8  5.351 265.43                        #9  5.353 255.00
Condo ran his career best to qualify 8th in this very tough field. Like most of the other top half racers, he chooses the left lane.

Eakins deep stages and turns off the top bulb but manages to leave without a red light. Condo is pulling steadily away with another strong run.

    4 Duane Shields                          34 Jeff Bohr                    
E1                   0.080  5.490 264.03     ****WINNER****  0.074  5.494 262.39
 Qualified:             #6  5.310 270.05                       #11  5.371 267.48
That's one of the best races I've seen this weekend.

Jeff Bohr's MOV: 0.0022 seconds (approximately 10 inches).

The blown cars are doing really well so far this round.

   35 Dave Hirata                            39 Tim Bowgren                  
E1   ****WINNER****  0.124  5.314 261.22                     0.090  5.498 258.67
 Qualified:             #5  5.301 261.07                       #12  5.379 265.74
Hirata was runner up here in 2000 and Bowgren is in his old car. It's a small world.

Bowgren ran his career best ET and speed to lock up the 12th spot.

This one's all Hirata.

 7438 Morgan Lucas                          303 Todd Datweiler               
E1                   0.071  5.736 251.44     ****WINNER****  0.068  5.484 258.17
 Qualified:             #4  5.278 268.49                       #13  5.420 265.53
It's a very good drag race until one of Lucas' pipes goes wet on the top end.

    1 Bill Reichert                          32 Ken Perry                    
E1                         No Time           ****WINNER****  0.127  5.605 202.55
 Qualified:             #3  5.273 277.54                       #14  5.421 260.86
Reichert is the defending champion of this race and was runner-up in 2001. Perry is the quickest blown car which is really cool since Reichert is the all time quickest fuel car. It's Godzilla versus King Kong.

But we'll have to wait to see such a dream match up. Reichert shuts off with a problem and is pushed back.

Perry sounds like he's on a very good pass when he pops the blower at 900 feet.

So far, all the blown cars have advanced.

    3 Spencer Massey                        795 Shawn Umphries               
E1   ****WINNER****  0.052  5.320 267.32                     0.065  5.747 242.41
 Qualified:             #1  5.233 272.94                       #16  5.461 253.28
Umphries is pretty impressive, having qualified in a tough field. It's even more amazing considering that this is his FIRST race - divisional, national, whatever. That's astounding.

Of course, he draws the task of racing Massey, who ran a career best to qualify on the top.

Shawn does a good job on the line but Massey just thunders away for the win.

    9 Aaron Olivarez                         56 Robin Samsel                 
E1   ****WINNER****  0.100  5.252 276.35                     0.140  7.267 169.76
 Qualified:             #2  5.257 273.39                       #15  5.456 257.73
Olivarez throws a backbreaking run down for the rest of the class to admire.

Samsel loses most of a cylinder bank on the hit and is pumping raw fuel most of the track.

Timing data courtesy of CompuLink

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Feb 08- Statement from Larry Morgan and Larry Morgan Racing
Feb 08- John Force Racing Wraps Up Successful Test Session in Phoenix
Feb 08- Alexis DeJoria Set to Make History at the 2016 NHRA Season Opener
Feb 08- Top Fuel Standout Richie Crampton Eager for Continued Success In 2016
Feb 07- An Interview with Tony Pedregon
Feb 07- An Interview with Erica Enders
Feb 07- Tommy Johnson Jr. and Brittany Force Are Quickest Saturday
Feb 06- Fans Can Enter to Win Tickets for Racing in Red premiere, Meet Erica Enders
Feb 06- Racing Electronics, Kalitta Motorsports Announce New Deal
Feb 06- NHRA Announces Two New Programs for Fans to Access Race Coverage Worldwide

Copyright ©2016 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035