Search for in
Tue, 3 Oct 2006, 09:37 AM

22nd annual Toyo Tires NHRA Nationals Post Race Notes
Courtesy of NHRA Communications

MOHNTON, Pa. -- Post race notes from the 22nd annual Toyo Tires NHRA Nationals, Maple Grove Raceway.


Rookie J.R. Todd earned his third career win of the season when he drove his Skull Gear dragster to a 4.494-second victory at 324.12 mph over sponsor teammate Melanie Troxel. Troxel piloted her Skull Gear/Torco Race Fuel dragster to a 4.538 at 324.28 in her eighth final round appearance of 2006.

For the third time this season, Todd, a leading Auto Club Road to the Future Award contender, defeated three-time and defending world champion Tony Schumacher on elimination day. Todd ended Schumacher's bid to earn vital points in the second round, when he drove his dragster to a holeshot win (4.502, 325.22) around Schumacher's 4.490 at 325.37 in his U.S. Army dragster.

The points drama continued in the third round, when Melanie Troxel defeated Doug Kalitta to earn her bid to the final round. Troxel turned in a 4.518 at 328.70 against Kalitta's 4.563 at 327.11 in his Mac Tools dragster.

Despite the early exit, Kalitta retains the point lead with a 52-point edge over Schumacher.

Schumacher earned the Budweiser Shootout for qualifying No.1 with a 4.440 at 331.85.

Kalitta's Mac Tools crew earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.


Phil Burkhart Jr. earned his first event victory since Denver 2004 - and he defeated former POWERade point leader Ron Capps, reigning NHRA Funny Car world champion Gary Scelzi, current point leader John Force and 2006 Auto Club Road to the Future rookie award winner Robert Hight to do it.

Burkhart Jr. earned a surprise first-round finish over Ron Capps, putting John Force in prime position to take over the POWERade point lead. Force now holds a one point lead over Capps.

Tommy Johnson Jr. earned the Skoal Showdown award for qualifying No.1 with a 4.693 at 327.27 in his Skoal Chevy Monte Carlo.

Scelzi's Mopar/Oakley Dodge Charger crew earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.


Greg Anderson re-set his national record for speed en route to his 43rd career win and his third of the season in his Summit Racing Equipment Pontiac GTO. Anderson posted a 6.656 at 208.36 to defeat Greg Stanfield, who fouled out at the starting line in his PiranaZ Pontiac GTO.

Anderson's teammate Jason Line set the national record for time at 6.609 in his Summit Racing Equipment Pontiac GTO.

Line retains the point lead with a 56-point edge over Anderson.

Stanfield earned the NHRA King Demon Crown award for qualifying No.1 in his Pontiac (6.621, 208.04).

Allen Johnson earned the Motel 6 "Who Got the Light" award when he defeated Jim Yates by a .0013-second margin of victory in the first round of Pro Stock.

Anderson's Summit Racing Equipment crew earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.


Karen Stoffer earned her first victory of the season and the fourth of her career when she rode her Geico Suzuki to a 7.097 at 187.94 over Geno Scali's 8.105 at 121.86 on his Performance Machine Suzuki.

It was Stoffer's first victory outside of Houston.

Three riders - including Stoffer, Angelle Sampey, and Shawn Gann - earned the last three spots in the Mickey Thompson 6-Second Club during qualifying.

Sampey set the national record for time when she rode her U.S. Army Suzuki to a 6.939.

Sampey earned the Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle award when she qualified No.1 with her national record time at 191.10.

Sampey's U.S. Army Suzuki teammate Antron Brown earned the point lead from Andrew Hines and now holds a 27-point edge over Hines and a 64-point lead over Sampey.

Andrew Hines' Screamin' Eagle Harley-Davidson V-Rod crew earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.


Justin Ashley, 11, of New York, became the second repeat winner of the POWERade Fan Nationals. Because Ashley, son of POWERade Series Funny Car driver Mike Ashley, has already won, second-place finisher Jessica Sedath, 21, of Toms River, N.J., will represent Maple Grove Raceway at the Fan Nationals finals in Pomona, Calif.

NHRA: 10 Most Recent Entries [ top ]

Mar 30- Chosen Payments Named Preferred Credit Card Processor of NHRA
Mar 30- LAS VEGAS 1 - Greg Anderson Focused on More Vegas Success at Denso Spark Plugs NHRA
Mar 28- LAS VEGAS 1 - Clay Millican Remains Confident First Win Coming Approaching Denso Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals
Mar 27- Enders Voted into K&N Horsepower Challenge at Las Vegas
Mar 27- Toyota Extends Sponsorship as Official Car of NHRA
Mar 27- GAINESVILLE - Through the Lens of Gary Nastase
Mar 24- Tickets are Now On Sale for the Fastest Race in Texas
Mar 24- NHRA Highlights Sonoma Raceway 2017 Drag Racing Schedule
Mar 24- Bristol Motor Speedway/Dragway Executive Jeff Byrd Inducted into International Drag Racing Hall of Fame
Mar 24- HOUSTON - Event Preview

Copyright ©2017 AUTOSALES INC, dba Summit Racing Equipment
Ready to take your order at 1-800-230-3030 | Customer Service 1-800-517-1035